We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - Karen is a terrific host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
7460 Henness Ridge Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC metro area
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - Karen is a terrific host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from three days at the High Sierra B&B; it's a wonderful find. It is a bit outside town and you do have to be careful on the winding roads, but we had no problem locating it even in the dark using Karen's directions. Note that the 88 steps will be illuminated as you climb them, so even if they seem a bit dark, just start climbing and you'll be fine (and unless you have really heavy luggage, not even all that winded). The place is super clean and has a very nice and welcoming kitchen area where you have breakfast in the a.m., tea/coffee/drinks/cookies at any time, and can store a few picnic items in the fridge (which was VERY helpful to us). Karen is a wonderful host and I would reiterate what many other reviewers have noted - she is basically your own private concierge and has many excellent recommendations, which she'll tailor to your interests and travel plans. I hope we make it back to Yosemite someday and are still able to get a reservation here - my guess is that it will only grow in popularity!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The best thing about this B&B is the owner - Karen. She is a fantastic resource for all things Yosemite; she even lets you borrow maps and binoculars! The rooms are super clean and breakfast is really yummy! Plan for 20-30 minutes to get to Yosemite Valley.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

One of the reasons we like staying at B & B's is because generally the owners are usually very helpful. Karen did not disappoint. It was like having your own personal tour guide of the park. Her recommendations were spot on and she was super helpful. The B & B was probably one of the cleanest that I've stayed at. 5 Circles Excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was the first time my wife and I ever stayed at a bed and breakfast, so we were a bit apprehensive. I am reluctant to give a stellar review because i know it will make it even harder to get a reservation for next year. but i must be honest. this place is wonderful. it is clean, purpose built and well located within the valley. Most importantly, the proprietors make it extra special. if you have never been to Yosemite, like us, it is a bit overwhelming. Bob and his two teen age daughters know the valley like the back of their hand and it was like having a personal consierge at your service, constantly guiding you in the right direction, making sure you made the most of your limited time in the valley. they really care about their guests. Bob was always available at the start and end of the day to answer questions and point you in the right direction for the following day. I can't imagine this is the typical bed and breakfast. Bob has spoiled us for any place else and we look forward to returning in the future.

Gene and Miae Charette

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here to get some hiking in. It was a great experience. The host is very friendly and extremely knowledgable about the local hike, and gave us some great insight into what to do and what to avoid. She truly knows her stuff, and I would encourage anyone staying to use her knowledge.

The accommodation is great, with everything you need. Make sure you grab a bottle of wine to sit and watch the sun go down from the terrace, quite something to behold (bring your camera)

Having explored a few of the valley hotels whilst we were there, this place offers a perfect balance of the quietness of being just outside the main valley drag, with quick access (20-25 min drive) to the parking for hiking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have stayed in many places in Yosemite from the Ahwahnee to tent cabins to tents. This is a good alternative, especially when the Valley is crowded. It is pricy for what you get but so is everything in Yosemite. Clean, quiet, nice, convenient. As mentioned Karen the host s very knowledgeable about hikes, attractions, parking, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms vary quite a bit with little variation in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The proprietor, Karen, is a wealth of knowledge about the Park. Where to go, what to see, when to go, how to avoid the crowds, etc. We have been going to the Park for over 40 years now and she was able to point us in some new directions and suggest new sights to see that proved to be outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7460 Henness Ridge Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Yosemite West High Sierra b&b
Yosemite West High Sierra Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.