We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Yosemite Lodge At The Falls for our annual family vacation. We planned this trip and reserved the room a year ago, as friends told us this hotel sells out one year out! True enough, we were lucky to book 4 consecutive nights and planned the rest of our vacation in Ca based on these dates.

Needless to say, we were surprised & shocked once we arrived at our room. Unbeknownst to us this hotel has NO air conditioning, and of course we arrived during a heat wave! The facility and rooms are circa 1970s. Dark, dingy, rather dirty rooms and bath. After paying over $250 per night for a standard room, to say we were disappointed is an understatement.

The only plus is the location, as it is in Yosemite Park & our room faced Yosemite Falls. The Mountain View restaurant was pleasant, however the Yosemite Lodge Food Court left a lot to be desired! Be sure to bring snacks and bottled water with you.

If you can afford to stay at The Ahwanhee Hotel, do so! It is worth $500 per night compared to the disappointment with The Yosemite Lodge at the Falls!

Room Tip: Stay at he Ahwanhee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    782
    513
    242
    145
See reviews for
722
891
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I so appreciate our National Park system - making the wonders of nature available and affordable to all. The setting of this lodge by the falls and the proximity to everything else the park has to offer, cannot be beaten. The front desk and wait staff were wonderful. We ate in the lounge two nights in a row. It was quiet, relaxing, and we loved the chili and corn bread. Our room had just the basics. There was no air conditioning, and the bathroom had not been updated in years. There was no counter space, so it was a little crowded for the 3 of us. Don't expect luxury here, but that is not why you stay here - you stay here for the scenery and to be close to nature! We are truly blessed for our National Parks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We read a ton of reviews leading up to a 4th of July weekend trip to the park, and were prepared for poor rooms and bad service. I'm happy to say, we had an excellent stay and despite the mid-summer heat and holiday crowds, our experience was very good.
So yes, the location is spectacular. No matter which room you have, as you walk the parking lot, to the facilities, etc; you constantly get glimpses or full on vistas of the falls that are breathtaking.
I think the most critical thing is to get a refurbished room. I'm not clear on the exact terminology (are green room, refurbished rooms, and renovated rooms all the same thing?), but we were in a renovated room. We tried to check in early, waited an hour for a room we could get into, and were given a 2nd floor room in the Aspen building. The room itself was large, a nice patio for coffee or wine with a tiny view of the falls through the trees, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom big and more than satisfactory. Products just okay - dispensers for soap, shampoo, shower gel. Even though there were YMCA groups in the adjacent rooms, we never heard our neighbors at night. The Aspen building is off a large parking lot which was packed every afternoon, and seemed a good location because it was a few minute walk one way to the Lodge office, pool, and other facilities, or a few minutes walk the other way to the shuttle or the start of the hike up to the falls.
I dealt with a number of the people at the front desk and all but perhaps one were extremely helpful and smiling.
We had drinks and dinner at the Mountain Room which we really enjoyed, breakfast in the food court which was decent. During this peak season there was some delays in getting the tables cleared. We jumped in the pool one hot afternoon. They provide the towels and we really appreciated the chance to cool off. We watched a couple evening presentations in the theater, and were very happy. We also jumped on the shuttle to go visit the Ahwahnee one evening and other times to get to trail heads like Vernal Falls.
It was HOT particular the first day. Our room had a ceiling fan and another table fan that ran all night. That first night was stuffy, things cooled down a bit after; but in midsummer be ready for no air conditioning.
Otherwise, a really comfortable home base to explore the park from. Thank you Yosemite Lodge!

Room Tip: If at all possible in my opinion, most important thing is to get a refurbished room. Second would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were lucky to get 4 nights on short notice during the busy summer season thanks to last minute cancellations. The check in process was not exactly smooth. We had to consolidate 2 reservations into one so that we wouldn't have to change rooms. The clerk we got could not figure it out so we stood there for a half an hour waiting for someone to help her do it. We finally got our keys and headed up to the room on the second floor. We lugged our stuff up the stairs and settled in. Only to get a knock on the door from another family who had the keys to the same room. They had the room next door too so we packed up our stuff, called the front desk and went down for keys to another room. In another building, on the second floor. So once again, we lugged our stuff up the stairs to our room.

Room- surprisingly clean considering the amount of dirt hikers trek in. The double beds were quite small for 2 people in each. But comfortable mattresses. No AC and it was HOT while we were there. Hard to fall asleep but it cooled off throughout the night.

