We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay in Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Vacation Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Vacation Homes
Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay in Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Firstly I would recommend additionally searching Tripadvisor under Hilltop Cabins as I think this is also the name of these group of cabins.
We stayed in Lupin cabin, part of Hilltop Cabins (4yosemite.com) for 3 nights of the end of May 2011. I could not recommend this cabin more - it was so perfect and serene, we loved it so much and didn't want to leave. A perfect base for discovering Yosemite and inside the park boundary. Privately owned by Sue, it is clean and nicely maintained, the cabin suits 2 perfectly but there is also a small cute loft area and I believe the sofa can be turned into a bed. The kitchen facilities are good, the bed is large and comfy, the views and windows are great - stargazing on the patio is a must at night. The hot tub is a lovely way to unwind after a day walking in Yosemite. There is a BBQ should you wish to use it. There was also a selection of the latest magazines (climbing, Time etc), a DVD player and some DVDs, board games and wifi. There is no television but this is to be expected in Yosemite - and who needs it anyway! Well done Sue - long may Hilltop Cabins continue in this very special part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Dear Doe & Chris,
We very much enjoyed having your lovely, clean home to return to each day after hiking the trails in Yosemite. So much nicer than a hotel room. Your home is warm and inviting. Just like the two of you.

Our experience was a great one from the very beginning. You two were came across so warm and friendly on the phone. You made us feel welcome long before we arrived.

You seem to have thought of everything. The books and magazines you left for your guests to read were great, gave us a better idea of Yosemite and info we didn't have. We also enjoyed your husband's pictures (he is a great photographer). We learned about the "T" markings (found this in one of your books). It was very helpful in finding many of the trails. Also which trails to hike if you want to get away from the crowd. Like Lake Elizabeth, Lake May, and Lake Gaylor. Each with a beauty of their own.

Since we ate all our meals at your place it was thoughtful and considerate that you left some spices, condiments, etc. So thoughtful. Thank You.


Doe it was nice to meet you. You are as pretty as you are nice. We enjoyed our little visit with you.

We will be sure to spread the word to our friends and acquaintance's about what a score your place is.

Thanks again,
Bob & Irene Palmer
Kissimmee, Florida

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

This place had goods and bads. It is in the park, is between 30 - 40 minute drive from the Yosemite village (road has been under construction which can make the drive longer - obviously not owners fault). It is in a subdivision. There is housing construction going on in the subdivision. I think the driveway was my worse nightmare trying to back a full size van out past the other cars parked in the driveway. It is the upstairs of the owners home (not a good option for handicap accessiblity), owner was not home, but a list of who to call if problems is on the frig. Suite Sunshine is decorated cutely, the kitchen was fully stocked with utensils - wasn't missing much if anything and all was in good condition. Has dish washer, nice frig/freezer. Gas grill worked wonderfully. However, you must remove all of your trash when you leave, so you need to pack the garbage up in your vehicle and haul it out. Realizing you are in a park, you do expect some bugs and for the most part, place was bug free, however whoever cleans needs to dust out the cobwebs in the light fixtures and windows.

Payment was 50% down with a generous refund policy if you cancelled more than 30 days before planned stay. They do not take any credit cards, and prefer a check (I rarely travel with a checkbook on vacation).

Would recommend this to others and would probably stay there again should the occassion arise to be in Yosemite again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Charming, quaint, close to everything - - can even walk, quiet, absolutely enjoyable !
This was our second stay, so that pretty much tells you how much we like it !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

There appear to be few choices regarding staying in Yoemite ie limited accomodation within the valley -which apparently gets booked up early, or to stay outside of the park and travel in. So it was great to learn through Trip Advisor about rented accomodation within the park. We stayed in the duplex 'Suite Sunshine' which is located in West Yosemite which is a small community of private homes within pine woods. West Yosemite is a couple of miles from the turning to Glacier Point Road and about a 20 minute drive to Yosemite valley [which is a short journey given the immense size of Yosemite National Park].
Vacation Homes essentially advertises private homes for rental but note that there is no central office or contact - the contact is made directly with the owner so it is important that you keep a record of any correspondence between you and the owner and ensure contact leading up to your stay. Our owner was not set up to take any card payment so she had to set up a paypal account for our deposit and we paid the balance in traveller cheques. Suite Sunshine has two double bedrooms and a pull-out bed in the lounge. There are two bathrooms and kitchen. There appeared to be a laundry room/cupboard but it was padlocked but you may be able to have access to it if you ask the owner. There is also a small terrace with a big table and a BBQ. This is a lovely sun trap from lunch time . The owner is lovely and gave us some advice on which hikes to do first. There is a good library of guide books and maps which really helped our stay. Regarding shopping, it is wise to stock up on food and drink before you arrive since there is only limited provision in the park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo NM
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

What a deligthful place to end a busy day touring. All the comforts of home. Doe and Chris go out of their way to make sure everything associated with your stay is taken care of in the best possible way.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We have stayed at El Capitan View for the last two years while visiting Yosemite. The cabin is beautiful, very clean and located very conveniently to all Yosemite destinations.
The area is so peaceful it's a pleasure to return to after a day of sightseeing and hiking.
The cabin is stocked with everything you could possibly need, just bring your food and you're all set. The view of El Capitan from the back porch is amazing. Doe and Chris are wonderful hosts and have seen to your every need (games, books, binoculars, movies, kitchen items, etc). This is the only place we plan to stay for any visit to Yosemite.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Vacation Homes

Also Known As:
Yosemite Vacation Homes Hotel
Yosemite Vacation Homes Hotel Yosemite National Park
Address: Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unique vacation homes and cabins that are located inside the entrance gates of Yosemite National Park.With long lines common now almost every day from April to October at the entrance gates you can beat the crowds by staying inside Yosemite Park! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Vacation Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yosemite Vacation Homes to your Saves list