We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect breakfast stop after early start to look for wildlife.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room

Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room
Tower-Roosevelt, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
307 344 7902
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast stop after early start to look for wildlife.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

After the recommendation that wildlife is best viewed in Lamar Valley (and Hayden Valley) between 6am and 8am (and 6pm and 8pm), we got up early on our second day in Yellowstone and drove from Gardiner to Lamar Valley. This was well - worth the early start as we were able to watch the bison coming down from the hills and crossing the road to get the the river in the valley. So after this fantastic start to the day we rewarded ourselves with the most delicious breakfast inside the roosevelt lodge. I had my all time american favourite - french toast, bacon and eggs but my friends had a variety of different options from the menu - all of which were fantastic. The restaurant has a rustic feel to it but is maintained by friendly staff who waited on us efficiently. Before we drove on further, we stopped for a few minutes to enjoy the morning sunshine, sitting on the veranda in the lovely old-fashioned rocking chairs!! Overall a delightful experience, one which I would recommend to anyone who is visiting this corner of Yellowstone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    94
    35
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, MI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We knew that this would not be a culinary treat but we were pleasantly surprised by the experience. The building is a rustic cabin, and the atmosphere was homey and what you'd expect at Yellowstone. The food was better than expected. We tried the fried chicken, ribs, and trout. We all agreed that it wasn't the best food we had ever tasted but it was better than most places in Yellowstone and was done very well. Our server was very friendly and attentive. It's a nice place to stop while passing through the park. We waited about 30 minutes to be seated but it was a pleasant wait. Yu can wait in wooden rocking chairs on the porch and have a drink while waiting. I'd visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We did not go to Yellowstone for the food, but we were pleasantly surprised at the Roosevelt Lodge. The workers were friendly, and our server, although busy, still did a decent job with getting our food and beverages to us, fairly quickly. I had the Bison burger with mushrooms and Swiss cheese, and a side salad with fat-free vinaigrette, all delicious. My husband had the ribs with the Roosevelt beans. The ribs were so tender, and I loved the beans.

We had a party of 6, and there was no problem in having three separate checks; she even split the dessert price (Family-sized Apple-Huckleberry Crisp, excellent!) three ways. If you order the fruit crisp, I would suggest ordering it when you get your meal because the bake it fresh and it takes awhile. The lodge is beautiful, and we enjoyed our meal here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Like another reviewer, I too almost expected Roosevelt to walk through the door. The atmosphere is great, the food is pretty good, but I wouldn't rate this the best in the park. I had no problems with my meal and my food (chili and trout) were very tasty. I still wonder why venison is not on the menu in the parks....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, but slow, somewhat clueless service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Here is another Yellowstone locale that has some clueless young college students providing lackluster service. I ordered blueberry pancake for my son and got a plain one. We had service issues including slowness at both dinner and breakfast. Yet there are managers circulating and sometimes asking about your experience. It's a neat ambiance inside the rustic lodge. My bison burger was excellent. The breakfast burrito was small and lacking meat. I'm sure my husband was still hungry.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.