We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overpriced motel, but who can beat the location?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
los angeles
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An overpriced motel, but who can beat the location?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed in the lodge many times since it's the best location in the park, close to all the trailheads, dining etc. We paid $225 a night (in March) for what is essenyially a mid-level motel room (the only update was a docking station for an iPhone or iPod) but the at night we could hear the roar of Yosemite Falls (we stayed in the Tamarack building) and who can beat that? The room has a little fridge and free wi-fi, both greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Tamarack and Cottonwood are close to the Falls but further from the dining (a 3 minute walk). Cedar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    528
    434
    220
    132
See reviews for
492
639
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been to Yosemite many time before but this was our first time staying inside the park. Staying at the lodge made our visit special even after having visited Yosemite many times. We stayed in the Cottonwood building with a view of the falls thanks to the helpful girl at the front desk who cheerfully accomodated our request of a room with a view. The room was rustic cabin decor and the first impression was of it being a little dark and dingy. These rooms have been through lots of use but overall everything was clean and comfortable. The room had a mini refrigerator , hair dryer, iron and ironing board and a small table fan. It didn't have a coffee maker but they gave us 6 coupons for coffee/tea that could be used at the food court. Its important to remember that these are not luxury accomodations and we are paying the premium for the location which is very well worth it. Having stayed at better hotels at the west and south entrances, I might still prefer the Lodge for the experience of waking up in Yosemite without having to camp or spending for Ahwahnee. The staff was friendly and helpful. Plenty of dining options and a gift/grocery store for all one can need. Overall great place to stay.

Room Tip: We liked staying in the Cottonwood building. Our room had a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Step out of your room and lift your eyes to Yosemite Falls. Stunning! Right in the middle of the Park with Shuttle Bus stop at Lobby. Everything you need on property. Staff at desk very helpful. Shop loaded with every essential you might be lacking. Excellent food at restaurant and the more casual grill. Concierge to help you plan your activities.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed in all the lodges in park and Yosemite lodge is my favorite. This is not a 4- 5 star hotel but is very well kept up and the rooms are nice sized and well appointed . The up side is location location location. Located directly across from Yosemite falls. Has the best dining options. Bring or rent bike for getting around valley and you can park your car and easily get anywhere in valley. They do have free buses that access all areas in valley that picks up right in front of lodge. You are here to see park not stay in a luxury resort and this is the best option, unless you want to drive in and out of the park everyday. Pay the extra $ and stay where you can enjoy the valley all day and night.

Room Tip: There are many buildings most with 2 floors a couple a singe story. All have balcony or porch. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We didn't think much of the room; the location of course can't be beat. I think that for the price we would expect a much better room. Why they are unable to remodel every 50 years or so is beyond me. My wife complained and apologized about roughing it, I told her it was OK; I couldn’t sleep because of the thin blankets. So are we babies? Perhaps.
You can walk out the door and look out where you would expect blue skies and see a shear granite face. We noticed how much we look down, when there is so much to see looking up. The falls are a short walk away and they are awesome. So the room, I think was inspired by “Camp Granada” circa 1965. The decor is knotty pine, not so nice upholstery, thin stained carpet, two double beds, but really only room for one. There is a small refrigerator, a vintage cathode ray TV, a closet with two sliding doors, no, make that one. And the bath room, everything sits on the toilet tank. Get the picture?

We arrived late. Let me say driving in the park in the rain at night is not much fun. It is really dark. When we arrived I noticed many people walking around had flashlights. We ate at the café, the choices were a grilled to order hamburger with four people in line ahead or the chili. The chili was good. Breakfast there is OK, I would have preferred an egg McMuffin, but roughing it petite bourgeoisie style doesn’t permit that. The crowd looks like they sunk a couple of months wages at REI, well, except for some of our Japanese friends who wore pants with flowers. We walked to the base of the falls; it is another eight hours of steep uphill climbing to the top of the falls. Didn’t do that. Yosemite is spectacular and we appreciated being able to stay right there. We ate at the steakhouse, the place is very nice, and the food was above average, we ordered a bottle of wine, steak and trout.

The next day we walked to the Ahwahnee. We hung out and wrote postcards in the multi-storied sun room. We marveled at the huge hearths, it was like a medieval castle, I could envision Errol Flynn swinging from the chandeliers. We asked the concierge about restaurant reservations, he said they were advised and we would need to wear shirts with collars. We went to the bar and had a Moscow Mule, very good. When I asked about the ginger ale our waiter informed us it was made from the very best Fever-tree ginger beer (not ale).

We had a great time but were glad to get back to civilization.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodeo, California, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything in Yosemite is quite expensive. I know I am paying for the experience, so I bite the bullet and walk around the park getting lost in one version of paradise.

We booked online and paid about $210 for one night for the disabled room. We were told that if a disabled person needed the room, we would be bumped to similar. The disabled room is larger and has a king bed, private (sort of) patio and a few other amenities. We were told on check in that our room had recently been completely remodeled so we were lucky.

The room 4111 was about a block from check in and closer to the falls. The room itself was quite large with a huge bathroom. There was a big screen TV and small refrigerator and a very tiny closet next to the single sink. There was also a large chest of drawers under the TV. The furniture was made of nicely finished wood limbs, kind of rustic. The carpet was indoor/outdoor type.

There was a patio in front with a couple of plastic chairs. I have no idea on why anyone would want to sit there with the view of the parking lot.

The bed was moderately firm, little bouncy, but OK. Linens were nice. There were 5 pillows and an extra thick blanket, so sleep quality was pretty good.

Overall the room looked tired and still needed sprucing up. There were several very large picture windows, but they overlooked the parking lot. The tall window next to the bed, was made up of slats of glass that opened and closed and slats of metal that also opened and closed. We could not get the metal slats to close all the way, so we had some privacy issues. The upside was that we heard Yosemite Falls all the time.

The walls to the outside or the broken window slats let in noise to the room. So as people walked by we could hear them talking very plainly.

Shower was OK with decent pressure. The towels were just average white hotel type. The soap and shampoo was in those liquid wall dispensers and was OK.

TV worked great with maybe 30 channels.

The wireless internet was quite fast over the entire property.

One complaint. We could not seem to regulate the heat no matter where we turned the thermostat. The room was too warm unless we opened the window.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I come here for a conference every year or two. I stay at the lodge. Not much choice except for the very expensive Ahwahnee hotel. It's still like a motel, dark, and dingy. My room was clean, there was a reading lamp and a table in the room. It had a small refrigerator and a 1980's tv which I never turned on. It was way too expensive. But, and this is the thing, I walked outside onto my patio and looked right up at Yosemite Falls. And that's the whole point. You are in one of the most beautiful places on earth. That's why you pay the extra money. The staff is friendly and helpful, the food at the food court is still awful, Your car gets covered with dirt in the parking lot and there is no hose available to even wash off the windows, so carry some windex and paper towels. The room is quiet and you are in the national park, so while you would complain if this room was in Merced or Manteca, just accept and enjoy it.

Room Tip: Come in as soon as rooms are available and ask for a room with a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list