We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room, Even Better Location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room, Even Better Location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just returned from a very enjoyable 3 day stay at Yosemite Lodge and must report that everything from check-in and through the entire stay was outstanding. Our room (#4127) was one of the new "Green Rooms" and it was very nice (double-glazed windows, new furniture, nice warm colors, etc...). But better yet was the location, from one side of our room we could see Half Dome and from the other side we could see Yosemite Falls. What a way to wake up!! The only thing missing from our room was a coffee maker, which wasn't a real problem because free coffee at the Grill is included with the room. Yosemite was beautiful with some snow and the Lodge was a wonderful base for our hiking adventures. We will return again!

Room Tip: The view from Room # 4127 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    652
    467
    231
    135
See reviews for
640
735
49
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for one night. We turned up and found out we couldn't check in till 5pm but equally we were not supposed to leave our stuff in the car because of bears - not sure what we were supposed to do with it. The falls were dry so the view wasn't great but no one can predict the weather. The room itself was very nice and in keeping with our surroundings however we didn't have aircon in the room which meant we had a very sticky uncomfortable night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the beginning of February. The rooms are a bit dated, the hotel does go back quite a while, but were very comfortable. the winter rates were fine, had dinner in the main dining room, very good, drinks and heavy appetizers in the bar the next night, also very good with the fireplace going strong. The location is unbeatable, an easy walk to the falls which can also be seen from the dining room and some hotel rooms. Truly beautiful with the snow in the winter. Added bonus, very few people, yea!

Room Tip: during times of snow and ice, we took hwy 140 into the park as it follows the merced river and does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have now stayed here twice and like many reviewers were disappointed the first time but really enjoyed the second time. It is quite basic but wholly adequate. The problem is compared to the amazing surroundings it looks a bit bland but look past this and you will see its location is undeniably spectacular (open your door and look out on the 4th largest waterfall in the world), the staff are very friendly and the facilities are perfectly respectable if a bit "Scout" campish. Not a hotel to lounge around but a great hotel to get out there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowhedge, Essex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Luckily had only booked for one night at Yosemite Lodge, it is overpriced for sure. Our room was tired with poor lighting, the grills on the outside vents were broken which meant a draft that could cut your feet off in Jamuary. No denying the location is what sells the place being right opposite the Yosemite Falls. The quality of food in the food court was terrible but there are few alternative choices. If we did it again would stay in El Portal, it's only a 10 min drive to the park and there are about three motor inns there that could be booked at a far less price and I suspect they have to do better as there is more competition.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hi, This is my 2nd review of this facility and much of what I said in 2012 still holds. Here is my review which I've updated with new information from this years trip..

We've been going to the "Lodge" for many years, most recently in early February, 2013 and find it's location perfect. We pretty much always go in the winter when you can see the park instead of hoards of tourists. It's the time of year when you can hear the water falls instead of screaming children, can be alone in a meadow on the valley floor, and have a picnic area all to yourself. Our son is a tour guide who winds up leading tours that visit the park in the summer and he tells of it taking 1.5 hours just to drive from tunnel view to Yosemite Village (this is a 10 minute drive in the winter). The winter is the peacful time. Virtually no traffic, you can get pictures of meadows and features with no tourists in them and you can find plenty of parking at all the best stopping spots. However, you can't get to the high country (Tuolomne) or Glacier Point (other than by snow shoe). But the majesty of the valley is laid out before you in all it's glory. During our Mon-Thu stay in the first week of Feb, 2013 it was downright empty. Even in the lodge food court at prime time we never found a line of more than 1 or 2 people.

The Lodge is at the trail head that leads to Yosemite Falls (about 1/4 mile walk with only a small hill to walk up right at the end (about 50 ft elevation gain) - the alternate path from the Yosemeite Falls bus stop is a bit longer but not as steep and more wheel chair accessible). It's also adjacent to the famous Cooks Meadow and is a short walk through the meadow to Sentinel bridge and the picturesque chapel. Yosemite falls can be seen from many parts of the lodge campus as can Half Dome, and many other features. But you can't see the falls from most rooms. This location is about a 15 minute walk from Yosemite Village and the free valley floor shuttle bus stops in front of the lobby. The free shuttle runs about every 15 to 30 minutes (more in the summer). You cannot beat this location.

