We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired accommodation - it's the location that makes it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals to your Saves list
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
7403 Yosemite Park Way, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Tired accommodation - it's the location that makes it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This review is about the studio condos at Yosemite West, booked via Scenic Wonders. The studios and lofts are in two blocks just by the first parking area in the complex. The first job is to locate the reception, which is in the upper floor of block B, farthest from the parking area. I had done some research and picked studio B107 which has the advantage of being a corner unit, so it has a side window and a balcony, and does not look out over the parking area. They call this a 'mountain' view
First impressions were that the apartment blocks look a bit tired and due for refurbishment. The studio inside was the same with rather old fittings and a motley selection of cutlery and crockery. The pull-down bed worked OK but its design means there's a massive gap at the head-end, so no good for sitting up in bed enjoying a cup of tea in the morning!. We had to be a bit creative to get enough light to read in bed as well.
As pointed out elsewhere, there are no shops at Yosemite West - the Valley Floor shop (which is well provisioned) is about 30 mins drive and the Wawona Store is about 20 mins in the other direction.
The outside grill worked fine. The location of the building amongst the trees means that there is not much direct sunshine and being September, it got quite chilly once the sun did disappear in the evening.
The Valley, Wawona and Glacier Point are all within 20-30 mins drive. Overall, we enjoyed our 3 night stay and would recommend it for the location at least. Just don't expect luxurious accommodation!

Room Tip: Pick a corner unit with a 'mountain' view. I think studios/condos numbered 7 and above have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    58
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
150
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

First of all beware of two things, one is the fact that some cottages do not have air conditioning and even though for most of the year you do not need it if you happen to go during a heatwave as we did you'll be sorry you chose this place.

The place was very clean and our cabin offered a BBQ and full kitchen with utensils, pots and plates. It even had a dishwasher. I found the outside deck to be too small to sit five people and our place had practically no view. ...and get this, for almost $300 a night we got no internet/wi-fi, what a surprise! (it even rimes)

I found the people working at the office not to be as polite as I would like but then again mountain folks tend to be a little less cordial (or fake) so it may have only been my impression.

All in all it was a good experience but if I was to return I may just stay elsewhere, I hear Curry Village campgrounds have free wi-fi and have cabins for a decent deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights here as a family of 5. The house is split into 2 levels and could actually comfortably sleep 9. There is a huge king size bed on the first floor with bathroom and two further bedrooms and bathroom downstairs with a pullout in the central den. One of the bedrooms in set up for children and my kids so wanted to take the huge teddy home with us, he was so soft.
The main beds were clean and comfortable however I was unsure if the children's bed's had been changed, they could do with some new sheets as they had holes which I had to turn around. The house is very modern with great flat screen TV's, cable and most importantly free wi-fi, although it is extremely patchy and download is limited. We bar-b-que'd both nights and sat out on the deck to eat which was lovely. The house was lovely and clean and well equipped. The only appliances it lacked was washer and dryer. I think they are there just behind locked doors.The location is closer to Glacier Point than the valley floor, it will take you about 30 mins to reach the valley but it was perfect us. In the height of summer the valley floor is so busy it was lovely to get away and take in the peace and quiet of Yosemite which is really what you want.
So long as you have a car you are equal distance to the valley floor, glacier point and mariposa grove, all the main spots you want to visit in 3 days. I'd love to see this place in winter, thankfully it had a flat driveway if you do visit them. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would will highly recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocholt, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this chalet and liked it. Spacious kitchen with everything you need, fridge with icemaker and a large porch with BBQ. The furniture is a bit dated but suited our needs. Two huge flatscreens and VHS with lots of movies to choose from. Beds are rather small but the 2 bathrooms are large. After a phonecall, the front desk man came to open the room where the laundrymachine and dryer is located so we could wash our clothes after 2 weeks of our 3week trip in the southwest. 20 To 25 min. drive to the valley and Mariposa Grove. Beautifull stay in the middle of nature.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

These condos are very close to the valley (about 20 minutes) so unless you’re staying in Curry village or the lodge you can’t get closer. The condo’s are run down and need to be updated. We’ve stayed here in 2010 also. Very expensive for what you’re getting but you don’t have many choices. We haven’t rented the houses but they’re very expensive also ($300/night or more). The loft condo’s have a down stairs with a small kitchen, bathroom, pull out couch, TV, fireplace, and deck with a grill. The upstairs is a loft with a queen bed and bathroom. Some units have a loft large enough for two beds (you need to ask). There’s not that much room, we had four people and I don’t think I would put more people in the condo. The units do not have air conditioning but it gets cold enough at night (in July). We did cook all of our dinners in the condo and used the grill which was nice. There’s a small frig in the kitchen and a larger frig in the pantry room. There’s also an ice machine in one of the buildings. Warning, fill up your car with gas and bring your food before you get to the park there’s nothing around. The condo’s are very close to the road leading up to Glacier Point. There are some excellent trails on the way to Glacier Point.

Room Tip: Some condo's have more beds in the loft, you need to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our family of 3 stayed in a condo for 3 nights. The condo was extremely run down and desperately needs an update. That said, the condo was spotless! VERY clean. The housekeeper did a great job with this unit! The kitchen had enough pots, pans, dishes for the 3 of us and again, everything I used in the kitchen was spotless! Thank you, housekeeper!!! We would not rent a condo again but would possibly rent a house if it was as clean as the condo. As for the location, you can't get closer to Yosemite Valley unless you stay right in the valley which is about twice the cost. Yes, it's about a 25 minute drive, but if you want a quiet and clean place, rent a house up here. Be sure to stock up on groceries and gas BEFORE coming. The Yosemite Valley store isn't too expensive considering they could really gouge the prices way out here in the boondocks! Thanks again to the Yosemite Scenic Wonder condo housekeeper for a spotless condo!

Room Tip: If you don't want to stay in a tenement, rent a house instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My Family of 16 super-enjoyed our 4 days in Scenic Wonders' Chateaux West and East, 8 in each house. Scenic Wonders deserves its top rating in Trip Advisor. We had parking space for 4 SUVs. The management (like Tiffany) was easy to work with and supplied our every need. Includes washer/dryer/dish washer/refrigerator/stove. The two houses had more bathrooms, porches, and decks than I could count! The 5 queen beds were very comfortable, and the Master Bedroom in Chateau West was fantastic! We especially enjoyed the West kitchen, living room, fireplace, and deck areas (plus propane grill) with their beautiful view of dozens of tall Monterey Pines reaching up to the sky off our deck! Inside Yosemite Park only 25 minutes to Yosemite Valley or Glacier Point, we could not have asked for a better or more beautiful/comfortable location!

Room Tip: As you can judge by my review, although Chateau East is also good with lots of amenities, we loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals

Address: 7403 Yosemite Park Way, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite`s Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.