We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torn between average and good; Dogwoods are in bloom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Torn between average and good; Dogwoods are in bloom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I decided to stay at the Lodge in Yosemite because I planned to photograph the valley after sunset and at crazy early in the morning, and didn't want to drive from Mariposa, about 45 minutes from the Highway 140 gate.

The Front Desk staff was polite, but, seemed a bit distracted. I checked in about 7pm-ish and there wasn't a lot of people waiting to be checked-in.

The Lodge uses keys, not ATM-style cards.

I was given the wrong keys, so I had to hike back to the Front Desk to exchange them.

The room was ok. There was hot water, but the pressure seemed to be a bit low.

The TV had local channels and some others. Mattress was not the best, nor, was it the worst.

Room had a 30-pin iPod dock.

Warning: do not leave food in your car; do not leave coolers in your car - bears understand the shape of coolers and know what is in side. And, even when you don't leave food in your car, the bears could sniff something, like what it smells, and rip your car apart like a knife through butter left on the picnic table during a 4th of July BBQ. If you are stupid and leave food or coolers in your car, and a bear rips open your car, besides the larger insurance bill, expect to receive a ticket from the Rangers for not following the rules. The bears are not like the bears at Yellowstone, which will eat you, but the bears in Yosemite will only nibble on you a bit. Make noise if you see a bear, and read the bear instructions on the sheet you receive from the Ranger at the entrance.

Make sure the door to your patio is double locked.

Expect sounds outside of your window/patio - raccoon, bears and other creatures roam.

My room had a small fridge and a laptop safe. I did not see a phone in the room.

The room was clean.

I would probably go back again. I made the reservation 6 months in advance. The Lodge is not a place you can just drive up to and expect to be able to get a room during the summer, or, during the Holidays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    604
    451
    226
    135
See reviews for
585
703
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had another long weekend stay at Yosemite Lodge; our previous visit was in a snowy March of 2012. Yosemite has to be on your bucket list: spectacular granite walls, glorious waterfalls (before June), wonderful walks/hikes, enjoyable ranger/naturalist talks, etc. The Lodge is less expensive than the truly expensive Ahwanee Hotel and more expensive than other choices of room lodging in the park. And you do want to stay in the park; it's a half-hour plus drive from the nearest hotel/motel outside the park. It's close to the Mountain Room restaurant for a nice dining experience and the cafeteria for a quick breakfast or lunch. Great ways to start or end the day.
The room was worn but clean and the daily refresher was fine. Beds a bit too firm for us but that's always a matter of taste. Nice folks at the desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

OK, I understand that you're staying in Yosemite and it will cost a premium. But there is NO excuse for charging over $200 a night for a hotel and not having a phone in the room. And when asked about it, we're told that maybe its on the list of rooms where the phone isn't working, but no, it's not on the list. And they would fix it, but no. And check in time is 5pm for some reason. This was a recently painted and I believe "remodeled room". The room had an outside small patio area with a door where the insulated glass was duck taped to the door frame. The shower curtain was set too high to prevent water from the shower getting on the floor.

And the food, don't get us started. Breakfast was outrageously expensive and poor. Cold, black toast that we were told we could microwave to warm up. Coffee that was barely luke warm. Horrible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

When staying in YNP, this is the best location in Yosemite Valley for the money (which is still a bit spendy). We stayed in one of the recently remodeled rooms. While still a bit rustic, we were pleased with the new bathroom with its great shower, amenities and the best towel service we encountered on the road trip. In lieu of an in-room coffeemaker, guests receive complimentary coffee or tea coupons redeemable at the adjacent Food Court (just walk up to the Peet's coffee bar, get a large to go and you're on your way). With close access to Yosemite Falls, the Food Court and the Mountain Room, this is our choice for a civilized accomodation in a national park setting.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was very disappointed from the start. There was a mixup in my reservation, and the clerk was prepared to not honor what I had in writing, but after I insisted I would not pay anything other than what I was quoted, he spoke with a manager and I paid what I was supposed to. Check in time is 5pm, and most rooms are not ready until then even though you can check in earlier. Once we got to our room, we discovered that is was probably in the worst location in the entire hotel. They have great little patios out back, but ours overlooked the back of the restaurant, including dumpsters and employee smoking area. The front was right on the road. The only saving grace was that if you turned your chair around on the patio, you had a perfect view of Eagle Point. So we tried to block out the other distractions and enjoy the view. The room itself was clean and comfortable, with a fridge. The bathroom was clean, but the toilet was loose and wiggled when you sat down. We did not use the shower as we were only there one night and got up early for skiing the next day. I recommend you stay here because it's in the middle of the park, just be particular with the room location!

