We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo's need updates.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals to your Saves list
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
7403 Yosemite Park Way, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Condo's need updates.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

These condos are very close to the valley (about 20 minutes) so unless you’re staying in Curry village or the lodge you can’t get closer. The condo’s are run down and need to be updated. We’ve stayed here in 2010 also. Very expensive for what you’re getting but you don’t have many choices. We haven’t rented the houses but they’re very expensive also ($300/night or more). The loft condo’s have a down stairs with a small kitchen, bathroom, pull out couch, TV, fireplace, and deck with a grill. The upstairs is a loft with a queen bed and bathroom. Some units have a loft large enough for two beds (you need to ask). There’s not that much room, we had four people and I don’t think I would put more people in the condo. The units do not have air conditioning but it gets cold enough at night (in July). We did cook all of our dinners in the condo and used the grill which was nice. There’s a small frig in the kitchen and a larger frig in the pantry room. There’s also an ice machine in one of the buildings. Warning, fill up your car with gas and bring your food before you get to the park there’s nothing around. The condo’s are very close to the road leading up to Glacier Point. There are some excellent trails on the way to Glacier Point.

Room Tip: Some condo's have more beds in the loft, you need to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    57
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
149
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our family of 3 stayed in a condo for 3 nights. The condo was extremely run down and desperately needs an update. That said, the condo was spotless! VERY clean. The housekeeper did a great job with this unit! The kitchen had enough pots, pans, dishes for the 3 of us and again, everything I used in the kitchen was spotless! Thank you, housekeeper!!! We would not rent a condo again but would possibly rent a house if it was as clean as the condo. As for the location, you can't get closer to Yosemite Valley unless you stay right in the valley which is about twice the cost. Yes, it's about a 25 minute drive, but if you want a quiet and clean place, rent a house up here. Be sure to stock up on groceries and gas BEFORE coming. The Yosemite Valley store isn't too expensive considering they could really gouge the prices way out here in the boondocks! Thanks again to the Yosemite Scenic Wonder condo housekeeper for a spotless condo!

Room Tip: If you don't want to stay in a tenement, rent a house instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My Family of 16 super-enjoyed our 4 days in Scenic Wonders' Chateaux West and East, 8 in each house. Scenic Wonders deserves its top rating in Trip Advisor. We had parking space for 4 SUVs. The management (like Tiffany) was easy to work with and supplied our every need. Includes washer/dryer/dish washer/refrigerator/stove. The two houses had more bathrooms, porches, and decks than I could count! The 5 queen beds were very comfortable, and the Master Bedroom in Chateau West was fantastic! We especially enjoyed the West kitchen, living room, fireplace, and deck areas (plus propane grill) with their beautiful view of dozens of tall Monterey Pines reaching up to the sky off our deck! Inside Yosemite Park only 25 minutes to Yosemite Valley or Glacier Point, we could not have asked for a better or more beautiful/comfortable location!

Room Tip: As you can judge by my review, although Chateau East is also good with lots of amenities, we loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverside,ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I used to camp in the valley and had great time in Yosemite. but we determined to get a cabin for our last trip. I was found my reservation with other rental didn't go through when I arrived around 8pm. so the vacation rentals were recommended to me to find a room at the last minute. I was almost panic that my friends and I would have no place to stay in the park that night since we had a senior person. Danny was there in the manager office and helped us to find a fabulous house to stay----from the worst to the best! They didn't even raise the fee even though I would be forced to accept the worst case. Danny was very nice and instructed us clearly. Although it takes about 20 min to the valley, you'll not waste the 20 min if you enjoy the lookout points as we do. Definitely recommend it especially for family and friends vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

