We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Bonita, CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Sadly Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I travel to Yosemite twice a year and typically stay in tent cabins at Curry Camp, White Wolf Lodge or Tuolumne Lodge (I have reviews for two of those lodgings that you can read.) However, since it was the middle of winter and temperatures were going to be down around 7 degree F, we decided to stay at Yosemite Lodge. The price was reasonable for Yosemite (remember it's winter) at $134 for a room with two beds. It would normally be a hundred dollars more in the summer. Nonetheless, the room was a real disappointment. The rooms in my building (granted there are more costly rooms in other buildings at the lodge that I'm sure are updated) reminded me of the Bates Motel--dark, dingy and uninviting. The heater didn't put out enough heat so we had to use the noisy portable heater they provide in your room to achieve some warmth. The bathroom was very small but did have shampoo and soap dispensers in the shower. There was an old fashioned television and wifi accessibility for those who need a link with Wolf Blitzer. The mattresses were not that comfortable but after a hike or two, who notices?

The lodge has a cafeteria that we frequent when we're in the park because of its convenience and the prices aren't as bad as other places in the park. However, the place gets very busy and the ambiance is lacking. But if you need a quick and reasonable place to grab a meal or if you have a tired and cranky family nipping at your ankles and clammoring for food, this is a good place to eat in the park. There is a more upscale restaurant at the lodge, but I have not eaten there. We like to go for lunch at the Ahwahnee because it's cheaper than dinner there and you don't have to follow a dress code at lunch. There is also a sports bar with numerous flat screen televisions for the sports obsessed. Your rabid fan can find out if his/her team is bound for the Super Bowl. Drinks are not cheap, but sometimes, after a twelve mile hike and blackening toenails, you just need to plunk down the bucks and get some alcohol in your system. It's a nice place to relax at the end of the day with its round fireplace in the middle of the bar. A few doors down is a small grocery/souvenir store where you can indulge your chocolate or carb fix. The best thing about the lodge was the Hispanic man who welcomed us and checked us in. He was delightful.

The lodge is located very close to Yosemite falls, making it a nice walk in the early morning when the light first hits it. In summary, I would expect more from a place that's charging (in the summer) over $200 a night to stay. If it weren't for the fact that it was winter, I would choose a tent cabin in Curry Camp or my favorite, a tent cabin up in White Wolf or Tuolumne Lodge. The tent cabins at least give you the feeling of being out in the wilderness and not waiting for Norman Bates to show up with a knife.

If this has been helpful, please hit the appropriate button.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    692
    480
    234
    136
See reviews for
663
783
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great Location in Yosemite Valley. Request room far away from parking lot. Invest in hauling your luggage great distances to avoid having to listen to those damn car alarm honks that you will hear 24 hours a day. The $150/night rate included basic rate, tax, mandatory $1.00 donation, and mandatory use tax by county (They will get you coming and they will get you going). As long as you understand you are paying for being in Yosemite Valley, you will not fret over the cost. Must see Yosemite in Winter-So Beautiful.
1. In winter, the Ranger who extorts your $20 entrance fee will ask if "you have chains in the car?". ("Chains required" signs are in place)
2. For budgeting, double the prices you are use to and you will be pretty accurate for food, drink, and groceries/souvenirs.
3. You will LOVE staying here, eating here, and hiking here.

Room Tip: Anything far away from those damn car alarms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The lodge rooms are very dated. Felt like we were roughing it a bit. We were here for hiking, so didn't mind it too much. Also, you are at Yosemite so you should be outside your room more than inside it. For a place to sleep, this was perfect. If looking to spend more than sleeping in room, you may be disappointed.

The food was pretty decent in the cafeteria. The bar that's at the lodge was a nice place to chill at night. They had a fire pit inside and drinks were good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastal Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The check-in process is very slow even though we were checking in around noon mid-week in mid January! we waited in line for about 30 minutes until the single desk clerk on duty could register us. We then discovered that our reservation was incorrectly entered in their computer. this took another half hour of sitting in the lobby. when we arrived at last at our room, we found an ant colony residing in the bathroom along with a t- shirt leftover from a former resident.The path to the room was icy and poorly lit at night when we returned from dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Expectations ! I thought this was going to be a hotel but it was just a basic lodge, which is a short walk outside away from the Reception area.
To be fair it is right in the Yosemite valley where construction of grand hotels would not be appropriate. However, for the price it is highly over-rated. But I guess demand = price. It is far better than driving the long distance into the town and back to see the national park, or camping if you like a hot shower. The bed was comfortable enough but basic and the front of the heater was covered with dust. Not a good sign of housekeeping. Lighting was not good (except in the bathroom). Hard to see when you come into the room from outside unless you leave a light on which was not near the door.
Whilst no food is allowed in the rooms because of bears, a basic kettle would have been good to at least make a cup of tea. The price of breakfast is included but if you go past the $13 mark you have to pay for an extra cuppa, etc.
No room service of course... so there are a few choices.
The Food Court is again very basic and OK if you are on a budget, but they could do with some hygiene instruction as far as the cooking goes. For instance, clean aprons on the cooks. They do serve a lot of people and work hard so I guess they don't have time to change. But it does tend to put one off the food. sorry guys! Hard to get anything very healthy though.
However, there is a very good restaurant not far away which has superb service and
good healthy food. Highly recommended.
But this place is definitely worth a trip, even if you are a princess like me. There is always the other "hotel" but I did not see what it is like.
Yosemite has stunning views of the mountains and cliffs and wonderful walks amidst the trees which range from pines to other evergreens and deciduous trees. Glorious in fall.
The shuttle bus also is a must to get around and scope the place before choosing a walk, especially if on limited time. The drivers are just wonderful and very helpful.
Driving to Yosemite was not a problem, although chains are recommended in case of snow on the ground. Some roads may be closed if this is the case. Advisable to check it out on their website.

Room Tip: Perhaps try the other hotel - Ahwanee (spelling)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked the hotel online and the full payment was taken. However upon check-out we were told to pay a few dollars more. (not much money but seems odd) So i was asking the reason for it, was told ohh sometimes its more sometimes its less. (What?! -- but why?! -- was it other tax we were not aware of or something else?) Anyway, we ended up pay the extra in cash as i did not want my card to be charged again as i did not want to attract another lot of international transaction fee.
Other than that incident, our stay was pretty good. Yosemite was absolutely beautiful, and this lodge was in a great location, walking distance to lots tracks, had a restaurant and a cafe with descent food. The room was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Lodge many times. It's not fancy, but comfortable, reasonably priced, and with friendly service. We come in Winter. Like an earlier poster said, we prefer the Azalea building, but haven't always gotten it. It is the most conveniently located and updated. Second floor rooms are best. Birch has thin walls but is also close to the lobby and restaurants. The Mountain Room restaurant is good and reasonably priced. Service can be slow, and it's annoying that they don't take reservations for parties of fewer than 8. Why? The food court is fine for breakfast, but I don't like the atmosphere. Bright lights and noisy families. The Mountain Lounge is cozy for a snack and drinks. I love the free coffee. I love the free bus to Badger Pass in winter. Mostly, I love the location and the quietude of Yosemite in Winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.