We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Spend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
7460 Henness Ridge Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth the Spend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The best thing about this B&B is the owner - Karen. She is a fantastic resource for all things Yosemite; she even lets you borrow maps and binoculars! The rooms are super clean and breakfast is really yummy! Plan for 20-30 minutes to get to Yosemite Valley.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

One of the reasons we like staying at B & B's is because generally the owners are usually very helpful. Karen did not disappoint. It was like having your own personal tour guide of the park. Her recommendations were spot on and she was super helpful. The B & B was probably one of the cleanest that I've stayed at. 5 Circles Excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was the first time my wife and I ever stayed at a bed and breakfast, so we were a bit apprehensive. I am reluctant to give a stellar review because i know it will make it even harder to get a reservation for next year. but i must be honest. this place is wonderful. it is clean, purpose built and well located within the valley. Most importantly, the proprietors make it extra special. if you have never been to Yosemite, like us, it is a bit overwhelming. Bob and his two teen age daughters know the valley like the back of their hand and it was like having a personal consierge at your service, constantly guiding you in the right direction, making sure you made the most of your limited time in the valley. they really care about their guests. Bob was always available at the start and end of the day to answer questions and point you in the right direction for the following day. I can't imagine this is the typical bed and breakfast. Bob has spoiled us for any place else and we look forward to returning in the future.

Gene and Miae Charette

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here to get some hiking in. It was a great experience. The host is very friendly and extremely knowledgable about the local hike, and gave us some great insight into what to do and what to avoid. She truly knows her stuff, and I would encourage anyone staying to use her knowledge.

The accommodation is great, with everything you need. Make sure you grab a bottle of wine to sit and watch the sun go down from the terrace, quite something to behold (bring your camera)

Having explored a few of the valley hotels whilst we were there, this place offers a perfect balance of the quietness of being just outside the main valley drag, with quick access (20-25 min drive) to the parking for hiking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have stayed in many places in Yosemite from the Ahwahnee to tent cabins to tents. This is a good alternative, especially when the Valley is crowded. It is pricy for what you get but so is everything in Yosemite. Clean, quiet, nice, convenient. As mentioned Karen the host s very knowledgeable about hikes, attractions, parking, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms vary quite a bit with little variation in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The proprietor, Karen, is a wealth of knowledge about the Park. Where to go, what to see, when to go, how to avoid the crowds, etc. We have been going to the Park for over 40 years now and she was able to point us in some new directions and suggest new sights to see that proved to be outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great place inside the park, and a real warm welcome from Karen and her two daughters. We were treated like friends rather than guests. The girls were very helpful.
It is located about 11 miles from the valley and 13 miles from the nearest restaurant, which is a bit of a distance on the twisitng roads, but the scenery more than compensates.
The views from the balcony are amazing - watch the sun set over the pines with a glass of Napa Chardonnay!
The rooms were comfortable and of good size, and the free soft drinks in the fridge were a welcome touch.
We were given useful recommendations about where to go - Glacier Point,Tuolumne Meadows, Marisposa, Tioga Pass.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7460 Henness Ridge Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Yosemite West High Sierra b&b
Yosemite West High Sierra Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.