Room Tip: Do not stay in Birch building. Elderberry probably has best view of falls, but is close to road as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldermaston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After a 5 hour drive to the lodge we had to wait for 30 mins to get to the head of the queue to see the receptionist to check in. When eventually we negotiated our way to our room down what can only be called an alley between trash trolleys and accommodation blocks we found that our outlook was onto the boarding surrounding the swimming pool. We entered our room to find that the frame of the single window was broken and since it overlooked the alley could not be opened and therefore the only light was by way of dim artificial lights. The room itself was dingy and looked in need of a complete redecoration all in all for the nightly rate charged was unacceptable. Since we had made our bookings some 6 or 7 months previously and had expected to be accomodated in a room of an acceptable standard I made our feelings clear to reception and expressed our disappointment. We were then offered alternative accommodation at the Ahwanee hotel in the Yosemite valley at an substantially increased rate but decided to accept that since it was late in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were very pleased with our comforable king-bed room in the Tamarack building. I would guess that the adjacent Dogwood and Aspen buildings offer similar rooms (online map is available), which are totally modern and tasteful, very clean, have a small fridge, TV and WiFi, decent bath/shower with plenty of towels, plus a nice view of the trees. I think each building has 8 units, 4 upstairs and 4 down. Suggest staying upstairs with your own semi-private balcony and table/chairs. They also have vaulted ceilings so it seems to feel a little more spacious than downstairs. Pricey at around $250/nite inc. breakfast but you're right in the valley and wake up ready to do your daytime thing and not waste precious time. There are older buildings that may not offer such a nice experience so do check and try and get one of these more recently built ones. Ours was at the Yosemite Falls end of the lot so we took a couple moonlight walks to see them at night and were there in 5 minutes. There seem to be several of these more recent buildings so ask when you book.

We booked directly with DNC via their website www.yosemitepark.com and avoided a 10% service fee offered by some other website who's link appeared first via Google.

My only complaint is the crappy food at the Food Court. If it were good but expensive, or average but reasonable, I'd say 'you're at the park for the wonders of the park and not a fine dining experience and should have lower expectations'. But the Food Court is both expensive AND terrible. Since you're basically a captive audience its particularly annoying that the DNC company that runs the show doesn't take some steps to improve the offerings. No salad bar, watery mashed potatoes, grisly burger -- the worst institutional food that costs airport prices and is lower quality than that. Its obvious that no respectable chef regularly tastes whats being served. I can understand that every single item served has to be trucked in through a difficult route and maybe that adds to the cost. But at least make it decent! Shame on you, DNC.

The Mountain Room Lounge has a few OK salad, soup and sandwich options that seemed totally worth the extra few dollars. The Mountain Room itself has steaks and other higher-end items but at $20-$30 per entree, wasn't going to be a daily dinner option, especially if you have a family to feed.

Breakfast can be included as part of the bed & breakfast package when you book your room, and you get a $13 credit plus a coupon for large, good cup of coffee or tea from the cafe's Peets counter. I'd say do it if you're planning on breakfast at the cafe. We had good granola ($4), supplemented with fruit we brought and grabbed a sandwich and chips for lunch later ($9) to use up the $13. The plated traditional American breakfast of eggs/spuds/meat was I think $9 but one bite of the sausage my partner got was unpleasant and made you instantly wonder about exactly what it was ground up to make it.

The overall park experience was, and always will be, stunning. Don't think its one of the seven wonders of the world but it should be. Just bring as much picnic food as you can and be very careful at the Food Court.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.