We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations in an amazing location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great accommodations in an amazing location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Randomly found this lodge when looking for a place to stay for some first time hiking at Yosemite.
It's such a great location being close to everything and many conveniences on the property such as a dining hall, well supplied store, restaurants, sports bar and on the shuttle stop. We only used our car once in the 4 days we were there.
There is nothing outstanding about the rooms but they are clean, there is no A/C but they provide fans. It was no problem for us but suppose it could be uncomfortable if really hot outside. I don't think you'd find A/C in any rooms in the park.
The staff there is friendly and helpful, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    788
    513
    242
    145
See reviews for
725
898
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Elderberry and I was really happy with the room - granted, the property is old but in my view, that just adds to its charm. We had an awesome view of the mountains from our corner room window. The front desk at reception was welcoming and efficient ( many thanks, Philip )and no, we did not have to wait till 5 pm for the keys. The room was cleaned daily ( we stayed two nights) and we did have free wi fi as well. We loved our stay here and hope to be back !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in Birch building this time. Large room, updated, but dirty carpet, dark and dreary. Its such a shame that such a beautiful park, truly a national treasure, allows the concession owner to offer the poor accommodations. They have the monopoly and there are no other choices if you want to stay within the park. Grin and bear it and get outside. You will pay a 4 star price for a 1 star motel room, but you will have a 5+ star vacation if you can ignore the rip off price for the ugly dingy room. There are no screens to keep out the usual park bugs, no a/c, dirty carpets, spider webs in every corner and across every window, very difficult parking with no assigned parking spots. The late check in time to get the room is very inconvenient. Most have to wait until after 5 PM for the keys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to get a room a week before our arrival. They have a 7 day cancelation policy which means that if you want a room start looking a week or more ahead and you might get one. We stayed in the Maple building right across from the Food Court. Nice location. The Food Court is very expensive but you're paying for the convenience. The room had two beds which looked like small full-size beds. They allowed us to use our air up mattress for our third child. The rooms had been renovated. Very nicely decorated and very clean. The electrical system was questionable. I wouldn't try to charge any sensitive electronics. The chargers were hot to the touch after a few minutes of being plugged in. Great location in Yosemite. Just be prepared for the expense.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Rooms are dark, shabby, outdated, with filthy carpets - and a complete rip-off. How in the world can they charge $200+ a night for this? Because it's the only game in town (unless you want to spend a fortune at the Ahwahnee down the road). This place is horrendous. Don't believe the photos on the web site. If there are rooms that look like that, there must be only one or two, because we walked by many rooms where the doors were open (it was over 90 degrees outside and rooms don't have AC) that were as dreadful as ours. Another stunner: you can't check in until 5pm. Yes, you read that right. Guest check OUT is at 11am, but this place is so short-staffed that they can't get rooms clean until 5pm. So, unless you want to hang out at the visitor center down the road or drive around the loop for hours, don't plan on getting there before cocktail hour. You'll need a stiff drink when you see the room, so maybe that's a good strategy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower 48
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Imagine the perfect national park lodge: rustic luxury, attentive staff, wonderful amenities. Then imagine you were arrested there and taken to a minimum security prison. That's Yosemite Lodge.

Everything in our room was filthy or falling apart or both. If the weather is hot, you will be hotter. When I complained about the room phone not working, the desk clerk said, "Oh, you're in one of the rooms that features a non-working phone." George Orwell meet Franz Kafka.

The location is wonderful, but the management clearly uses that fact to exploit their customers rather than serve them. My advice: Give up a little convenience in return for a decent place to stay.

PS: Apparently some rooms are renovated, and may be better than ours, but the attitude problem pervades the establishment.

Room Tip: Insist on a renovated room. Better yet, run!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked a lodge room and were assigned to the Elderberry building which is close to the road and very close to the trail to Yosemite Falls. All of the motel rooms are "lodge" rooms except for those in the Cedar building which are "standard". (Standard rooms do not have patios or balconies.) Some rooms in our building had views of the Yosemite Falls. We were in room 4208 and could not see them from our downstairs patio. I noticed that many rooms in the Willow building had great views. Our average-sized room had been refurbished and was quite clean with pleasant decor. We had two double beds, a table with two chairs, a flat-screened tv, and plenty of storage space. Rooms come with hairdryers, but no coffee pot. We could not hear our neighbors through the walls, but could hear them if they were on their patios or balconies. Because Elderberry is close to a main street, we could hear the traffic from morning to mid-evening.

The front desk staff members were friendly and efficient. Our room was ready at 4:00 p.m. The receptionist honored our request for a ground floor room, and she tried her best to assign us a room with a pretty view.

The Food Court/cafeteria was ok. There was a variety of selections and the staff seemed to all try their best at pleasing the guests. Food was mediocre. 6:00 p.m. seemed to be the most popular time for dinner. Lines were long, and table clearing was challenging for the bussing staff. Breakfast and lunch times were not as busy.

The store is located in back of the lobby. We liked the Village Store down the road, which was bigger and had more fresh food selections. We did not eat at the Mountain Room Restaurant, but it did look nice. There were also a few other restaurants close by.

The shuttle stops right in front of the lobby and cafeteria area. The shuttle is very convenient and easy.

If location and views are important to you, study the Lodge map found on the web site. Many room windows face the parking lot. Elderberry, Cottonwood, Azalea, and Tamarack are very close to the road, but some of the rooms have good views. Alder, Maple, Hemlock, and Juniper have private views, but some of the rooms have no views, because the brush is so thick and had not been cut back when I was there. Laurel is close to the tour bus parking.

Overall, we liked staying in the Elderberry building at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls. The location of the Lodge is great, and the room we had was clean, roomy, and pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to get a "lodge" room that has been refurbished. Study the Lodge map found on the web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.