We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Village Dining Room

Grant Village Dining Room
Grand Loop Drive, Yellowstone National Park, WY
307 344 7901
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nestled amid lodgepole pine trees is the full service Grant Village Dining Room. The location is certainly nice, but the food will really put you in a good place! Grant Village is located two miles south of the West Thumb Junction.
Beaworthy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We ate here one evening and received really good service and nice food. More extensive menu and a much better experience than the dining room at Canyon. We had prime rib and it was good. You get a better view of the lake at the Lake restaurant though...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    77
    66
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Poor Every Thing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Food was not very good. Old trout and very tough buffalo. Service was mixed up. Very poorly managed. Needs new everything. It's sad they have a captive audience and are not able to deliver a good experience. The park is great but this was a bummer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“So good, we went back for dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stopped here for lunch while driving around the loop. Beautiful view of the lake, great waiter, and good food. We had plenty of places that weren't so good before this and even our grandkids loved it, so we decided to come back for dinner. Earliest reservation we could get was 8:15 that night, but we were hooked so finished our drive around the Grand Loop, taking plenty of time to view everything as we went. When we got there, the place was really full, but with our reservation were seated fairly quickly. We were lucky enough to get our same waiter. He was friendly and in spite of all the people took time to share favorite places with us and answer questions. All agreed that it was our favorite restaurant in all that we had visited in our 1,500 mi. trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good choice of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

You really must book this as soon as you arrive, otherwise it gets very busy. We had people sit down at 19.30 and 21.30. The staff were however really lovely and enthusiastic.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not A Great Meal in a Busy Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had reservations but still had to wait for a table for 15-20 minutes. The rolls had too much basil as did the dry elk meatloaf. The salmon and trout were fair as we're the side dishes. My recommendation is try somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Village Dining Room also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Grant Village Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Village Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.