We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for Yosemite visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Convenient location for Yosemite visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The lodge is right across the street from Yosemite Falls and a short walk to the meadow and Swinging Bridge picnic area with access to the Merced River/Beach and great views of the falls and Half Dome.

Just went back for the 3rd time and was surprised at some of the amenities in the Cottonwood units. Flat screen TVs. ipad/ipod dociking stations, heat lamps in the bathrooms, patio (there's only one floor at Cottonwood so no balcony) with peeks of Yosemite Falls, free coffee/tea at the restaurant. The swimming pool, ice cream store and bike rentals were closed for the winter.

The rooms are not luxurious and would really be a nice motel. The location is what makes it special. It's the only "motel" type property in the park and the valley shuttle bus stops right in front.

Service was friendly and they have a kids "check-in" counter which younger kids love. There are 3 restaurants (a upscale mountain room, a cafeteria style option and a bar/grill option with a fireplace that is very inviting). Food prices were reasonable for what you get.

The main drawback is no firepits for smores at night. You have to go to Housekeeping Camp to do that or camp. If they put a fire-pit in, that would bump my rating up to 5 stars!

Room Tip: Cottonwood is only one floor so you won't have anyone above you yet don't have to mess with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    604
    452
    226
    135
See reviews for
591
704
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It's in the park. That means you go to sleep to the sound of Yosemite Falls, which is outside your window. You wake up and walk 50 feet to breakfast. In the evenings, after a day of hiking or touring, you can choose from the cafeteria, the restaurant or the great lodge bar. We tried them all and loved them each for different reasons. The restaurant had good American bistro fare. The cafeteria was great for breakfast and lunch and snacks, but the bar had the best food! Great chili and salads that were perfect after a long day's hike.

The hotel itself is a national park hotel, so you're not looking for the Ritz. But many of the rooms, including ours, have been recently renovated and have a nice, new shower and comfortable beds. I love the raw wood furniture and the little deck as well.

We might stay somewhere else for a little more luxury - but for convenience, location and price, this is an unbeatable deal. Book early (like months in advance).

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I went back and forth whether to rate the lodge "poor" or "average" but finally decided on the latter just due to location. Check in was at 5 (kind of late) but that went off without a hitch. However, when I went to park, there was not a space to be found anywhere close to our room. I ended up having to double park while we unloaded, and then find a space several parking lots away (only about a 10 minute walk, so wasn't terrible, but it was raining at the time). As described elsewhere, the rooms are simple and plain, our met our needs for the night, nothing more. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food court was packed for dinner, there was about a 20 minute wait for the grill, fortunately there were other options that only had about a 5 minute wait. We considered the restaurant, but it was far over our budget so we passed. Breakfast at the food court was fine with much shorter lines.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from the parking areas and toward the meadows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Lodge is spread out - I thought it would be a normal hotel with multiple levels. It's just 2 story building - it was good that we got a room on the upper level - could leave the door open without fear of mice or other animals... Make sure you don't get a room too far off the main facility (dining halls...etc.).

Our room had a nice view of the Yosemite Falls. That was pretty much the only thing going on for the room. Otherwise it was dirty. Don't expect any luxuries here - think bare essentials (bed & bath).

Location -
Decent enough - there is a shuttle service stop right in front of the lobby. It's free and runs in a loop - every 15-20mins. Last shuttle is at 10pm. We were 10minutes walking distance from the Yosemite Falls and the valley floor - it was good.

We had the breakfast plan.
Old staff, bad breakfast food, slow people... Every morning it took about an hour to grab a bite to eat. You just cannot rush these people. And the food options for breakfast range between bad to questionable.

Dinner on the hand was unexpectedly good - it was the best meal we had in fact!
It was even better than Ahwahnee hotel dinner we had which I had booked 2 months in advance, and was only half the price. If anything, I would say splurge on the dinner here.

Customer service -
Forget about it. Better have the whole trip planned out - NO ONE here will help you figure anything out. I think it's a Yosemite thing - people are generally rude, clueless, uncaring. There is a tourist help desk, but in 3 attempts we made to get their help - we left frustrated and angry.
This covers everyone from reception to waiters...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the parking lot & road, and with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Rooms are simple and clean, and ours had a view of Half Dome out the window. The cost is reasonable considering location. Deer eating out the door was a treat. Can hike to Yosemite Falls in 10 minutes. Great bus service from lodge to see whole valley.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed overnight because I really wanted to stay in the park, my advice is dont stay here!! The views and walks are amazing but the experience at this hotel left me shuddering.
The room when we arrived had not been entered in a while judging by the dust layers everywhere.... we noticed 2 open grates either side of the room..covered with chicken wire and a wooden cover - let so much of the heat out!! and why are they there??/ considering you have to take everything out of your cars so not to attract bears - this gives them an opening to smell all that you have in the room! and we froze!! the heater barely worked and the covers of the bed were worn and musty.
The fridge turns iteself off after a number of hours?? what the??
The food at the canteen type place was greasy and unappetizing...and we probably should have gotten something from the supermarket onsite.

The worst thing was we had a rat in our room that probably got in and out from those useless side vent things and we had no hot wate, we couldnt leave fast enough in the morning....The view (which is fabulous) is just not worth this sort of stay!
Would NOT recommend at all...you are obviously paying for the view and not the amenties - not worth it

Room Tip: dont go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our second Thanksgiving weekend at the Lodge. The Lodge rooms typically sell out for Thanksgiving weekend exactly a year and a day in advance (within a few minutes of the reservation window opening.) You can't beat the convenient location in Yosemite Valley and the yummy hot chocolate at the Food Court. The front desk staff is helpful and courteous. Unfortunately, some of the rooms are poorly lit and it is nearly impossible to keep the carpets clean despite the attentive efforts of the cleaning staff. My advice is to spend as much time out of the room (and enjoying the park) as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.