Food- the cafeteria was okay. Breakfast got very crowded. Do not come to the park for the food because you will be very disappointed. If you like pizza, this is the place for you. Pizza is served everywhere in the park!

Service- lacking in all areas. It seemed like the staff at the front desk of the lodge and the restaurant were not really trained. They didn't seem to know what to do and always had to ask for a manager to help them. The food service people seemed very overwhelmed in the morning breakfast rush.

The Park-spectacular. Especially the hike to Vernal Falls, Glacier Point, and Mariposa Grove. All 3 not to be missed.

Unfortunately, there is not really an alternative to this hotel if you want the amazing location. Just keep your expectations for service very low and you should be fine.

Enjoy the park!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTERVILLE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As most reviewers note, this is basic lodging in a stunning location. We spent as little time as possible in the room, taking full advantage of being centrally located in the heart of Yosemite Valley. Only steps away from Yosemite Falls, this is the perfect location to see it all. The shuttle bus stop is right at the lodge, so getting around is easy

Make sure to check with the main desk to learn about park ranger programs, and dining options. The cafe at the lodge was fine, about what you'd expect. Portions are large, if not inspired. Highly recommend the star gazing tours available for $5 and led by a park ranger - outstanding views far away from the city lights - so very rare these days. Even our two teenage sons were blown away by the night sky.

Overall, you can't beat the location. If this hotel is booked, keep trying the online booking tool and you may find that cancellations open up - that's how we found a room. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
870 helpful votes 870 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed June 9-11, 2013 at 3515 Maple at Yosemite Lodge at the Falls.

RESERVATIONS: We had made reservations about three weeks beforehand looking at the yosemitepark internet site, when the calendar indicated an opening for those days. Guests and tour companies usually book April, May, June and July solid a year in advance. However there are often openings due to last minute cancellations by this time.

The Lodge and the Ahwahnee do not accept AAA as a discount, despite what the AAA tour book says

WHAT TO PACK: I packed the nonperishable items that did not need refrigerating: a case of 6.25 ounce juices (they must fit in the mini refrigerator) , fruit cups, trail mix, steak nuggets. Other items include: swim suit, two 6' extension cords, a stand up fan, waterproof jacket, and sturdy hiking boots. To ward off mosquitoes, I bring a hat covering the neck, mosquito repellent, long sleeve lightweight collared shirts, neck scarves, and long lightweight pants -my wife prefers the zip off pants that you can buy at most sporting stores.

GLACIER POINT: Stop by Glacier Point , as it is only open in the summer, and skip Bridalveil falls, which was now only a trickle.

PARKING: The Lodge parking lot was virtually full, with thousands of daytime weekend visitors visiting Yosemite Falls about half a mile away. Once we park we stay parked, for the duration of our stay.

COFFEE VOUCHERS Registration gave us four vouchers for the Food Court: one for each adult for each day of the stay.

RENOVATED ROOMS: Maple is one of the renovated buildings, with a brand new bathroom, new carpets, newly painted inside and out, new mattresses, and new furniture (e.g. flat screen TVs instead of CRT tube TVs) . Other renovated buildings include: Laurel, Juniper ,Maple, Aspen, Dogwood, Tamarack, Elderberry and Birch. Buildings scheduled to be renovated January-March 2014 include: Hemlock (new furniture now) , Alder, Cedar, Willow, Cottonwood (new furniture now), Manzanita and Azalia. I would advise people making reservations for March and April to avoid staying at newly renovated rooms until the paint fumes disappear by late April, based on my experiences this year.

BLISTERING TEMPERATURES: According to Accuweather it was 95 degrees at Yosemite village one mile away, and 104 degrees the day before. The first 15 days of July had temperatures above 94 degrees!

NO SCREENS: All of the rooms in Maple had screens on the side windows and doors leading to the back balcony and patio, except ours and the other ADA room 3516 across the hallway. Laurel, Juniper, Maple, Alder, and Hemlock have the older style shudders covering screened windows and doors. Aspen, Dogwood, Tamarack, Elderberry, Birch, Willow, Cottonwood, Manzanita and Azalia have sliding doors with no screens on their balconies. Cedar, the only building without balconies, has screens on all their windows. .

