We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in March 2013. Stayed in a newly renovated unit. Be sure to request renovated building and a second floor room. Thin walls and lots of families with young children. AT&T cell phone signal was fairly good. Free wireless worked well. I suspect that private hotels outside the park are nicer, but you can't beat waking up inside the park. Who wants to spend their vacation driving to and from the park every day? The Lodge is directly across from the Falls, and centrally located for most all park activities. We had a rental car, but often left it at the Lodge and took the free shuttle. I can't imagine dealing with the main Summer season traffic jams. Try to find a way to visit off season. Late March weather was wonderful.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    591
    447
    224
    135
See reviews for
564
697
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had planned to stay for 3 days but we were so disappointed with the quality of the accommodation we cut short our stay. Rooms were cold and damp. Furniture was dated. The toilet and shower were sooo old! The toilet blocked up and was unblocked by a service person who walked out with the plunger dripping on the floor. He did not wash his hands and used out bedside phone. We had to fix the shutter on the front window ourselves as it was not closing properly. There were signs of mouse droppings in the bedroom floor. We were scared of the possibility of Hanta virus which was a problem in the valley last year in other accommodation we learned. We ate at the Food Court and were disgusted to see a chef at one of the hot food counters handling raw meat and cooked food. We did notify management of this and the feed-back was received well. Although the location was wonderful with great view of the Falls I would never stay here again

Room Tip: Stay outside the Park area for better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I fail to understand why this place's rating is not higher. I accept that it is expensive by American standards but to wake up to views of the valley and not have to drive into the park every day makes it completely worthwhile. We had a double queen room and it was very generous in its size and had a balcony. There was a problem with our bathroom fan on the first night and the staff worked really hard to sort this out and did so. They offered to move us and gave us a 20% discount for that night. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends without a moments hesitation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed there for a night in late March 2013. Stayed in 1 of the un-renovated rooms just across from reception. The room was a bit tired and cold, but the location and staff more than made up for it. From check-in to meals, check-out, bag check and at the shop, the staff were pleasant and helpful. Of course, the fact that you could walk up the road and go to the majestic falls made the stay even better. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is very expensive for what it is, but you pay that premium for location, so it is worth it. The biggest thing I didn't like about this place was the customer service, definitely not the usual friendly North American welcome that you come to expect. When we came to pick our bags up it was about 9.00pm, and as the lodges are not in the same building as reception, it's a bit of a walk, and they didn't offer to help with bags or walk us to our room, something I'd expect given that it was pitch black outside. The girl at reception also seemed to have little knowledge on the eating options available in the complex.

The rooms are very big, and good quality beds, we only stayed one night and were only in the room awake for a 2 hours max, but I'd imagine it would be a relaxing place if you were there for a few days.

Terrible shower in the place, very small, think it went as high as my chest.

Also, one of the strangest hotel bars I've ever been to, they had this amazing fireplace in the centre of the room, which looked really cool, yet when you're at the bar it has no character, atmosphere which is strange given that fireplace. It may be the wood that they have used to decorate the place, maybe it needs a re-vamp as it should've been one of the 'best' hotel bars I'd ever been to, not one of the 'strangest'.

Ultimately if you don't have a car, and don't want to camp you should stay here for convenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Went here for a weekend for my cousin's wedding. The park itself was breath-taking and beautiful. We got the park after 5pm so we were able to check in right away. The lodge itself is huge. Had to walk from the lobby to our room with 3 big suitcases by myself as my parents had to go to the wedding rehearsal and it took me about 20 minutes. No mention of any luggage carts so don't know of they had any. Parking is also a challenge as at that time most of the people have already parked so had to find parking far and then walking back to the lodge was long but it was alright as I got caught up with the beauty of my surroundings. The room was minimal and outdated. I loved the fact that they were eco-friendly with their bath amenities. The lodge bar was fun, wish I remember the name of the bartender as he was great. They also had a film about the history of the park playing in the middle of the courtyard. The bus system was very helpful as I didn't want to have to move the car again and then go thru finding another parking space. The cafeteria had a lot of different offerings for food so always something for everyone.

The wedding at the park's chapel was quaint but beautiful. It fronted this gushing falls that was just majestic. The reception at the lodge's hall was adequate, food was okay but service was good but the ambiance was romantic for the wedding reception and there were a couple of deers that came very near the windows for us to get a lot of pictures of them.

All in all for the price I paid, the room was in need of a good refurbishing or a complete renovation but we enjoyed the park and being with nature that weekend. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Junee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a place to wake up or see the sun set. To see the falls and hear them is so specail (especailly as we live in a drought prone area of the world.) We chose to stay there because it was memorial day weekend so thought it better to be in the park than outside since we had no transport of our own.
The room was OK but there is no coffee/tea making facilities in the room, but does have a fridge.
One thing we found frustrating was chech in was at 5 pm and check out had to be compeleted by 10am, so there was a bit of hanging around waiting for check in.
Would thouroughly recommed the Glacier Point Tour. The guide/driver was so knowledgeable and able to give a personal insight into the National Park.
The free transport around the park is terrific and well used. enables you to see and then walk around places you want to linger at.
Food court is satisfactory. Very busy at breakfast if you want to get away early.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.