We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location nothing else about it is any good!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location nothing else about it is any good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The only plus point of the Lodge is its location. But for that location you have to pay quite a lot for service/rooms which are the equivalent of a Travelodge. We had limited time in the park so being in the park was a major plus. However, if you're going for more than a couple of days then look into staying at Wawona or Yosemite View Lodge.
Rooms have no air con and we visited in 40 degrees c plus. Bear in mind that wildlife is all around (mainly squirrels) so you can't leave your doors (no windows!) open at night. Our ceiling fan was useless.
The Lodge has a tour desk and a lot of the tours start from there. This is handy but this means there is lots of extra traffic and people at various times of the day who aren't guests. Weekends are exceptionally busy.
My biggest disappointment was with the level of service. We'd booked a king room but were given a twin as there were no kings left when we checked in (dead on the 5pm check in time). The hotel staff wouldn't move us even though the next day a room was available. My opinion is that the staff aren't there to serve you. They treat you with contempt and you just have to put up with it as you have no alternative.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    720
    493
    237
    142
See reviews for
682
814
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Staying inside the park is a must. It takes nearly an hour to to commute in from the surrounding areas. The Yosemite Lodge is a standard National Park hotel, functional not fancy.
Our lodge was across from the registration building. We had a room on the second floor. Heat rising made it a little warmer, there is no air conditioning. With the balcony window open, the room was comfortable sleeping. Our balcony was heavily treed adding privacy. From the front door, we could enjoy a view of the falls.
Enjoying valley is easy from this great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night, after a week of hiking the incredibly gorgeous High Sierra. We knew in advance it would be crowded and overpriced, but also realized how badly we would want/need a shower and bed after a 16-mile hike that day. Along with other reviewers, I agree the term "remodeled room" is a glorification for a new headboard and bath fixtures. The rooms do not have air conditioning, but oscillating fans kept us relatively comfortable on a hot summer night. The hotel's huge bonus is their heated olympic-sized pool -- what a surprise in this aging complex! Yosemite Lodge at the Falls is a sprawling collection of buildings, serving thousands of people per day during the summer. It suffers from age, overuse and under repair on a National Park budget. You will pay handsomely to stay in a mediocre room. If you are planning to visit Yosemite Valley only, be sure to explore other options unless you feel the need to stay close to the falls. The hotel (and the valley in general) does a decent job of serving the masses every day on a scale similar to that of Disneyland, so if you don't mind feeling like you are part of the herd, it works. Personally, I would like to see this complex disappear, to be replaced by something more environmentally friendly and respectful of its location. Yosemite is one of the natural highlights of our nation -- don't miss it, but please tread lightly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in July 2013. Location is amazing. Rooms are sufficient. Restaurant is not that great. But who cares when your environment is the Yosemite national park. This was the highlight of our trip. A must!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We usually camp so the whole lodge experience was new to us. It was great to have a bathroom in our room. However, the room was old and had ants. The park is so beautiful so it made up for the room which I think was overpriced given the condition. Maybe we will stay in camp curry next time which is a third less and more like the camping experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Others have commented on the “remodelled” rooms. We were initially pleased to be given a remodelled room in the Maple block with a balcony. As the room was on the ground floor, the “balcony” amounted to a bit of concrete next to the main footpath from the car park, so no privacy, and no view. The re-modelling seemed to involve painting the walls in a dull rusty colour, perhaps in an attempt to re-capture the look of years of nicotine staining on old motel walls; and fitting the lights with almost opaque shades of a similar colour. The result was a room which felt like a dungeon.

The final straw was when we found that we had to un-plug one of the meagre light fittings to plug the TV in.

We asked to change rooms and were moved to an un-remodelled room in the Alder block which was on the upper floor. This was light, airy, had a private balcony at the rear overlooking woodland; and a view of Yosemite Falls to die for from the front. Wonderful! So: think twice before you ask for a remodelled room.

Pity no aircon, or tea/coffee-making facilities in the room, so basically a pretty average motel room but in an incredible location.

By the time we reached Yosemite, we were into our 4th week touring California, so had experienced a lot of hotels, motels, restaurants, etc. We had, until then, encountered, almost everywhere, the usual friendly, helpful, “have a nice day” front-desk staff. Yosemite Lodge proved to be the exception, with a couple of the front-desk ladies apparently coming from the “have a miserable day” school of customer relations.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor in Alder block for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We actually planned only to be in Yosemite for less than a day. We arrived from Reno at about 10:30 a.m. well before check in. We left at 6 a.m. the next day.

Here's what happened in between with an advisory

1. We called and called and called and got a cancellation at the Lodge about 2 weeks before we left Houston.

2. We drove in from the Reno side which means that we saw the mountain views on the way. (Or, at least, my wife saw most of them because I was driving)

3. When we arrived, we knew we would NOT be able to check in; however, we got an approved parking sticker; left our luggage in the trunk; and immediately started tours.

4. Because we had seen the higher views on the way; we focused on the valley tours. Our first one started at about 11:00.

5. Federal Park Rangers are extraordinary folks. Anything they do is high quality.

6. The views looking up from the valley were as mind-boggling as the views at the higher ranges on the drive in.

7. Our first tour was completed about 1. We still could not check in. We did another tour of the Valley; hiked a trail; ate lunch at the food court; toured one of the park museums; and checked in at about 5:30.

8. We did not have a lot of time. We made the absolute most of it. From mirror lake to everything else, inspirational is the only word that comes close to being adequate.

9. Sure, we could have spent more time, but the experience was extraordinary.

10. As for the Lodge, the food that afternoon and night was the most reasonable priced food we ate on our entire vacation; the bears didn't invade our car or our room; we left alive; and the bed - although it was good would have been good if it had been a bed of rocks because we were so tired.

Stay there if you can. If you haven't reserved in time; keep calling for a cancellation. We got luck. Maybe you will too.

Room Tip: The Lodge ain't heaven, but Yosemite damned sure is and that makes the Lodge on the edge of Heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.