We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Complete Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lodge this is not! These buildings are extremely old, filthy, broken and a rip off. The positive feedback from customers emphasizes the location. Sure, these buildings are on prime real estate - close by and convenient but aside from boasting the location, there is nothing more to offer the traveler. Rooms do not have A/C. We were given a room on the 2nd floor (two story buildings) and the temperature in the room was over 90 degrees when we checked in. I asked how to turn on the A/C and was told 'you pull the fan out of the closet and plug it in'. We were eventually able to move to a 1st floor room which helped a small bit on temperature. Floors filthy, broken sink, tub, carpet is awful. I would not let me kids take their shoes off and after showers would not let them leave the tub w/o putting shoes back on. Sheets, towels look 20 years old. Many bugs throughout - spiders, ants and others. Kids were bit by spiders while sleeping. For close to $200 a night, the park system should be ashamed to take advantage of the traveler this way.

Room Tip: I hear there are some refurbished rooms, but I never saw them, don't know if they have them and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    640
    466
    230
    135
See reviews for
631
728
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Yosemite lodge-

Pros-

-You get a GREAT location
-View of Yosemite falls
-Close to bike paths so access to entire park
-Close access to shuttle buses
-Close to hiking trails.
-Clean
-Maid service every day- although one day we didn't get clean towels
-Micro-mini refrigertor- smallest type.
-Upper level rooms have a step out balcony
with a table and two chairs
-Soft toilet paper
-Not as expensive as the Ahwahnee.
-A few steps from the Mountain view restaurant & shopping & to the pool & the bar & deli restaurant.
-Not a tent.
-Rusting looking.
-Daily coffee cards for cafeteria close by.
-Bike racks. Really consider bringing a bike. Beautiful bike trails abound.

Cons-
-No air conditioning, but there was an overhead fan and room fan.
-No dresser drawers
-No bar soap
-No in room coffee maker- We brought a water heater appliance & instant coffee.
-Harsh keelnex-similar feel to bark
-Expensive 5 star price for 3 star accomodations.
-Limited TV channel options
-Rustic looking
-Mosquitoes, but what are you going to do about that? Bring bug spray.
-Not many hangers, but who cares if your clothes are wrinkled when you are hiking.
- Have to book a room a year in advance.
-The lack of air-conditioning was tough when it was over 100 degrees this first week of June.

Overall, you can't beat the location & the experience of majestic Yosemite steps away from your room.

Room Tip: Pick something upstairs in that case you get a balcony with a bit extra living space for morning cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

No need to write more about it, don't stay in this hotel, although location is good, you will catch a diease. Every where is filthy, broken, smelly. I'm a world traveler and I never stay a hotel like this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Accomodations are nice and close to shuttles,restaurants,and best of all the falls. Some rooms can view falls and trails are right nearby.
We heard supposedly, you can book months in advance, but cancel within 2 weeks with full refund. So , rooms freed up around 2 weeks prior to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went here with low expectations based on prior reviews, and were actually really happy with our stay. We had booked a 2 queen room, but being a little tired of sharing beds I inquired if one of the bunk bed rooms might be open. Erica at the desk was very nice to check and since there were none of those she offered us a Family Room for $20 less than what we had booked! Sweet! Some might have been disappointed with the room but we thought it was awesome. It must have at some point been a dorm room of some type because it was HUGE, had 6 individual closets along one wall, a dining table that seated 6, a King bed, 2 single beds and a sleeper sofa. The bathroom had the shower separate from the toilet area and the two sinks were in the main room. Also a fridge and microwave. Yes, the furniture was old but the beds were comfy and the entire room was clean. Kind of anti-luxury, but we were happy to trade that for the space and the awesome location. We walked to the falls that evening and again the next day. You absolutely cannot beat the location. We rode the bus around to see the valley sights. The huge pool looked great but as we were there only one night, we did not get to try it. We ate in the food court for dinner & breakfast and it was good, but expensive, both times. Expected that from prior national park visits. Overall, we enjoyed our night here and wished we would have come here from Mariposa one night sooner.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are perhaps nothing to write home about, but there's nothing wrong with them either and our stay was comfortable enough. The most awesome thing is that you can hear the falls from your bed at night after traffic has died down - it sounds like the ocean, almost! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

As a hotel this is fairly average in terms of comfort and facilities, however you cannot escape the fact that it is in the perfect location for Yosemite valley and it takes significant time to drive into the valley from accommodation outside the park (the speed limits are very low and people generally stick to them)

The room itself was fairly basic although clean and acceptable. The view was of trees although be aware some back onto the main road out of the park so there can be some noise

Be prepared for high prices for food and drink - captive audience. The bar is pleasant and the restaurant fine. Breakfast was mad being a cooked to order self service which took forever, however again captive audience

Having said all of that location perfect, biking around the park was fabulous, if you are looking a Yosemite valley and don't want to camp not a bad choice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.