We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Balance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
7460 Henness Ridge Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Balance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here to get some hiking in. It was a great experience. The host is very friendly and extremely knowledgable about the local hike, and gave us some great insight into what to do and what to avoid. She truly knows her stuff, and I would encourage anyone staying to use her knowledge.

The accommodation is great, with everything you need. Make sure you grab a bottle of wine to sit and watch the sun go down from the terrace, quite something to behold (bring your camera)

Having explored a few of the valley hotels whilst we were there, this place offers a perfect balance of the quietness of being just outside the main valley drag, with quick access (20-25 min drive) to the parking for hiking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
75
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have stayed in many places in Yosemite from the Ahwahnee to tent cabins to tents. This is a good alternative, especially when the Valley is crowded. It is pricy for what you get but so is everything in Yosemite. Clean, quiet, nice, convenient. As mentioned Karen the host s very knowledgeable about hikes, attractions, parking, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms vary quite a bit with little variation in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The proprietor, Karen, is a wealth of knowledge about the Park. Where to go, what to see, when to go, how to avoid the crowds, etc. We have been going to the Park for over 40 years now and she was able to point us in some new directions and suggest new sights to see that proved to be outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great place inside the park, and a real warm welcome from Karen and her two daughters. We were treated like friends rather than guests. The girls were very helpful.
It is located about 11 miles from the valley and 13 miles from the nearest restaurant, which is a bit of a distance on the twisitng roads, but the scenery more than compensates.
The views from the balcony are amazing - watch the sun set over the pines with a glass of Napa Chardonnay!
The rooms were comfortable and of good size, and the free soft drinks in the fridge were a welcome touch.
We were given useful recommendations about where to go - Glacier Point,Tuolumne Meadows, Marisposa, Tioga Pass.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We wanted to stay in the park rather than outside and travel in everyday and this looked perfect and it was, Karen and her 2 daughters are brilliant hosts providing first class advice for hikes and places to visit, quickly sizing up what you really want from your trip and bespoking the advice to meet your needs.Highlights included sitting on the veranda at night watching the sun go down and waiting for the clearist sky you can imagine, planning our next hike in the morning during and after breakfast with Karen who quite rightly wants not only her breakfasts to be noteworthy but also the rooms and house, on this note one small negative for us was our choice of room which was number 2 it is adjacent to the communal breakfast room which tended to get very noisy around 7 - 7-30 and woke us every morning, so if like us you prefer aslightly later start of around 8- 8-30 pick a room away from the breakfast area and avoid rooms 1 and 2, this minor point aside the rooms are spacious and well serviced with everything you need for your visit, free drinks from the fridge were very well recived throughout our stay. Karens advice should always be heeded fuel is difficult to get and places to eat are at a premium but thsi is a small price to pay for where you are and should be expexcted. One word of note Yosemite is set 5 to 10 thousand feet above sea level which never occurred to me but trust me the theft of oxygen when hiking is marked and I defyb you to complete the entire number of steps at the B and B without stopping at we all called The Death zone where abench awaits you to recover a breath or two. All in all dont be put off by the booking requiring an up front payment of 100% it is only fair in the circumstances treat your self to agreat place to stay whisy visiting thsi woderful park where we saw Bears, Deer, Coyotees and Snakes to name but a few.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the breakfast room to avoid early starts every morning, in particular rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Everything about this B&B was great. Karen and her daughters are wonderful, knowledgeable, and polite hostesses. The location of the house was perfect -- it's arguably the most central location of the whole park. It worked well for my wife and I to hit different parts of the park on three different days. Karen knows her stuff -- hikes, lakes, food...make sure to have her help you plan your day if you're not familiar with the park. The rooms were great, the house was clean and enjoyable, and the scenery was beautiful. Heads up that I didn't have cell phone reception at the house (AT&T), but that can be a good thing. Thanks for a wonderful stay, Karen!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The location is hard to beat -- about 5 minutes from Glacier Point.

Our arrival was a bit of a screw-up -- you are supposed to call before you arrive and they give you the code to go in, but our phone did not work in the park! It took a long time to rouse someone so they would let us in.

The breakfasts were amazing, except one morning Karen was away and the quiche was room temperature. The breakfast includes unlimited fresh-squeezed OJ and coffee as well as some always different egg concoction (French toast, pancake, quiche, etc.) , as well as sausages and fruit.

If you have stayed in a B&B before you know the routine -- there is a communal table and everyone is like a big happy family. The owners Karen and Bob are very outgoing and hospitable, plus they know everything about the park and they will give you excellent advice on hikes, where to eat, where to park, what to wear, etc. The two young daughters help as well and they are wonderful young ladies.

Unfortunately our room was too hot -- Karen told us the 1st week of July was unusually warm, they hardly ever wish they had air-conditioning but our days were the exception. Also we're a bit spoiled and would have preferred a king-size bed rather than a queen but that would have been a tight squeeze.

And we did count 89 steps from the road to the front door, that helps keep you in shape for the hikes in the park!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7460 Henness Ridge Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Yosemite West High Sierra b&b
Yosemite West High Sierra Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.