To be fair, we would have been satisfied with this place had we known what we were getting into before we arrived. So for that reason, I am writing this review. First - the location is good, although it's misleading to say a 20 minute drive into the Valley. It's 20 minutes to the start of the Valley, but more like 35 - 40 minutes into Yosemite Village or Camp Curry. The surrounding area is beautiful (lots of pines, oaks, and we even spotted a wild turkey!), and the stars are amazing at night. Regarding the house itself, 6 people would be a stretch. We originally were going to have 6, but ended up with only 3. Good because the pull out couch would have been a nightmare to sleep on, and there would not have been enough dishes for 6 people. However, the kitchen was well equipped otherwise with working refrigerator, stove, coffee pot and microwave oven. Cleanliness? Eh. The laminate floor has scuff marks which look like dirt but are not, and the carpet is old and has ripples throughout as it doesn't lay flat against the floor. The bath tub had what may have been a permanent black ring, and the water pressure out of the shower head was very weak. Weird because the pressure from the tub spout was strong. Also, the bathroom sink dripped all night as it was impossible to turn the hot water all the way off. The tub dripped as well. To avoid unnecessary plunging, you'll want to hold the toilet handle down until it has completed it's flush cycle. The "cozy" deck is small (cozy is synonymous with small in real estate speak), and has a dirty barbecue on it. I would bring your own small barbecue if that is part of your plan. Also, the owner is growing tomatoes on the upper deck, and the water drips through to the lower deck when he waters them. Speaking of this, the write up calls it a duplex. What that means is that the owner lives upstairs and has access into your living space through a door marked "private", which actually leads to the stairs to where he lives. He never came in unannounced or anything, it just felt a bit creepy knowing he could if he wanted to. Wasn't expecting this, and would have been more comfortable had I known. Also, the grounds are described as a great place for the kids to run and play. Be careful with this. There was a problem with the pipes when we were there (county problem, not owner related), but this led to a large hole being opened for work, and no barrier other than a couple of plastic chairs. Kids are curious, and this could have been a disaster had our young grandson come with us like we first thought. Even with this hole covered up, there is not much area to play in. The back of the house slopes down to neighboring properties, and the front is pretty much just a gravel driveway with a picnic table. Now, it is quiet and peaceful here, and you do see lots of chipmunks and bluejays, but I don't agree that it is a great place for the kids to run around in the sugar pines. We visited in July and it was hot. 90+ degrees all four days. You can't control the weather outside, but you can't control the temperature inside the house either, because there is no A/C. This is common for this area, but you need to know that the house will be hot after returning from a day of hiking. There are two fans in the bedrooms which help some, but the air was so warm and still at night, they didn't have much effect. Again, this is OK if you are expecting it before you arrive. You will need to dump your own trash into trash bins located by the rental office - a short drive on your way into the Valley. Also, the website claims value, and value is relative. Compared to $600+ for a room at the Ahwhanee hotel, this home is a relative bargain. However, $350 a night will buy you a very nice room in many luxury hotels. As long as you are not expecting this to be a luxury home, you may find this to be a nice value. Just be aware. The management is available 24/7 for problems, and did a nice job responding when we needed them. Overall, we had a great time. It would have been even better had we known what we were getting into before we got there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a loft condo during the month of June and at first I feared the place would get a bit warm because there isn't air conditioning. But with the balcony door open at night it brought in a nice breeze thats better than any A/C. The staff was very helpful with our needs and polite. The kitchen was complete with cooking wear and plates. Giving me a home like feeling when we cooked for meals. Waking up every morning to the foresty scent and cool breeze coming in made getting out of bed very easy and even better with a cup of coffee supplied by the condo. Its definately a place for a family to enjoy. I am far from being the nature type but I will return next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have been fortunate enough to stay with Scenic Wonders for 3 consecutive years. The first time was at a 3 bedroom house and the second & third time was in their condo units (double bed lofts). Everytime, the staff has been very accommodating and helpful. They promptly answer all of my questions via email and phone. Check in and Check out is easy as well. And the one time we needed assistance at the house (the power went out all over Yosemite due to a storm) - the staff brought out flashlights within 15 minutes.

We REALLY like the location of the units, as they are in the park, so Wawona is only 15-20 min away and "downtown" Yosemite (the valley) is just 30 minutes away. With a 2 and 4 year old, you don't want to spend any more time in the car than you need to.

All of the units were clean - no matter which ones we were in. They were amazingly bug free too. I did expect to see spiders or ants, but there was none.

We loved that all of the units had a propane BBQ - this was great, as we brought our own food and could still "cook out".

As for the actual units:
-the house (Yosemite Place) was very cute and nice - perfect for 3 adults and 2 little kids. 2 bedrooms upstairs and 1 downstairs with 2 bathrooms. It even had a washer and dryer (didn't use it though).
-the condos were small, but great for our needs. There was a one loft bedroom with 2 queen beds and a bath upstairs and then a bath, tiny kitchen with a counter eating space and living room. There is a covered deck for grilling on - so you don't get wet when it rains. As with most apartment/condos - the walls are a little thin, so you may hear stomping in the hall or muted talking from the neighbor.

Both of the living solutions that Scenic Wonders provides are perfect for a family who doesn't want to have to eat out all the time and wants space to play games/do crafts during down time. These options also allow you to clean up and keep a normal schedule/routine (especially important if you have small kids).

We look forward to our next visit next year! Thank you Scenic Wonders for some really great memories!!!

Room Tip: If you want a loft w/ 2 queen size beds - make sure you request it with an email specifically reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals

Address: 7403 Yosemite Park Way, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite`s Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.