We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's in the park and a lot cheaper than the Ahwanee...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's in the park and a lot cheaper than the Ahwanee...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I went back and forth whether to rate the lodge "poor" or "average" but finally decided on the latter just due to location. Check in was at 5 (kind of late) but that went off without a hitch. However, when I went to park, there was not a space to be found anywhere close to our room. I ended up having to double park while we unloaded, and then find a space several parking lots away (only about a 10 minute walk, so wasn't terrible, but it was raining at the time). As described elsewhere, the rooms are simple and plain, our met our needs for the night, nothing more. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food court was packed for dinner, there was about a 20 minute wait for the grill, fortunately there were other options that only had about a 5 minute wait. We considered the restaurant, but it was far over our budget so we passed. Breakfast at the food court was fine with much shorter lines.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from the parking areas and toward the meadows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    654
    468
    232
    135
See reviews for
644
737
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Lodge is spread out - I thought it would be a normal hotel with multiple levels. It's just 2 story building - it was good that we got a room on the upper level - could leave the door open without fear of mice or other animals... Make sure you don't get a room too far off the main facility (dining halls...etc.).

Our room had a nice view of the Yosemite Falls. That was pretty much the only thing going on for the room. Otherwise it was dirty. Don't expect any luxuries here - think bare essentials (bed & bath).

Location -
Decent enough - there is a shuttle service stop right in front of the lobby. It's free and runs in a loop - every 15-20mins. Last shuttle is at 10pm. We were 10minutes walking distance from the Yosemite Falls and the valley floor - it was good.

We had the breakfast plan.
Old staff, bad breakfast food, slow people... Every morning it took about an hour to grab a bite to eat. You just cannot rush these people. And the food options for breakfast range between bad to questionable.

Dinner on the hand was unexpectedly good - it was the best meal we had in fact!
It was even better than Ahwahnee hotel dinner we had which I had booked 2 months in advance, and was only half the price. If anything, I would say splurge on the dinner here.

Customer service -
Forget about it. Better have the whole trip planned out - NO ONE here will help you figure anything out. I think it's a Yosemite thing - people are generally rude, clueless, uncaring. There is a tourist help desk, but in 3 attempts we made to get their help - we left frustrated and angry.
This covers everyone from reception to waiters...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the parking lot & road, and with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Rooms are simple and clean, and ours had a view of Half Dome out the window. The cost is reasonable considering location. Deer eating out the door was a treat. Can hike to Yosemite Falls in 10 minutes. Great bus service from lodge to see whole valley.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed overnight because I really wanted to stay in the park, my advice is dont stay here!! The views and walks are amazing but the experience at this hotel left me shuddering.
The room when we arrived had not been entered in a while judging by the dust layers everywhere.... we noticed 2 open grates either side of the room..covered with chicken wire and a wooden cover - let so much of the heat out!! and why are they there??/ considering you have to take everything out of your cars so not to attract bears - this gives them an opening to smell all that you have in the room! and we froze!! the heater barely worked and the covers of the bed were worn and musty.
The fridge turns iteself off after a number of hours?? what the??
The food at the canteen type place was greasy and unappetizing...and we probably should have gotten something from the supermarket onsite.

The worst thing was we had a rat in our room that probably got in and out from those useless side vent things and we had no hot wate, we couldnt leave fast enough in the morning....The view (which is fabulous) is just not worth this sort of stay!
Would NOT recommend at all...you are obviously paying for the view and not the amenties - not worth it

Room Tip: dont go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our second Thanksgiving weekend at the Lodge. The Lodge rooms typically sell out for Thanksgiving weekend exactly a year and a day in advance (within a few minutes of the reservation window opening.) You can't beat the convenient location in Yosemite Valley and the yummy hot chocolate at the Food Court. The front desk staff is helpful and courteous. Unfortunately, some of the rooms are poorly lit and it is nearly impossible to keep the carpets clean despite the attentive efforts of the cleaning staff. My advice is to spend as much time out of the room (and enjoying the park) as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We came here as part of a 3 week honeymoon travelling around California. We chose the Lodge because of location but also because we have enjoyed staying in luxury lodges elsewhere.

The room was extremely poor, two 3/4 size beds which weren't really big enough to share. No actual light fittings just some dim bedside lights and a general very dated decor. For the price we were really disappointed; if we had stayed in a cheap motel I'd have no issues but this place isn't cheap. Carpet was dirty and we couldn't wait to get out the room in the morning. What could have been perfect turned out to be very disappointing

The food canteen resembled a smelly, messy school canteen. The bar was nice enough although too busy to get a seat and the restaurant continued the overpriced theme. A very random choice on the menu, all very expensive for what they were. If not for a nice bottle of red we would have complained.

Great location but if you are going to spend money go to the Ahwahnee!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The lodge rooms (green classification) are worth the extra cost. It was large with semi-cabin style furniture. The large picture window leading to the balcony or patio was very nice. You keep it open all day to see the trees and valley walls.

The front desk staff was very nice in accommodating the extra requests we made on our reservation for a second floor quiet room.

Our room was far away from the main lodge, so there is a lot of walking involved. We didn’t mind since that was why we were here, plus it gets you out of the hustle of tour buses and shuttle vans.

The hotel location is ideal as it is in the Yosemite Valley with no need to use the car. The other hotels are about 40 minutes away.

Buses can take you most everywhere, but with that comes a caveat: In the winter the number of buses in service is very small. The wait time is posted to be 15 minutes in the day and 25 at night. In two days we experienced 30 minute waits during the day and 45 at night.

We didn’t notice any more noise from the other rooms than any other hotel.

The cleaning crew could be better as I found several skittles in the carpet. Overall though the room was clean and the beds comfortable.

The only complaint is most of the ice machines were broken, making us walk the entire length of the resort to find the one working machine. It was like a joke on guests as each machine had a note pointing to another machine that would be broken and had a note pointing somewhere else.

You’ll need a flashlight as it is a big resort and there are several areas where there is no lighting.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a far better view. Get as far away from the main lodge as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.