We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockypoint stay is always fantastic ! Holly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Vacation Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Vacation Homes
Save
You added Yosemite Vacation Homes to your Saves list
Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Corning, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rockypoint stay is always fantastic ! Holly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at Rockyoint home several times. Owner is accomodating and lovely to work with. The views of Half Dome, Clouds Rest and El Capitan are outstanding from the living room,and deck. There is a very peaceful sense of place here, and you do not have to go anywhere just to enjoy the spot , from all seasons. Bedrooms and baths are great , kitchen and grill give you everything you would need to make great meals. Sit in the lovely chairs outside and take a break from the world. Owner gives you maps , information about special places in area, and clear directions.

Room Tip: Plan early ! this place books up with repeat customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at Suite Sunshine for three nights with our two children. Yosemite West is a private development accessible from within the park and a short drive to Glacier Point and the Valley Floor and many fantastic hikes. The place is cosy, clean, nicely decorated and completely outfitted with everything you would need, including barbecue, pots, pans, seasonings, towels, dishwasher, fridge that dispenses ice, etc. There is a tv, dvd, vcr, and air conditioning. It is peaceful place to relax after a day's hiking and is away from the hustle and bustle of the Valley Floor. Unless you have mobility issues, the stairs were not a problem. The owner, who lives downstairs, is very friendly and has a wealth of information on the park and surrounding areas. She gave us excellent advice on our drive from Lake Tahloe. I really enjoyed sitting on the deck in the evening, looking at the stars. You are high up so it feels like being in the trees. Just perfect.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our stay here was like a little piece of heaven on earth! The cosy cottage situated amongst friendly trees served as the perfect, peaceful place for our busy family to relax and unwind. It is well equipped, providing everything from cutlery to a snowman-making kit (which conveniently comes with a nose - no carrots needed). The small little touches, including the old-fashioned telephone, the portraits of dancing bears, and the tiny quote books tucked away here and there, gave the feeling of a home that has been loved and lived in. Our host, Doe, was friendly, helpful and extremely creative (the wooden bears on the porch were carved by her). Playing with snow (till we got frostbite) by day, gazing at the brilliant stars by night, driving home surrounded by a Yosemite sunset, our stay was definitely a beautiful and memorable one.

Room Tip: A great place if you prefer to be away from the hustle of crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I am not someone who has felt compelled to write a review until we stayed at Suite Sunshine. There are many things that were left out of the property description that we felt should be included... First and foremost is that this home is a duplex and the owner lives in the downstairs. Second is you have to take your garbage to a dumpster in the Yosemite Valley not in the Yosemite West area. Third if you care to stay in a place that is clean, do not stay here. Major cobwebs and dust! Fourth simply for the amount of money one would think that the simple things like finishes would be in place like not having painted cardboard on the front of the dishwasher with white duct tape as the trim to finish the edges!? Fixing the screen door to the deck so the bugs stay out. The pictures are also deciving, along with the description....be prepared there are about 40 stairs below what the pictures show. This wouldn't normally be a big deal but when you have to pack luggage, coolers etc. it proves to be a challenge and an inconvienence. The parking is also to be desired unless you are in a small vehicle and don't mind having to move cars around to allow the owner to come and go.? Also note that if you are staying in the summer this place does not have air conditioning, when we arrived it was 89 degrees inside and out!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemiteClimber, Owner at Yosemite Vacation Homes, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
In response to Ms. T's (or the September) review of my home, I would like to say that yes, I live downstairs and most visitors appreciate that as I am able to give them advice and directions and in the 15 years I have been in this business no one has ever counted that as a minus. The guest book in my rental is full of compliments on the cleanliness of my home; her description of major dust and cobwebs simply isn’t true. I have taken her advice and put notes on my website about the number of steps leading up to the house. I agree this is important for potential guests to know. The screen door, which was damaged by a renter shortly before her arrival, has been replaced and the dishwasher as well. The manufacturer of the dishwasher did have a poor design and the front panel, which was plastic, did pop off after many years of use. It is hard during the busy season in this remote location to get an appliance changed out in a day. As soon as I had an opportunity this was addressed. It still performed its function however, and I did my best to make it look ok. The driveway is wide enough for most cars to negotiate while I park my car in a space to the side. Ms Tindall is correct, a very large extended length dually pick-up was too large for my driveway. For the record they never had to move their car for me to leave for work. Regarding air conditioning, to be fair, there are few accommodations here at this elevation, 6000 feet, with air conditioning. There are 2 or 3 months where it can get very warm here but it cools down rapidly at night. If you follow the simple instructions on opening windows at night and using the fans that are in every room, this is not a problem. I offered to dispose of her trash and recycling, like I do for all my guests, but they declined. I’m sorry that Ms T had so many complaints about her stay. I never heard a word about them during her stay and like she said, I was just downstairs.

