We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall in Yosemite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fall in Yosemite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

OK, this is a pretty standard place. No frills in the rooms, but who stays in? TV pretty limited to family type channels & room Wifi iffy. But the location is the best for in-valley lodging. We had accessible room that was well set up and easy to maneuver the mobility scooter. Don't give up if told no accessible rooms available by reservations. Check website often as room availability changes and call to change rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a diagram of the buildings and request views of falls or room near river. Be prepared for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    669
    473
    233
    135
See reviews for
656
757
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

July trip with the kid and his friend. Just wonderful place, as you might imagine. Half Dome in early morning light is not to be missed.

The Lodge is a good and reasonable place to stay BUT THE ROOM QUALITY VARIES WILDLY! Be careful. Ask questions. If you can, don't just take the room they propose to assign you. the rooms are all in separate long, two story buildings. Some have been recently refurbished, some are quite old and look it. The ones we stayed in this last time were brand new, just off the approach road with parking lot on one side and lotsa trees on the other. Two Story, but only 4 or five units. Get one of the upper floor units. High ceilings, impressive beds and bathroom, nice patio, and, unlike any other units...TV (the Olympics were on). None of the Lodge units have air...and it DOES get hot in the valley. But these new rooms were very pleasant, roomy and airy.

By the way...if you are there in summer, the Lodge swimming pool is gigantic. The cafeteria is always open and good food.

The large formal dining room in the same Lodge complex was just beautiful with wonderful food. It's easy to miss it...we did..the last three times we were there...it's full nice restaurant prices, but worth it...with very high ceiling and tall glass windows on the trees. Worth the price. Of course, if you are going to spend money for a nice dinner, and limit that to one dinner...the Ahwanee Dining Room is not to be missed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited Yosemite in October 2012 for my brother-in-law's wedding at the park and we stayed at the Lodge since the Awahnee was way more $$$. The Lodge is expensive too (it seems everything in CA is) but it was nice at least. I've stayed in nicer places for less money. The room was recently changed to "green" for the environment. The thing I didn't like is the energy efficient lighting. With all of the lights turned on in our room, you still couldn't read or do hardly anything in the room that needed light! I had to put my makeup on outside on the deck because the lighting was so horrible! If you're staying in Yosemite, I would choose this place because of price over the rest of the places available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in! This place is a complete dump. I would not even walk on the carpet barefoot. All the linens smelled stale and unwashed and we really didn't even want to use them but had no choice. However, the bed was actually comfortable. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbors as if they were in your room. Luckily, I had earplugs. At a price of $244.00 a night, it was only worth maybe $40.00 a night. What you pay for is the location, which was right in the valley. These people should be ashamed to charge what they are charging for these rooms. The may have been nice 40 years ago but not now.
On the other hand, the Grand Tour that we took was wonderful! Our tour guide was an absolute wealth of information about Yosemite and John Muir. I guess he made up for the horrible accommodations. If you plan to go to Yosemite, you need to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. They won't let you choose one of their newly updated "green"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have used trip advisor to help us plan several holidays with great success. Reading several reviews of each hotel allows us to get a good feel for how we would like a hotel and surrounding area. This choice however, proved more difficult as there were so many strongly diverging views about the lodge. I shall try to give a clear account of what to expect.
Firstly this lodge is a three star, despite the rate. It is important to understand that there is a premium for staying in the Yosemite valley regardless of the accommodation. All rates inside Yosemite are elevated (pardon the pun) because of market demand and the cost of operating and supplying services in such a remote location. The rate for the lodge falls between camping in the village and the five star lodge down the road. It seems steep until you look around and put it into perspective.
The room was clean, with rustic appointments, a comfortable bed and a view from the window and balcony that was outstanding. I have attached pictures which should speak for themselves.
We preferred to to purchase fruit, juice, granola and yoghurt from the store in the village and eat breakfast in the room, enjoying the view and not having to go out 1st thing. We made sandwiches which we packed for lunch each day (we stayed four nights) and ate at the lodge food court in the evenings. The food there was pretty good in spite of the cafeteria atmosphere.
My suggestions for improvement - coffee maker and microwave in the rooms would be good. It is understood that the rooms are directly accessed from outdoors (think motel) and people have dirty footwear from being in the park - but more aggressive cleaning of the carpets and stain removal would leave a much better impression.
The verdict - a clean place to stay with access to everything required for an excellent stay in the middle of one of the most significant natural wonders of the world. Would we do it again? YES!, in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms seem best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Beautiful views. Kids enjoyed seeing deers up close and right outside our deck. Rooms are very outdated. Would be awesome if they would modernize the rooms. Cafeteria food was so so but convenient. Views are worth the stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was expecting the rooms to be dated having read the reviews of this place. What I was not expecting was the lack of parking, and lack of outside lighting. We arrived in the dark (not particularly late as it was October), and had to wait some time to check in. We were told where the nearest parking to our building (Azalea) was. This was tiny and completely full. We then set off on an adventure into the pitch black to find a spot. What appeared to be parking spaces turned out to be bus stops on several occasions - the signs were almost impossible to see in the dark - we could easily have ended up in trouble the next day. We finally found a space.

Hot food is not served in any of their restaurants after 9pm so we went to eat. TAKE A TORCH!! The pathways and signs are not lit so if you do not know your way around you will quickly become lost, as the place is very big.

We then had to drag our stuff from the car to the building which was hard to find. We decided just to take what we needed for our one night stay as the walk from the car was so long, of course we also had to take all of our toilteries due to the bear risk. There really is a parking issue here. Lots of people were arriving at the same time as us as could not find parking, one family had been looking for 20 minutes.

The room was large, dated, had a patio and small TV. We were not bothered about this as I was not expecting 5* rooms.

We woke up in the morning to the beautiful granite walls of the Valley. What a location.
Despite the problems I would still suggest that if you can visit Yosemite you should, and if you can stay in the valley you should. Choose between the very very expensive Ahwahnee, the expensive and shoddy Yosemite Lodge, or tents.

You won't regret it, this place is like nothing else on earth.

Room Tip: You could try asking for a recently renovated room, this did not work fo me, but no harm in trying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.