We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place divides opinion. Yes, the location is spectacular, the surroundings beyond compare, and for good measure the excellent Shuttle Bus passes by right outside the door. But the accommodation does convey the thought that its only one step up from camping. Having said that, my family found the beds to be excellently comfortable and we slept well despite no AC and not being able to open windows due to the threat of unwelcome visitors in the night.
Overall, this is Yosemite though and this is still a decent place to stay, you just need to ignore the outdated decor, forget how much it cost, and definitely avoid the Food Court.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    649
    467
    230
    135
See reviews for
638
732
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night during a recent trip to the States. The hotel rooms were a lot better than I imagined. If you go, you must see Ranger Ted's show. Hysterical. Also hired bikes and rode around the park. This was a highlight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you're expecting a hotel with an abundance of amenities, this is not the place. The rooms have no air conditioning, no coffee maker, and limited channels on the TV. Let's face it, though. That's not why you stay there. You stay there because you're in Yosemite. You wake up in Yosemite. You go on your balcony, and you look out at Yosemite. That's the value and appeal of staying there, not amenities. It's definitely worth staying there if you can afford it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Yosemite Lodge is in a beautiful location and is very convenient. Buses stop directly in front of the lobby. Rooms however are extremely outdated. Buildings are not clean. Food in the food court is expensive and disgusting. Staff at front desk is nice and helpful.

Room Tip: In the reviews, a portion of the hotel was remodeled. When I booked I asked if our room was one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Anywhere else I would give this hotel a three star rating but being immersed in the amazing scenery and get to different areas of the park using the shuttle bus made for a great experience. We have stayed here before and would stay again, the camping options not attractive and other hotel options too expensive. Our room was nice and spacious, with relatively new bathroom fittings. The ceiling fan kept us cool enough though there were extra fans available in the closet area if we needed them. Wifi now extends to the rooms which was helpful. We had a ground floor room and had regular wildlife visitors to our patio and great views to enjoy as we relaxed after a days hiking. The food is an area of opportunity, based on previous experience we avoided the food court except for breakfast. The breakfast service was good, the girls at the pancake station worked hard. It did seem quiet to us, probably because of the rim fire, which made the food court more bearable and there was always a table to sit at (sometimes needing clearing). We ate dinner in the Mountain restaurant, that was good but a long wait one night. The restaurant wasn't being fully utilised with approx one third of the tables not in use. A couple more servers and they could have reduced the line. We saw people hand back pagers giving up on their wait or decide not to go on the list during our 40 minute wait. We walked along to the Ahwahnee for drinks and got the shuttle bus back. There are dining options there as an alternative but they advertise a dress code for the restaurant, I am not sure if they enforce it in the heat. We did buy sandwiches in the food court one day for our hike, big mistake, not very nice, Degnan's Deli a much better option. We did the Panarama Trail down from Glacier Point, the views were breathtaking and it was an experience we will never forget. For us the experience of staying in the park is number one, it would be nice if there was a mid priced modern hotel available but there isn't and The Lodge is the closest thing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This Lodge is not the picture shown in all the search engines. It is the check in desk and lobby area. The rooms are small and out dated, and a bit warm! No air conditioning, just a large fan that you is propped to blow on you. I would definitely stay in the park if you want to see Yosemite the right way. The long ride into the valley and heart of the park is not good for those who get sick on winding roads! So stay in the Park!! The Hotel has a view of the Falls, and the majestic rocks and forest surround you! The buses load and unload right in front of the lobby area, they are air conditioned and take you to every stop in the park for free. Busses run every 15-20 minutes so you can see all the different sights or just pick the favorites. A tiny fridge the size of a large microwave in the room was helpful to keep cold cuts. We ate breakfast in the cafeteria, a bit pricey but well worth the portions and the food was very good!! Bring your own water to drink or if you don't wish to do that the fountains around the park have delicious spring water taste! The lodge also has a special fountain to fill your bottles for your hike. Wifi was poor in the rooms as well as cell service, but that is only used at night anyhow because during the day the nature is a must see!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is not the Fairmont, Ritz or Four Seasons. Many of the previous reviews have criticised the lack of air con, food etc but my family all agreed that as a base to enjoy Yosemite without forking out for the Ahwahnee, suffering the dust and heat of camping or slogging into the park each day from may of the hotels which advertise that they are in the park when they're 40mins away, that this is the best choice. The rating is average which I believe is accurate but the location is simply brilliant.

Along with our teenage kids, we stayed in a 2nd floor double bunk room in the Hemlock block and it was perfectly adequate. While glancing at the car's exterior temperature readout of 95 degrees as we drove into the park, we were concerned about the lack of aircon. We needn't have been as evenings are considerably cooler and the ceiling fan did an excellent job in keeping us cool. We all slept comfortably.

Food in the court is average and expensive especially buying sandwiches for a picnic. But the kids enjoyed blueberry pancakes and the Peets Coffee shop was good. Dinner in the Mountain Restaurant, where we ate twice, was excellent as was service. You can't reserve this.

We enjoyed cycling, climbing (booked at the store in Curry Village), horse riding, swimming in the river and of course endless walks before slipping into the huge pool to cool down.

I would stay here again on a future trip simply due to the location. I'd rather spend money on activities than the Ahwahnee.

Room Tip: Second floor bunk in room in Hemlock worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.