The lodge is a series of 1950's-1960's era two story "motel" style buildings. While quite impressive in the 60's, it's somewhat dated now. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are good size. They now have in room phones, cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. They are still in the process of fixing up the rooms. This year we noticed two full buildings under renovation.

To be honest, these room take a beating. They are filled virtually 365 days a year and during much of the year contain families with children who can be quite rough on the decor and the rooms show this wear and tear.

This year we wound up in a renovated room. This included: New carpet, fresh paint, removal of cieling fan (it must be stifling in the summer as there is no A/C), new art work that was quite pleasing and new lighting fixtures. Most of the work seems to have been in the bathroom area where there was new tile floor, new fiberglas tub/shower, new faucets, new shower head, new counter top by sink - all of which are great imrovements. According to their TV channel, the furniture is hand-me-down from the upscale Ahwahnee Hotel - somewhat rustic but seemed good.

HOWEVER - the mandate for the reno work seems to be "Speed over Quality". When painting they did not remove any hardware and did not mask very well or clean paint from window glass where it slopped over. The other thing is lighting. The DNC company (which runs the place) is very big on what they call "Green path" which is touted everywhere you look. While I am in accordance with this, I find it odd then that they deliberatly leave all the outside lighting on all day long. We turn off the patio light each day when we leave in the AM and find it on each day when we get back before dinner. They also have gone to all CFL lights in the room - which is good. However, they are all the slow warm up type and lower wattage than needed for the space. So, to get enough light we wind up turning on every light in the room. We also found ourselves leaving the light on in the bathroom all the time we're in the room due to the long warm up time till they come to full brightness.

But the weirdest thing of all, espeically considering all the effort they are putting into "Green", was that for some inexplicible reason they mounted the thermostat sideways which prevented it from accuratly controlling the temperature (see photos). When we moved in we set it to 67f. Came back later in the day to a room at over 95f. So after opening all the doors and windows, knocked the setting down to 55. Same thing. We finally got it to be somewhat ok after setting it to 48f. It's that lack of attention to detail that knocks my rating down from Very Good to just Good.

However, it is in the ideal portion of the park, and for the most part you should not be hanging around in your room when in a place like Yosemite.

In the winter, food is offered in a food court cafeteria, an upscale restaurant and to some extent in the Bar. The food in the food court was OK. Nothing to write home about but served the purpose. Minimal selection, but hot. We also had a dinner in the upscale Mountain good but waaaay expensive and also somewhat limited menu. We also had a breakfast in the famouse Awhahnee Hotel which is always fantasitc - but pricey. The bar has some limited food offerings which is typical bar food fare. The bar is quite nice with a big fireplace in the middle, TV's all around and big picture windows. A really nice place for after dark.

If you join the Yosemite Conservancy (I think at the $25 donation level or higher) you get 15% off various things in Yosemite. You also get a coupon book with one time disounts one of which (at least this year) is 20% off rooms at the lodge (off peak season, mid week) - this is a good deal and supports the park.

Room Tip: No elevators so choose floor accordingly. They have family suite units that may be of interest. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The room wasn't bad and it was nothing special either. But the beds were fine and I slept well with is really what counts.

Cons:

• Shower temperature was very hard to control and one morning was jumping between scalding and freezing.
• Both the soap and shampoo were provided smelled awful and the smell was very strong.
• Walkways were icy (though most were at least sanded).
• Not much sound proofing between rooms.
• No air conditioning which can be a big problem in the summer.
• The "Food Court" is not cheap and the food isn't very good.

Pros:

• You're in Yosemite
• Nice view of Yosemite Falls just outside the room.
• Free WiFi (but slow in the evening and my login expired at inconvenient times).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.