We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lodge Cafeteria

Lake Lodge Cafeteria
Lake Village Rd., Yellowstone National Park, WY
307/344-7311
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is just a simple cafeteria, but it was definitely the best food we had in Yellowstone, actually better than Lake Yellowstone Hotel. It's nothing special, but it's fairly priced, and the cashier was friendly, so overall it was a very positive experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    115
    89
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Last Meal of the evening still fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great to find our trout and fresh not over cooked veggies after walking the board walk area for a couple of hours. You can walk right out after and catch some stars for dessert.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lake Lodge Cafeteria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The most impressive restaurant in the park.. A cafeteria, but it has a carving station, wine, etc. Food (and wine) was excellent and reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lived down to expectations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The smell was the first thing to hit me: a whiff of old cabbage which recalled a school cafeteria, circa 1985. Then, after standing in line for about 20 minutes, we were presented with an array of unappetising fodder, slowly going cold in metal tureens. I'd like to say the food was better than expected, but honestly it wasn't. I ordered a rather expensive ($15) bit of "prime rib" which turned out to be grey and overcooked (no rare or even medium-rare cow here), accompanied by mashed potato made from a packet, and vegetables which had been boiled until they had the texture of soup. I have learned to generally expect poor food in a Natioonal Park. This place certainly lived down to expectations. Awful food; prison canteen ambience; punchy prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at Lake Lodge Cafeteria, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor comments advising us of you experience at Lake Lodge Cafeteria.

I was disappointed to read that the quality of the service at this location did not meet expectations. Grey, overcooked prime rib and vegetables sounds very unappetizing and certainly does not live up to the type of food we seek to provide guests. I'm deeply sorry for the quality of your meal and would have immediately replaced it had we known your dissatisfaction. Please accept my apologies and rest assured that I will follow up with the restaurant staff to ensure a similar situation can be prevented in the future.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope you will visit us again in Yellowstone. If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me via the information provided below.

Mike Keller, C. H. A.
Executive Director, Operations
Xanterra Parks & Resorts
PO BOX 165
Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
(307)-344-5206
mkeller@xanterra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cafeteria Food - Reasonable Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We ate dinner here one night. It's very reasonably priced - just don't expect great quality food. It's good just not like the other Yellowstone restaurants we visited.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Lodge Cafeteria also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Lake Lodge Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lodge Cafeteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.