NO AC: We left both the front door and back door and back window open, with a Lodge fan on a chair near the back.. The 39" cord of the 18" Lodge fan is too short to reach the rear doorway from the nearest outlet, requiring an extension cord. Someone opened up the exit doors in the shared interior corridor creating cross ventilation. Since we had a ground floor room, we could not leave these open at night, both for security reasons, and preventing mice or squirrels from entering. Our neighbors upstairs left the balcony windows and doors open the entire night, but then their second floor rooms were much hotter than our first floor rooms.

3515 MAPLE: Our room was a renovated room, beautifully repainted, with new wall decor, and spotlessly clean with one exception. . The new carpets had dirt marks from wheeled luggage/wheelchairs and foot print tracks next to the back door. And the carpets were replaced only 3 months earlier!

AMENITIES: There is a 36" diagonal flat screen cable TV, and a 16" tall micro refrigerator, but no microwave. Much of the refrigerator bottom is taken up by the motor. We filled it with 6.25 oz juice cartons, and 32 ounce bottles of fruit juice. You may have difficulty fitting anything larger than a 32 ounce container in the refrigerator. There is an ice machine, as we are right next to it, and can hear it at all hours through the large crack beneath the front door leading to the interior hallway. Early arrivals and non guests can't fill up their coolers, as the ice machine operates with a room key.

ROOM SAFE: the key to the built in safe that comes with the room does not turn the safe bolt, and is broken. The safe is too small to fit a 14" laptop, but will just fit an 11" notebook.

NO PATIO LIGHT: There is a light switch but no light for the back patio, so I can't read my paperback book, nor type on my black keyed notebook outside on this hot night. Apparently renovated rooms means removing certain features, like the balcony light.

POOL: The Lodge has an Olympic size swimming pool open from 11am to 6pm from Memorial Day through Labor Day weekend. The hours are such that you can't use the pool unless you are staying more than one night, as check in is 5pm and checkout is 11am, with adult lap swimming often from 5pm to 6pm. The pool is closed when there are afternoon thunderstorms, as happened during our stay..

SLEEPING: By 830pm it is dark, we've finished our meal, and the mosquitoes are looking for their meal! I close all the doors and windows, and close the blackout curtains -there are no sheer curtains, and leave the mobile fan aimed at the bed, and the overhead ceiling fan running all night. The queen size bed mattress is firm and new, and the four pillows fluffy and comfortable. The fans drown out any noise from the neighbors. I sleep like a rock, tired from two nights of no sleep at Tioga Pass Resort.

EATING: There's the cafeteria style Food court , the Mountain Lounge with TV sports, and the Mountain Room for those willing to spend more. Wherever you eat, go there early for best selection, and avoiding the horrendous lines, swamping the cashiers and clean up crew.

WHAT TO DO. We spend our only full day here walking to shrinking Mirror Lake, now showing large clumps of weeds, and over to the Mist trail leading to Vernal and Nevada Falls. Now that's the place to be on a hot day! Wear heavy duty hiking boots so you don't slip on the 700+ falls soaked stairs of the Mist Trail.

BUS: We take the free bus shuttle from Mirror Lake back to the Lodge. The bus is packed, and it takes 29 minutes to travel the 2.5 miles and 10 bus stops back to the Lodge. But it is free.

MEADOWS: After dinner, we walk around the meadows behind our building , over the river, and the swinging bridge, deer ambling around, with the falls cascading endlessly in the twilight. Very soothing, relaxing and romantic. We return via the lighted pedestrian paths around the front of the buildings. Fortunately we arrived a few weeks before the mosquitoes larvae hatched -which was late June last year..

CONSTRUCTION: On our check out day, heavy equipment resurfaces the road in front our patio. Lots of noise and dust. This is a very common occurrence in the Yosemite Valley in the summer, as it is the only time of the year they can do such work.

FALLS GONE BY MID JULY: We had talked to a ranger, and he said that Yosemite Falls would usually be gone by mid July, perhaps as early as the start of July in this dry year. So by the time you read this review, there will be little or no falls running.The Falls are magnificent both in sight and sound, and bring back fond memories of past visits to the Park and the Lodge. We will come back to the Lodge, but probably not in the summer!.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. Be prepared for blistering heat during the summer. Guests will need to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had the 2nd floor so it was nice to have a balcony. Nice cabin like touch in a modern setting. I would definitely stay there again. We stayed in a Lodge Room so I cannot comment on the other rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.