We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The lodge rooms are very dated. Felt like we were roughing it a bit. We were here for hiking, so didn't mind it too much. Also, you are at Yosemite so you should be outside your room more than inside it. For a place to sleep, this was perfect. If looking to spend more than sleeping in room, you may be disappointed.

The food was pretty decent in the cafeteria. The bar that's at the lodge was a nice place to chill at night. They had a fire pit inside and drinks were good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    609
    453
    228
    135
See reviews for
595
705
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coastal Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The check-in process is very slow even though we were checking in around noon mid-week in mid January! we waited in line for about 30 minutes until the single desk clerk on duty could register us. We then discovered that our reservation was incorrectly entered in their computer. this took another half hour of sitting in the lobby. when we arrived at last at our room, we found an ant colony residing in the bathroom along with a t- shirt leftover from a former resident.The path to the room was icy and poorly lit at night when we returned from dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Expectations ! I thought this was going to be a hotel but it was just a basic lodge, which is a short walk outside away from the Reception area.
To be fair it is right in the Yosemite valley where construction of grand hotels would not be appropriate. However, for the price it is highly over-rated. But I guess demand = price. It is far better than driving the long distance into the town and back to see the national park, or camping if you like a hot shower. The bed was comfortable enough but basic and the front of the heater was covered with dust. Not a good sign of housekeeping. Lighting was not good (except in the bathroom). Hard to see when you come into the room from outside unless you leave a light on which was not near the door.
Whilst no food is allowed in the rooms because of bears, a basic kettle would have been good to at least make a cup of tea. The price of breakfast is included but if you go past the $13 mark you have to pay for an extra cuppa, etc.
No room service of course... so there are a few choices.
The Food Court is again very basic and OK if you are on a budget, but they could do with some hygiene instruction as far as the cooking goes. For instance, clean aprons on the cooks. They do serve a lot of people and work hard so I guess they don't have time to change. But it does tend to put one off the food. sorry guys! Hard to get anything very healthy though.
However, there is a very good restaurant not far away which has superb service and
good healthy food. Highly recommended.
But this place is definitely worth a trip, even if you are a princess like me. There is always the other "hotel" but I did not see what it is like.
Yosemite has stunning views of the mountains and cliffs and wonderful walks amidst the trees which range from pines to other evergreens and deciduous trees. Glorious in fall.
The shuttle bus also is a must to get around and scope the place before choosing a walk, especially if on limited time. The drivers are just wonderful and very helpful.
Driving to Yosemite was not a problem, although chains are recommended in case of snow on the ground. Some roads may be closed if this is the case. Advisable to check it out on their website.

Room Tip: Perhaps try the other hotel - Ahwanee (spelling)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked the hotel online and the full payment was taken. However upon check-out we were told to pay a few dollars more. (not much money but seems odd) So i was asking the reason for it, was told ohh sometimes its more sometimes its less. (What?! -- but why?! -- was it other tax we were not aware of or something else?) Anyway, we ended up pay the extra in cash as i did not want my card to be charged again as i did not want to attract another lot of international transaction fee.
Other than that incident, our stay was pretty good. Yosemite was absolutely beautiful, and this lodge was in a great location, walking distance to lots tracks, had a restaurant and a cafe with descent food. The room was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Lodge many times. It's not fancy, but comfortable, reasonably priced, and with friendly service. We come in Winter. Like an earlier poster said, we prefer the Azalea building, but haven't always gotten it. It is the most conveniently located and updated. Second floor rooms are best. Birch has thin walls but is also close to the lobby and restaurants. The Mountain Room restaurant is good and reasonably priced. Service can be slow, and it's annoying that they don't take reservations for parties of fewer than 8. Why? The food court is fine for breakfast, but I don't like the atmosphere. Bright lights and noisy families. The Mountain Lounge is cozy for a snack and drinks. I love the free coffee. I love the free bus to Badger Pass in winter. Mostly, I love the location and the quietude of Yosemite in Winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls. Travelled with very dear friends. The Lodge is situated at the base of two waterfalls. Gorgeous views of El Captain peak (even on a rainy cloudy day!) The room was spacious, with high ceilings and big window and little balcony. Room a bit worn and in need of a bit of re-model. King bed quite good. Cafeteria type food court restaurant across the way. Decent food/reasonable prices. Four Free coupons for coffee, teas or cocoa given to each couple at check in. Excellent strong coffee (Peet's). We walked to the very nice Historic Ahwanee Lodge- too pricy for us to stay at. But we were able to have happy hour beers/wine in the lounge in front of the massive fireplace and had an excellent Sunday Brunch in their magnificent restaurant- $25 + p.p. but well worth it.. amazing food and choices and the waiter did not rush us. Did not need lunch that day. Because of the rain, my friend and I booked massages in our rooms with a professional masseuse who has been travelling to the Lodge for years- came with their own massage table- very professional and very well worth it. We split an hour and a half massage. The guys hiked in the rain.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Room was fine- location was the biggest plus. Being in the park made it easier to explore and do our own thing.

Unfortunately the level of Hotel service was dependant on who was at the front desk. Some were great, others not so. That said we'd still come back & stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.