We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, overpriced, lousy food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shabby, overpriced, lousy food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I hadn't been to Yosemite Valley in about 5 years, although we used to visit frequently and always found the accommodations and food satisfying and reasonably priced. But I was very disappointed this visit. Our room was shabby in decor and furnishings -- not modest-accommodation, wilderness-cabiny shabby, but unkempt as though the concessionaire is unwilling to spend money on refurbishing. The chrome on the faucet was completely worn through in places. That wouldn't annoy me so much if I were paying $79.95/night, but the Lodge is not inexpensive. At $145+/night I expect something at least as spiffy as a Motel 6. Worse, the room was not even clean: carpet edges along the walls and in corners were actually grimy. The tiny refrigerator, which turned out to be a "cooler" rather than a proper refrigerator, did not work; it took four phone calls, and three visits by service staff who assured us that the box was working, when it did NOT work, before we finally got a new box. Finally, food at the Food Court was terrible -- pricey, lukewarm and tasteless as though made from the cheapest possible ingredients. We did have very good dinners at the Mountain House restaurant for $30. I have always loved the convenience of staying right in the valley, but given this experience I will probably choose something outside the park next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    604
    451
    226
    135
See reviews for
585
703
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had two adjoining rooms in the newly renovated Birch Building. They were huge! My only comment has the are dark and could do with a centre of the room light. Bathroom and powerful shower were fabulous. Would return in a heartbeat! Well done to Mandy and her team at checkin.

Room Tip: We thought birch was a great building. Flat on ground so no upstairs noise to deAl with. And newly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Yosemite Lodge is a value during the Fall and Winter months. The Lodge's rooms are very spacious and up-to-date. Second floor rooms have decks that allow you to have a great vantage point to possibly see wildlife early in the morning, before the crack of dawn. Later in the day you will be able to see the evening stars.

The Food Court, restaurant and lounge are within the facility. The food is a little pricey and okay. Mini fridges is all rooms. A grocery store and laundry on site.

Park your car and enjoy the free shuttle that stops by every 20 minutes to take you to attractions around the Valley. If you have a few hours, either take the Yosemite Valley bus tour (2 hours) from the Lodge.

Great way to have a relaxing trip and enjoy Nature's beauty.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Yes, the Lodge is expensive. But the location was so perfect, the room surprisingly clean, and the bed so very comfortable, that I would stay here again! The staff was also very helpful and polite. And you can't beat the setting!

Room Tip: Book far in advance. But if you don't, do not give up. We got in with a last minute cancellati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,az
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My sister and I spent 3 nights in early November in the newly renovated room 4404 in the Cottonwood building at the Lodge at the Falls. The receptionist at the front desk went out of way to provide a renovated room since we were not initially assigned to one. Actually she said it was partially renovated. Cottonwood is a one story building with probably 8 or 10 rooms . It is somewhat close to the street but there was no problem with noise. I liked the location since it was close to the central dining and reception area and close to the exit out of the lodging complex. The room was very large, 2 queen sized comfortable beds , table and chairs, fridge, good shower flat screen TV- well it was exactly what we needed ! I wouldn't stay anywhere else because of the location, location location AND the amenities of the room. check out my pics ! We can't wait to return in the spring to check out the waterfalls

Room Tip: Fall is a wonderful time to visit - the foliage was amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

One look at our room showed that it was an older decor, but it was clean and spacious (for two people). Since this was our first time in the park, we didn't know what to expect. The matress needs to be replaced, but other than that, no complaints. We visited in October, with sunset about 7:30, so we spent more time in the room than we would have in summer. The front desk people were very patient and helpful, even with long lines of bus tourists. In the food court some of the staff treated us like a part on an assembly line, but most of them were friendly and courteous. Overall, our experience at the Lodge gets a B+ and we'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel was in need of a major make over, the rooms are very dark, the decor is extremely dated and the beds too soft. I visited Yosemite 20 years ago and the hotel appears as if it has not had any investment in that time. On the positive side it was clean and warm (the nights were a little chilli). Catering facilities were mixed, the main canteen at the hotel was average to poor; the bar food was very good as was the service. The other hotel staff attitudes are mixed from polite and helpful to surly and rude; the later being demonstrated by staff at the visitors information desk. Considering the price was representative of a four or five star hotel, but in reality it is only a two or three star, the value was very poor.

The national park itself is beautiful, with various trails some suitable to to the novice ranging to some that will challenge the more experienced hiker. If your in to rock climbing you will be spoilt for choice. Due to the time of year we were able to visit there was not a lot of water about, with the some of the streams and the falls being dry,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.