We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Braintree, Essex
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good and not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Loaction is great. Dining options are varied and are ok.

The room that we stayed in was disappointing The general condition of the room and corridors were really shabby. For the price they charge something needs to be done.

There are plenty of easy triails from the lodge.

I think we would look elsewhere ifwevisit Yosemite again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    592
    447
    224
    135
See reviews for
566
697
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Rooms are comfortable and peaceful, food's OK but it's the location that counts. It's probably much cheaper outside the park, but if you are outside, it's a long drive in. Daft, this 200 character limit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I understand that you have to pay a premium price for a motel room in a national park. There are few accommodations, so it's supply and demand. But if you're going to gouge me for $240 a night, at least do it with a smile on your face and a clean room. At Yosemite Lodge, we had neither. The people at the front desk are mostly college kids who have had little experience in customer service. Don't try to find an adult working here ... you won't. Overworked and making minimum wage, they understandably don't really care that much about customer service. Then there are the rooms. Old, beat up, small beds, dirty bathrooms. It's really a shame they have let the place deteriorate as badly as it has. The next trip to Yosemite, we will visit the park, then stay at one of the other hotels just outside the park boundaries (probably in El Portal). The Yosemite Lodge, while offering great views when you step outside your door, is just not worth it.

Room Tip: Book a room in a different hotel outside the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our second stay at Yosemite Lodge. The first stay, two years ago, our room was rather shabby and not very clean. This time things couldn't be more different.

Our current room is really very nice. The main thing is, it's very clean. I checked for any trouble spots, and everything is great. The furniture appears to be relatively new, the walls freshly painted, and the floors are clean. The bathroom and sink are older, and look outdated, but they work just fine. We have a big window and a balcony, and our window is sparkling clean.

A large number of separate buildings of various types comprise Yosemite Lodge. My impression is that these buildings are probably undergoing constant maintenance, and you may be at the mercy of the maintenance cycle when it comes to the condition of your room. (Currently the parking lot is being repaved.) We're on the second floor of Maple and it's been wonderful. Some noise because we're close to the shuttle stop, but not enough to be a problem.

One thing that's changed is that there's no in-room coffee maker anymore. When you check in you get a ticket for free coffee at the food court for each day of your stay. The food court coffee is strong, and the food court itself is very close to our room, so that's working fine for us. (Did I mention that I'm writing this from our balcony with the sunset reflecting off Half Dome?)

There's a small refrigerator which is good and cold, and no microwave. The tap water tastes good here. The staff are friendly and efficient.

Obviously I can only speak for the room I'm actually occupying, but it's great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Yosemite over recent years and on the last three occasions have stayed at Yosemite Lodge. You obviously have a few choices in Yosemite, from camping to the expensive luxury of The Ahwahnee. You will find Yosemite Lodge somewhere in between.
We are hikers so are in Yosemite for the location and the stunning scenery and wonderful hiking trails. We do however like a shower at the end of the day and a comfortable bed. That is where Yosemite Lodge comes in. Check in is usually after 5pm and is advertised as such, however we were checked in at 4:30pm by very pleasant staff. Our room on this occasion was in Hemlock block, ground floor and there are a number of these blocks named after plants and trees. They are old but appear to be designed to be as unobtrusive as possible in amongst the trees. It is obviously difficult to keep things looking natural with the many thousands of visitors that pass through. We had a king bed which was comfortable, the room was very clean and like many others, tired. Considering the number of visitors and the abuse the rooms undoubtedly take, they hold up pretty well. The shower was large and very good. A separate sink and closet storage area needed a revamp, particularly needing a new mirror. We had a small patio area with table and two chairs, nicely secluded. Sitting quietly you can expect to see some wildlife. We have seen squirrels, deer, raccoons and this time a bobcat.
We tend to take some food in with us, there is a refrigerator in the room but do eat in the Food Court in the evening. This can only be described as fast food but with a nice selection. Some will say that the food is overpriced, and I guess to some degree you could say the same about the accommodation. However, you have to remember where you are staying, in the middle of some of the most beautiful scenery you will ever experience and it does take some doing to get items we take for granted everyday to such a remote place.
One extra thing to mention for guests who cannot do without or for whom it is necessary to keep up with technology, free WiFi is available in room for guests and it is fast and works well.
If you look at the accommodation for what it is, somewhere to shower and sleep after a hard days hike you will probably end up coming back time after time because the setting is awesome.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Lodge was everything I expected--and everything I feared. The location was unbeatable, and I'm glad I stayed there. The room was shabby at best, and I'll never go back. Your options are limited: spend a fortune at the Ahwanee, stay nearly an hour away from Yosemite Valley, or put up with over-priced second rate accommodations. For a first or only visit, the Lodge is as good as it gets, but the National Park Service should be ashamed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time in August 2012. Our family (inc. 3 kids 15, 13 and 10) shared one deluxe room behind the restaurant area. We were originally assigned a deluxe room which was old and battered and anything but deluxe - beware! After a pleasant discussion with the receptionist we were swiftly moved to one of the newly renovated lodge rooms which was much more like it.
The lodge is in the heart of Yosemite and offers everything you need to enjoy the magnificent setting, with helpful advice on excursions.
Our only real concern was the self service restaurant where the food is poor and unremarkable.
Overall we were very pleased and would recommend for families.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the newly renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.