We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, but basic rooms and carefully check your final bill!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location, but basic rooms and carefully check your final bill!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

If this review was based purely on location it would get five stars. If is was based purely on the room it would only get two. The rooms are very basic with old fashioned furniture and in need of freshening up and updating (the colour on the walls is hideous!), but the expensive price you have to pay is based on the location, which is stunning and unbeatable. From walking past other blocks it looked like at least one had been refurbished and the rooms looked more modern with cream walls. It seems like some rooms with balconies give you a view of the Yosemite Falls - we had to step outside our room to get a view, but loved being in such amazing scenic surroundings and being able to leave our car parked up for three days and just get out on foot.

Make sure you carefully check your bill when checking out - one night in the food court we were charged for a soda that should have been included in the meal. Instead of giving us a refund they did a new bill (for the whole meal for four of us) at the correct price and said they would void the first transaction at the incorrect price. When we checked out we spotted that they had not refunded the first transaction, so we'd paid twice for the same meal (and the food is overpriced as it it!) We had to keep re-explaining what had happened for the receptionist to understand, showing him that both transactions had the same reference code. Eventually he understood and refunded us, but if took a lot of effort to get it sorted out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    603
    449
    226
    135
See reviews for
580
699
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

You can't be too picky about a hotel if you want to stay in the NP because there are only a few. Because of that the price of a simple room can be too high for what you get. Location of the hotel is great, with great views of the valley. The food in the foodcourt is ok, some different kind of food to choose from. We had no fridge in the room. The staff was helpful to tell us the best way out of the park when there was snow and we did not have snowchains for our rental car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Location of the hotel is perfect. I was opposite reception and the restaurants which was perfect. Room had everything that was needed and was comfortable. After a long day walking it had a nice shower and comfy bed which was all I needed. I think next time I would stay at Curry Village to save some money, as I heard lots of good reviews from other walkers.
Overall it was a pleasant hotel in a brilliant location but was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We just stayed at the Lodge for 3 nights -- April 12th - 14th. Yosemite Falls is a very short walk from the room, as are the restaurants and the shuttle. You can't beat the location for the price ($219) and the rooms were plenty spacious and comfortable. We were told ours had just been refurbished so they were attractive as well. There are balconies facing cliffs and meadows where we saw deer walking by. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the sunset reflect off of the rocks as much as anything else we did at the Park. The restaurants on site are excellent, albeit very pricey. I'd go back in a heartbeat! If you can pick the building your room is in, you have a better chance of a view from your room. Check out the hotel map and compare the room locations to the location of the Falls and roads, etc.

Room Tip: If you can pick the building your room is in, you have a better chance of a view from your room. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights at the end of march.
I was expecting a regular hotel but it's not really that. The lodge is made of various "houses" surrounding the main court (where you'll find the reception, the food court, the souvenir shop, the bus stop, etc...).
The room was simple but comfortable and clean.
I guess the best thing is the location. You can take buses to every place you want to start a walk. Extremely practical.
The food court is fine for the breakfast (prepare to wait a bit). At night the restaurant, even beeing huge, feels cosy and the service is really good.
Perfect for families.
Well, at the end you don't stay that much in the room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It is well known that accomodations at a NP are (very) expensive. Bookings in summer time are to take place at least 9 - 12 months in advance. A room at the Yosemite Lodge is not cheap ($ 244). The interior of the room is convenient but very outdated. From the other hand ... it goes with the park and the total environment. All looks nice, but the furniture is too old. Closets don't close. The bed however is wonderfull.

Room Tip: We had Rm 326 (on the second floor); you have to take 14 steps on the stair
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is basing everything off their location. I would say it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in besides the bates looking motel i stayed in when i was a kid. The first room we got was felt like a nursing home and smelled like one too. (I know as I used to work in them) After mentioning 3 beds for 5 people would not work they gave us a new room.The second room was not as bad but even my small kids who pay not attention to things noticed the paint peeling off the ceiling and the cob webs behind the tv.

We ate at Camp Curry for dinner one night and realized we should have just gotten a tent as the grounds were much nicer at camp curry and the room could not have been much worse than what we had at the Lodge.

The bike rental was great but the restaurant was much better at Camp Curry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.