We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here in Summer months” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Do not stay here in Summer months”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The DNC reservations site does a poor job of describing this motel as I did not see any mention of there being no AC! It was 102 degrees each day we were in the park and there was no relief at the Inn following a full day of taking in the park's offerings. Plus, this motel cost $250 per night but was not worth even half that amount! It appears to me that park mgmt has elected to spend most of it's budget on lodging and staff at the Ahawanee and much less at the other lodging options. I get that the star attraction is the Park itself and we were in awe of this treasure. But because it is a difficult drive into and around the park, we felt it was a good idea to stay overnight in the park. For the room rate we expected much more from this motel and not meeting expectations is never a fun thing. We definitely will return to Yosemite but we also most definitely will not stay at the Yosemite Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    781
    513
    242
    145
See reviews for
722
891
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our room was GROSS. Bathroom Not clean. Exhaust fan had hanging junk from it.
Poor service, asked for housekeeping to clean bath and fan on day 1. When we checked out on day 3, still there.
Needs major redo. No low-flow anything. Major waste of resources.
Very Hot in room. We brought our own fan, but didn't help much with the extreme heat.
Good location in the valley and close to everything.
Only "reasonable" hotel, so they know that they can "stick it to you" with old rooms and poor service, what else will you do? Tent??
Next time we will pay for the upscale hotel
Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Bring a fan from home to help move air in the summer heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls in June of this year and have to give a mixed review. The location cannot be beaten for access to the park, programs and amenities and we had a spectacular view of the Falls from our room. The room was one of the newer, updated rooms and there is a major design flaw. There is a tiny opening in the door to the patio to provide air circulation to outside air, and there is no air-conditioning. So in early June with the temperature in the valley above 90 degrees during the day, the room became an oven. The only way to keep it tolerable was to keep the room completely dark, so that defeated the point of having the view. The rooms are expensive - around $250 per night (before taxes) and pretty basic. The food at the Lodge is acceptable, but expensive for the quality and the service is very slow. The problem is that you have no reasonable alternatives, so just come prepared to suffer, unless you visit in the winter months. However, Yosemite is so spectacular that you will gladly put up with the accommodations. Grin and bear it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window that opens and has a screen to let in fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You cannot beat the location, which is why, despite the poor condition of the building (Hemlock) and room, I would probably stay here again. The carpet in the hallway is quite worn and in need of vacuuming. The entry door to the building is in need of cleaning and is not secure. The floors and steps in the stairwell are filthy and crumbling. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, and the beds are comfortable. The carpet, curtains, and towels, however, are worn. The sinks and tub are old and chipped and not well cleaned (there was a grape from the previous guests clogging the drain which I had to remove on my own). The handle on the back door that opens the slats for ventilation in room 3427 was broken off and so could not be used. The front office is not very accommodating and there is always a line. I alerted them to the fact that the room needs quite a number of repairs. Let's hope they address these problems since the hotel is in an ideal location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Like most other reviewers, I made reservations 1 year in advance. As I could not get a room on Monday, we stayed 2 nights in the Evergreen Lodge (fabulous) before arriving in the Valley on Wed. Check in is 5pm, but if you arrive early, it will give you a chance to scope out your room location and switch rooms. I booked 2 lodge rooms. We were assigned the Laurel building with what we were told was a "meadow view". When we checked it out, we were directly across from noisy bus parking. The meadow view was a field of dirt with numerous holes in it. I asked for a room change and we were switched to the Aspen building. So glad we switched. We looked out onto the forest, had a patio and were in a building with 2 stories and 8 rooms altogether. Very quiet at night. We lucked out with parking when we arrived as the lot fills quickly during the day. For the rest of our trip, we took the shuttle bus.

The beds and pillows were comfy. Water pressure was great. Log furniture and updated bathroom fixtures. Carpet was stained. They emphasize water conservation, but give you a new set of towels every day, even if you hung up the ones you already used.

The Food Court (cafeteria) was reminiscent of ski-lodge dining with separate stations for pasta, grill and main course plates such as catfish and pork loin. The Mountain House restaurant pricing was unreasonable. The same $10 salmon burger at Curry Village was $18 with a side of potatoes so we did not eat here. I saved my money for lunch at the Ahwahnee.

For location, I give this 5 stars as it is easy to get around the Valley and since Yosemite Falls is across the street, it was hours of fun for the kids playing in the falls.

The food court has limited variety. Iif you are dining here every night, there's only so much pasta and pizza you can eat. Also, buses stop her for lunch, so if you hit it at the wrong time, you could be waiting on line for a very long time. They advertise that they have a "general store", but it's more like 7-11. No Q-tips, limited quality food selection. If you forgot a power cord for your camera charger, you're stuck. No electronics at all in the gift shop or anywhere in the park.

There's no lobby to hang out in if you want to be indoors and read the paper or a book. Room was too dark. There is limited seating near the reception desk.

The pool closes at 6pm so if you would like to take a dip after dinner, forget it. The pool towels are a joke. I have hand towels at home that are bigger. Ice cream stand at the pool closes at the same time. After staying at Evergreen Lodge, I had to give it 3 stars as the Evergreen got everything right: rec room with games like Monopoly and a roaring fire, s'mores every night, pool, hot tub, yoga, massage, great food, zip line and quaint cabins. If only it were closer to the valley, we would have stayed there the whole week.

Room Tip: Check in early and scope out your room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The only thing going for The Lodge is the location. You can't check in until 5PM, or at least that's what they say. You might get in early. Even the worst hotels let you check in at 3PM. This way they sell more tours when you are forced to wait around with kids. There is no water! No drinking fountains anywhere. They sell water bottles. It's run down, the cafeteria is dirty, You can't bus your own table, their are no trash bins, the food is bad, the rooms are run down, the carpet is worn out.....what happened to our tax dollars??? The concessionair is FOR PROFIT. The National Park Service needs to take back control of one of our most beautiful treasures, Yosemite Vally, and spend the money to upgrade the run down infastructure. Don't get me going on Camp Curry. Horrible, loud, dusty! Again, spend some money! Cover the dirt!
Now for the rules: A $5000 fine for leaving a cooler in the trunk??. Hey since all the bears are tagged, how about using some teckno and heading them off at the parking lot perimeter. If they don't have transponders, the repeat offenders should. Yogi needs to be monitored.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We planned this vacation 1 year in advance. This was our last long road trip with our grandchildren (our oldest is 17) We tried 5 years ago but fire in the park prevented us going and we were planning on staying outside the valley. This time we decided to stay in the park and we are glad we did! We stayed in Willow and to our surprise we had a view of the Falls from our deck (room 4324) Sure the rooms are somewhat dated but if you want to be close to everything then stay at The Lodge. Check in time is 5 pm but we made good use of the time. We arranged ahead of time a Valley Floor Tour. The three days we were there we're great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.