We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crap crap crap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“crap crap crap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed overnight because I really wanted to stay in the park, my advice is dont stay here!! The views and walks are amazing but the experience at this hotel left me shuddering.
The room when we arrived had not been entered in a while judging by the dust layers everywhere.... we noticed 2 open grates either side of the room..covered with chicken wire and a wooden cover - let so much of the heat out!! and why are they there??/ considering you have to take everything out of your cars so not to attract bears - this gives them an opening to smell all that you have in the room! and we froze!! the heater barely worked and the covers of the bed were worn and musty.
The fridge turns iteself off after a number of hours?? what the??
The food at the canteen type place was greasy and unappetizing...and we probably should have gotten something from the supermarket onsite.

The worst thing was we had a rat in our room that probably got in and out from those useless side vent things and we had no hot wate, we couldnt leave fast enough in the morning....The view (which is fabulous) is just not worth this sort of stay!
Would NOT recommend at all...you are obviously paying for the view and not the amenties - not worth it

Room Tip: dont go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    604
    452
    226
    135
See reviews for
591
704
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our second Thanksgiving weekend at the Lodge. The Lodge rooms typically sell out for Thanksgiving weekend exactly a year and a day in advance (within a few minutes of the reservation window opening.) You can't beat the convenient location in Yosemite Valley and the yummy hot chocolate at the Food Court. The front desk staff is helpful and courteous. Unfortunately, some of the rooms are poorly lit and it is nearly impossible to keep the carpets clean despite the attentive efforts of the cleaning staff. My advice is to spend as much time out of the room (and enjoying the park) as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We came here as part of a 3 week honeymoon travelling around California. We chose the Lodge because of location but also because we have enjoyed staying in luxury lodges elsewhere.

The room was extremely poor, two 3/4 size beds which weren't really big enough to share. No actual light fittings just some dim bedside lights and a general very dated decor. For the price we were really disappointed; if we had stayed in a cheap motel I'd have no issues but this place isn't cheap. Carpet was dirty and we couldn't wait to get out the room in the morning. What could have been perfect turned out to be very disappointing

The food canteen resembled a smelly, messy school canteen. The bar was nice enough although too busy to get a seat and the restaurant continued the overpriced theme. A very random choice on the menu, all very expensive for what they were. If not for a nice bottle of red we would have complained.

Great location but if you are going to spend money go to the Ahwahnee!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The lodge rooms (green classification) are worth the extra cost. It was large with semi-cabin style furniture. The large picture window leading to the balcony or patio was very nice. You keep it open all day to see the trees and valley walls.

The front desk staff was very nice in accommodating the extra requests we made on our reservation for a second floor quiet room.

Our room was far away from the main lodge, so there is a lot of walking involved. We didn’t mind since that was why we were here, plus it gets you out of the hustle of tour buses and shuttle vans.

The hotel location is ideal as it is in the Yosemite Valley with no need to use the car. The other hotels are about 40 minutes away.

Buses can take you most everywhere, but with that comes a caveat: In the winter the number of buses in service is very small. The wait time is posted to be 15 minutes in the day and 25 at night. In two days we experienced 30 minute waits during the day and 45 at night.

We didn’t notice any more noise from the other rooms than any other hotel.

The cleaning crew could be better as I found several skittles in the carpet. Overall though the room was clean and the beds comfortable.

The only complaint is most of the ice machines were broken, making us walk the entire length of the resort to find the one working machine. It was like a joke on guests as each machine had a note pointing to another machine that would be broken and had a note pointing somewhere else.

You’ll need a flashlight as it is a big resort and there are several areas where there is no lighting.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a far better view. Get as far away from the main lodge as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I hadn't been to Yosemite Valley in about 5 years, although we used to visit frequently and always found the accommodations and food satisfying and reasonably priced. But I was very disappointed this visit. Our room was shabby in decor and furnishings -- not modest-accommodation, wilderness-cabiny shabby, but unkempt as though the concessionaire is unwilling to spend money on refurbishing. The chrome on the faucet was completely worn through in places. That wouldn't annoy me so much if I were paying $79.95/night, but the Lodge is not inexpensive. At $145+/night I expect something at least as spiffy as a Motel 6. Worse, the room was not even clean: carpet edges along the walls and in corners were actually grimy. The tiny refrigerator, which turned out to be a "cooler" rather than a proper refrigerator, did not work; it took four phone calls, and three visits by service staff who assured us that the box was working, when it did NOT work, before we finally got a new box. Finally, food at the Food Court was terrible -- pricey, lukewarm and tasteless as though made from the cheapest possible ingredients. We did have very good dinners at the Mountain House restaurant for $30. I have always loved the convenience of staying right in the valley, but given this experience I will probably choose something outside the park next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had two adjoining rooms in the newly renovated Birch Building. They were huge! My only comment has the are dark and could do with a centre of the room light. Bathroom and powerful shower were fabulous. Would return in a heartbeat! Well done to Mandy and her team at checkin.

Room Tip: We thought birch was a great building. Flat on ground so no upstairs noise to deAl with. And newly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Yosemite Lodge is a value during the Fall and Winter months. The Lodge's rooms are very spacious and up-to-date. Second floor rooms have decks that allow you to have a great vantage point to possibly see wildlife early in the morning, before the crack of dawn. Later in the day you will be able to see the evening stars.

The Food Court, restaurant and lounge are within the facility. The food is a little pricey and okay. Mini fridges is all rooms. A grocery store and laundry on site.

Park your car and enjoy the free shuttle that stops by every 20 minutes to take you to attractions around the Valley. If you have a few hours, either take the Yosemite Valley bus tour (2 hours) from the Lodge.

Great way to have a relaxing trip and enjoy Nature's beauty.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.