We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Yosemite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Vacation Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Vacation Homes
Save Saved
You added Yosemite Vacation Homes to your Saves list
Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Lehigh Valley, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Yosemite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Sage cabin on a recent trip to Yosemite. The cabin is located in Foresta - a very quick drive to the valley attractions. The cabin was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Everything that we needed was there, including pots, pans, salt/seasonings, towels and basic toiletries including shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The outdoor Jacuzzi was wonderful - it was situated in the backyard amongst a field of Lupine flowers. It's the perfect way to relax after climbing Half Dome!

I was a little hesitant about paying for the cabin in full before we arrived, but everything worked out just as it stated it would. No need to worry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norfolk england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

What an absolute delight! We consider ourselves fortunate to have experienced the beauty and magnificence of Yosemite in such a gorgeous accommodation. Set in the quiet surroundings of West Yosemite, a 25 minute drive from the bustle of Yosemite village, the property is a typical duplex style house of which the upper floor is the rental. It is a bit of climb up 34 steps to the front door from the car parking and then there are 10 more steps inside to the accommodation, but it is worth it.
The open plan reception/kitchen/dining area is spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. The bedrooms are a good size, each with its own en-suite – the master en-suite is very spacious – with comfortable queen beds in each.
There is loads of storage, but you may need to bring spare clothes hangers, there are only a few in the wardrobes.
It is somewhat remote but not too difficult to find if you follow the excellent directions Barbara provides but, if self-catering, you will need to shop before you get into the Park itself as there are very limited options once you get there – there are grocery stores in Wawona and Yosemite village but they can be pricey.
Be aware that there is no air-conditioning to the property but, even though it was quite hot when we were there in June the nights were cool enough to sleep comfortably.
There is a lovely small sun terrace leading from the living area – though we didn’t see the hummingbirds that previous guests had mentioned – shame!
We enjoyed every minute here. It is a great base for the park both to get out and about as well as to relax and enjoy the whole experience of Yosemite.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Firstly I would recommend additionally searching Tripadvisor under Hilltop Cabins as I think this is also the name of these group of cabins.
We stayed in Lupin cabin, part of Hilltop Cabins (4yosemite.com) for 3 nights of the end of May 2011. I could not recommend this cabin more - it was so perfect and serene, we loved it so much and didn't want to leave. A perfect base for discovering Yosemite and inside the park boundary. Privately owned by Sue, it is clean and nicely maintained, the cabin suits 2 perfectly but there is also a small cute loft area and I believe the sofa can be turned into a bed. The kitchen facilities are good, the bed is large and comfy, the views and windows are great - stargazing on the patio is a must at night. The hot tub is a lovely way to unwind after a day walking in Yosemite. There is a BBQ should you wish to use it. There was also a selection of the latest magazines (climbing, Time etc), a DVD player and some DVDs, board games and wifi. There is no television but this is to be expected in Yosemite - and who needs it anyway! Well done Sue - long may Hilltop Cabins continue in this very special part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Dear Doe & Chris,
We very much enjoyed having your lovely, clean home to return to each day after hiking the trails in Yosemite. So much nicer than a hotel room. Your home is warm and inviting. Just like the two of you.

Our experience was a great one from the very beginning. You two were came across so warm and friendly on the phone. You made us feel welcome long before we arrived.

You seem to have thought of everything. The books and magazines you left for your guests to read were great, gave us a better idea of Yosemite and info we didn't have. We also enjoyed your husband's pictures (he is a great photographer). We learned about the "T" markings (found this in one of your books). It was very helpful in finding many of the trails. Also which trails to hike if you want to get away from the crowd. Like Lake Elizabeth, Lake May, and Lake Gaylor. Each with a beauty of their own.

Since we ate all our meals at your place it was thoughtful and considerate that you left some spices, condiments, etc. So thoughtful. Thank You.


Doe it was nice to meet you. You are as pretty as you are nice. We enjoyed our little visit with you.

We will be sure to spread the word to our friends and acquaintance's about what a score your place is.

Thanks again,
Bob & Irene Palmer
Kissimmee, Florida

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

This place had goods and bads. It is in the park, is between 30 - 40 minute drive from the Yosemite village (road has been under construction which can make the drive longer - obviously not owners fault). It is in a subdivision. There is housing construction going on in the subdivision. I think the driveway was my worse nightmare trying to back a full size van out past the other cars parked in the driveway. It is the upstairs of the owners home (not a good option for handicap accessiblity), owner was not home, but a list of who to call if problems is on the frig. Suite Sunshine is decorated cutely, the kitchen was fully stocked with utensils - wasn't missing much if anything and all was in good condition. Has dish washer, nice frig/freezer. Gas grill worked wonderfully. However, you must remove all of your trash when you leave, so you need to pack the garbage up in your vehicle and haul it out. Realizing you are in a park, you do expect some bugs and for the most part, place was bug free, however whoever cleans needs to dust out the cobwebs in the light fixtures and windows.

Payment was 50% down with a generous refund policy if you cancelled more than 30 days before planned stay. They do not take any credit cards, and prefer a check (I rarely travel with a checkbook on vacation).

Would recommend this to others and would probably stay there again should the occassion arise to be in Yosemite again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Charming, quaint, close to everything - - can even walk, quiet, absolutely enjoyable !
This was our second stay, so that pretty much tells you how much we like it !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

There appear to be few choices regarding staying in Yoemite ie limited accomodation within the valley -which apparently gets booked up early, or to stay outside of the park and travel in. So it was great to learn through Trip Advisor about rented accomodation within the park. We stayed in the duplex 'Suite Sunshine' which is located in West Yosemite which is a small community of private homes within pine woods. West Yosemite is a couple of miles from the turning to Glacier Point Road and about a 20 minute drive to Yosemite valley [which is a short journey given the immense size of Yosemite National Park].
Vacation Homes essentially advertises private homes for rental but note that there is no central office or contact - the contact is made directly with the owner so it is important that you keep a record of any correspondence between you and the owner and ensure contact leading up to your stay. Our owner was not set up to take any card payment so she had to set up a paypal account for our deposit and we paid the balance in traveller cheques. Suite Sunshine has two double bedrooms and a pull-out bed in the lounge. There are two bathrooms and kitchen. There appeared to be a laundry room/cupboard but it was padlocked but you may be able to have access to it if you ask the owner. There is also a small terrace with a big table and a BBQ. This is a lovely sun trap from lunch time . The owner is lovely and gave us some advice on which hikes to do first. There is a good library of guide books and maps which really helped our stay. Regarding shopping, it is wise to stock up on food and drink before you arrive since there is only limited provision in the park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Vacation Homes

Address: Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unique vacation homes and cabins that are located inside the entrance gates of Yosemite National Park.With long lines common now almost every day from April to October at the entrance gates you can beat the crowds by staying inside Yosemite Park! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Vacation Homes Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Vacation Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.