We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is 6 stars!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location is 6 stars!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in July 2013. Location is amazing. Rooms are sufficient. Restaurant is not that great. But who cares when your environment is the Yosemite national park. This was the highlight of our trip. A must!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    640
    466
    230
    135
See reviews for
631
728
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We usually camp so the whole lodge experience was new to us. It was great to have a bathroom in our room. However, the room was old and had ants. The park is so beautiful so it made up for the room which I think was overpriced given the condition. Maybe we will stay in camp curry next time which is a third less and more like the camping experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Others have commented on the “remodelled” rooms. We were initially pleased to be given a remodelled room in the Maple block with a balcony. As the room was on the ground floor, the “balcony” amounted to a bit of concrete next to the main footpath from the car park, so no privacy, and no view. The re-modelling seemed to involve painting the walls in a dull rusty colour, perhaps in an attempt to re-capture the look of years of nicotine staining on old motel walls; and fitting the lights with almost opaque shades of a similar colour. The result was a room which felt like a dungeon.

The final straw was when we found that we had to un-plug one of the meagre light fittings to plug the TV in.

We asked to change rooms and were moved to an un-remodelled room in the Alder block which was on the upper floor. This was light, airy, had a private balcony at the rear overlooking woodland; and a view of Yosemite Falls to die for from the front. Wonderful! So: think twice before you ask for a remodelled room.

Pity no aircon, or tea/coffee-making facilities in the room, so basically a pretty average motel room but in an incredible location.

By the time we reached Yosemite, we were into our 4th week touring California, so had experienced a lot of hotels, motels, restaurants, etc. We had, until then, encountered, almost everywhere, the usual friendly, helpful, “have a nice day” front-desk staff. Yosemite Lodge proved to be the exception, with a couple of the front-desk ladies apparently coming from the “have a miserable day” school of customer relations.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor in Alder block for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We actually planned only to be in Yosemite for less than a day. We arrived from Reno at about 10:30 a.m. well before check in. We left at 6 a.m. the next day.

Here's what happened in between with an advisory

1. We called and called and called and got a cancellation at the Lodge about 2 weeks before we left Houston.

2. We drove in from the Reno side which means that we saw the mountain views on the way. (Or, at least, my wife saw most of them because I was driving)

3. When we arrived, we knew we would NOT be able to check in; however, we got an approved parking sticker; left our luggage in the trunk; and immediately started tours.

4. Because we had seen the higher views on the way; we focused on the valley tours. Our first one started at about 11:00.

5. Federal Park Rangers are extraordinary folks. Anything they do is high quality.

6. The views looking up from the valley were as mind-boggling as the views at the higher ranges on the drive in.

7. Our first tour was completed about 1. We still could not check in. We did another tour of the Valley; hiked a trail; ate lunch at the food court; toured one of the park museums; and checked in at about 5:30.

8. We did not have a lot of time. We made the absolute most of it. From mirror lake to everything else, inspirational is the only word that comes close to being adequate.

9. Sure, we could have spent more time, but the experience was extraordinary.

10. As for the Lodge, the food that afternoon and night was the most reasonable priced food we ate on our entire vacation; the bears didn't invade our car or our room; we left alive; and the bed - although it was good would have been good if it had been a bed of rocks because we were so tired.

Stay there if you can. If you haven't reserved in time; keep calling for a cancellation. We got luck. Maybe you will too.

Room Tip: The Lodge ain't heaven, but Yosemite damned sure is and that makes the Lodge on the edge of Heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls in Yosemite & what a disappointment! The hotel is old & dated, circa 1970s. It is dark & dingy and worse of all, there is NO air conditioning! Unfortunately we were not aware of this until we arrived there during a heat wave!

Overall the staff was friendly & helpful, however I would recommend saving & staying at the Ahwahnee instead. It might be worth paying $500 a night just for AC!

On the plus side, the Lodge was right in the park & our room faced Yosemite Falls. However, we were not guaranteed parking spots even though we were staying at the hotel!

Food was generally overpriced & lackluster, but convenient. It helped that we brought bottled water & snacks with us.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ahwahnee!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

4 Stars for room + 1 extra for Location
I have stayed in different room types at the Lodge the last 18 years, so I came knowing what to expect. You can look at 2 sides of the coin and I prefer to look at the upside. For one thing - how much time do you really need to stay in your room when you are surrounded by one of the most glorious natural scenery in the world? For us, our time here is limited and we try to spend as much time outside as possible. BTW - I've never known Yosemite Lodge to advertise itself as anything close to luxury-styled accommodation. So, but for the lack of A/C (it cools down late each night anyway), and private balcony (tradeoff for extra in-room square-footage) we were VERY happy with our room.

This was the first time we stayed in a "Family Room," not to be confused with the "Family Bunk Room." Maximum capacity in a Family Room is 6, and the room appears to be one of the renovated/green rooms. What I can really commend the planners of this room class is how well-thought out the design is. The room is spaciously (did I mention Spacious?) L-shaped, with the main sleeping area (comfortable beds) at one end, and a living-room at the other (with sofa-bed, mini fridge, and a TV for those who need it). There are 6 (yes - 6) individual closets so that each member of the family can have their own "private" storage space. There is a large Dining/Gathering table with 4 chairs, so plenty of seating area.

The bathroom was the best aspect of the room design. First of all, the sink, shower (no tub), and water closet were separated so that multiple activities may take place simultaneously. Both Shower and water closet have doors, and the shower has a bench and hook to lay/hang clothes and towels. The sink is doubled on a long vanity surface and accompanied by a large walled mirror.

The trade-off on the Family Room? No balcony (but I'll take the added living space and go outside as needed), the Cedar Bldg overlooks the pool, and on our stay - the water activities started early and got rowdy quickly.

We found the food court to be quite satisfactory in terms of selection and quality. The breakfast pancakes were excellent and the Chicken Cesar Salad at dinner an excellent deal. Lodge guests are issued coupons for complimentary coffees.

Room Tip: There are not many Family Rooms available at the lodge, so I would recommend reserving as early as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Yosemite Lodge At The Falls for our annual family vacation. We planned this trip and reserved the room a year ago, as friends told us this hotel sells out one year out! True enough, we were lucky to book 4 consecutive nights and planned the rest of our vacation in Ca based on these dates.

Needless to say, we were surprised & shocked once we arrived at our room. Unbeknownst to us this hotel has NO air conditioning, and of course we arrived during a heat wave! The facility and rooms are circa 1970s. Dark, dingy, rather dirty rooms and bath. After paying over $250 per night for a standard room, to say we were disappointed is an understatement.

The only plus is the location, as it is in Yosemite Park & our room faced Yosemite Falls. The Mountain View restaurant was pleasant, however the Yosemite Lodge Food Court left a lot to be desired! Be sure to bring snacks and bottled water with you.

If you can afford to stay at The Ahwanhee Hotel, do so! It is worth $500 per night compared to the disappointment with The Yosemite Lodge at the Falls!

Room Tip: Stay at he Ahwanhee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.