Barbara, Owner & Operator of Suite Sunshine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Sage cabin on a recent trip to Yosemite. The cabin is located in Foresta - a very quick drive to the valley attractions. The cabin was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Everything that we needed was there, including pots, pans, salt/seasonings, towels and basic toiletries including shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The outdoor Jacuzzi was wonderful - it was situated in the backyard amongst a field of Lupine flowers. It's the perfect way to relax after climbing Half Dome!

I was a little hesitant about paying for the cabin in full before we arrived, but everything worked out just as it stated it would. No need to worry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

What an absolute delight! We consider ourselves fortunate to have experienced the beauty and magnificence of Yosemite in such a gorgeous accommodation. Set in the quiet surroundings of West Yosemite, a 25 minute drive from the bustle of Yosemite village, the property is a typical duplex style house of which the upper floor is the rental. It is a bit of climb up 34 steps to the front door from the car parking and then there are 10 more steps inside to the accommodation, but it is worth it.
The open plan reception/kitchen/dining area is spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. The bedrooms are a good size, each with its own en-suite – the master en-suite is very spacious – with comfortable queen beds in each.
There is loads of storage, but you may need to bring spare clothes hangers, there are only a few in the wardrobes.
It is somewhat remote but not too difficult to find if you follow the excellent directions Barbara provides but, if self-catering, you will need to shop before you get into the Park itself as there are very limited options once you get there – there are grocery stores in Wawona and Yosemite village but they can be pricey.
Be aware that there is no air-conditioning to the property but, even though it was quite hot when we were there in June the nights were cool enough to sleep comfortably.
There is a lovely small sun terrace leading from the living area – though we didn’t see the hummingbirds that previous guests had mentioned – shame!
We enjoyed every minute here. It is a great base for the park both to get out and about as well as to relax and enjoy the whole experience of Yosemite.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Firstly I would recommend additionally searching Tripadvisor under Hilltop Cabins as I think this is also the name of these group of cabins.
We stayed in Lupin cabin, part of Hilltop Cabins (4yosemite.com) for 3 nights of the end of May 2011. I could not recommend this cabin more - it was so perfect and serene, we loved it so much and didn't want to leave. A perfect base for discovering Yosemite and inside the park boundary. Privately owned by Sue, it is clean and nicely maintained, the cabin suits 2 perfectly but there is also a small cute loft area and I believe the sofa can be turned into a bed. The kitchen facilities are good, the bed is large and comfy, the views and windows are great - stargazing on the patio is a must at night. The hot tub is a lovely way to unwind after a day walking in Yosemite. There is a BBQ should you wish to use it. There was also a selection of the latest magazines (climbing, Time etc), a DVD player and some DVDs, board games and wifi. There is no television but this is to be expected in Yosemite - and who needs it anyway! Well done Sue - long may Hilltop Cabins continue in this very special part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Vacation Homes

Address: Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unique vacation homes and cabins that are located inside the entrance gates of Yosemite National Park.With long lines common now almost every day from April to October at the entrance gates you can beat the crowds by staying inside Yosemite Park! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Vacation Homes Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Vacation Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.