We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and dirty - I won't return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Noisy and dirty - I won't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

Yosemite National Park is beautiful and this 'hotel' is right in the middle of it. For that reason it might just be worth returning to Yosemite Lodge at the Falls.

This place is, however, extremely dirty and noisy. The bathrooms floors were filthy - dropping a towel on the floor meant that when you picked it up it was covered in dirt and almost black. In the day there were ants in the bathroom and bedroom, but I presume they went somewhere else at night to sleep, because the noise prevented anyone sleeping.

Perhaps we were unlucky, but we could hear everything our neighbours said. Typically they went to bed at 2am and got up at 6am, so there were precious few hours when we were not lying there listing to their television or their conversations. During the night we could then here every cough and sneeze from their bed. Thank heavens they were elderly and not causing even more nocturnal noise.

The food court at Yosemite Lodge is all right and will give you cheap helpings of pasta after a long day of hiking, but just don't expect to be able to return to your room and sleep.

  • Liked — The location and free internet access
  • Disliked — The noise and squalor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    592
    447
    224
    135
See reviews for
566
697
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

We just returned from Yosemite and stayed at Yosemite Lodge. Upon checking in, we were told that their system showed an arrival date one day earlier, and we owed "Did Not Arrive" charge for that night. If I had not brought with me a copy of their confirmation email of our reservation, we would not have been able to get our room for 4 nights. That's right, the woman at reception told us that after driving 9 hours, their mistake would have cost us our stay. No apology. Then, they gave us keys that did not work for the room. Upon walking all the way back to reception to get new keys, no apology was offered. Also, housekeeping did not even give us one spare roll of toilet paper. We had to call the front desk to get someone to provide us with toilet paper -- this is after 3 days of staying there and housekeeping making up the room each day. When told about this, the housekeeping manager informed us that the maid staff was from Brazil and going home in a week, so that may have been the reason they didn't bother providing adequate service.

I am looking for a website on which people can provide feedback on DNC to the National Park Service, but have yet to find that. This was a real disappointment after the good service DNC provided at the Wuksachi Lodge in Sequoia NP for our 3 previous winter stays.

Note that Yosemite Lodge, despite all of DNC's PR, has poor soundproofing between the rooms. Terribly noisy.

  • Liked — Well, it is in Yosemite Valley
  • Disliked — Poor staff service and attitude
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

We wanted to stay in Yosemite and didn't want to pay the price of the Awahnee, so this was our choice. We would have probably went for tent in Curry Village if it wasn't winter. We stayed in Hemlock building, lower level (3416)

Good points of the property:
friendly staff, located right on shuttle line, walking trails from property, ranger talks and other activities held on the Garden Terrace and Cliff room (on the lodge property), little patio with table and two chairs provided, Mountain Room restaurant is good, hotel attempts to be sustainable by not providing individual toiletries, but instead, providing bulk toiletries in dispensers

Not so good points:
- most uncomfortable bed ever. We ended up with a backache after two nights!
- thin walls, could hear our neighbors
- our location at the end of the building meant loud noises associated with hallway door and ice machine.
- property is not well-lit. bring a flashlight for night time.
- uninspired food at the dining hall

  • Liked — Located in Yosemite Nat'l Park
  • Disliked — Horrible beds!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

I last wrote about this accommodation in 2006. Just about every year I attend a conference at the Lodge in February. Two years ago I complained about mold on the shower curtain, pumpkin seeds in the carpet and lack of hot water. If the property has improved since then, it is marginal. This time there was no soap in the shower. The room was not cleaned daily -- it was made up, but there was soap scum in the sink. The shower curtain, once again, had mold. The towels were thin and fraying at the edges. In the shower you turned the hot water knob one way and the cold water knob the other. At least there was plenty of hot water this time. They claimed that they had installed wi-fi, but nobody's worked. Basically this is a $60 motel room, with the price tripled because of its location in the center of the valley right near Yosemite Falls. The people who worked there were nice and helpful, but it seemed like the ones who owned it didn't really care.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

After booking our stay for Yosemite Lodge at the Falls I began to look at reviews on this website and was disheatened. After the stay not sure if others stayed at the same hotel. Our room in the Juniper building was fine. Maybe my expectations are lower but the is a hotel in a national park, run by a company invested in green operations of their facilities. Cafeteria style dining was fine no problems at all. The mountain room was wonderful for dinner. Had no problems but also did ask much of the front desk staff.

I would definitely stay again

  • Liked — The amazing location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

What a disappointment, was advertised as a high end 3 star but was more like a 1 star. It was awful, luckily we were only staying one night as we were driving back from Vegas to San Francisco via Yosemite but I've never slept in such an uncomfortable bed!!!

The restaurant was very poor, school canteen quality food.

However the location was amazing, have never such beautiful scenery. The view from Glacier Point was breath taking and certainly worth an early morning visit.

Unfortunately when we went the falls were dry but have been assured they are a sight to be seen.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

If you keep your expectations on the low side, you may find your stay acceptable. The poor quality of the accomodations was very discouraging. To begin with, check in isn't until 5 p.m., and although we arrived at 1:00 p.m. our room wasn't available until 5:00 p.m. sharp. This left us cooling our heels with 3 very tired children after the long drive to the park. The room itself was in desperate need of remodeling. The room furnishings were extremely worn, with rips in the upholstery. Forget all about amenities you may have gotten used to at even the cheaper hotels. There was no coffeemaker. The towels were old and stained. There was a small (dirty) refrigerator but no microwave. Instead of travel-size shampoo, conditioner, and soap, there was only a large dispenser in the shower containing these products. Not very convenient for soap use at the bathroom sink! Lumpy beds, clumps of hair in the shower, and a very noisy heater completed the depressing experience. We came away with the distinct feeling that this is nothing but a cash cow for the Federal Government who has visitors to the park over a barrel with this being the only reasonably priced accomodation on the valley floor. The tents in Curry Village looked pretty good after our stay at the Yosemite Lodge!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.