We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but slow, somewhat clueless service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room

Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room
Tower-Roosevelt, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
307 344 7902
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, but slow, somewhat clueless service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Here is another Yellowstone locale that has some clueless young college students providing lackluster service. I ordered blueberry pancake for my son and got a plain one. We had service issues including slowness at both dinner and breakfast. Yet there are managers circulating and sometimes asking about your experience. It's a neat ambiance inside the rustic lodge. My bison burger was excellent. The breakfast burrito was small and lacking meat. I'm sure my husband was still hungry.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    93
    35
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chico, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“No one goes to Yellowstone for the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ate at the restaurant twice while staying at the lodge. Dinner was not very good. We had to wait nearly two hours and the food was uninspired. We were told it would be a 20 minute wait. If we had known it would be 2 hours we might have taken a drive through the Lamar Valley and come back. The food was not terrible, but also not worth the cost or the wait. The setting is nice, and the staff were very friendly, but on my next visit I will consider making other arrangements for dinner. Unfortunately, the park service has granted Xanterra a virtual monopoly on all concessions, and I truly believe this has harmed the food service at Yellowstone. But then of course, no one goes to Yellowstone for the food. To be fair, we also had breakfast at the Lodge, which was a much nicer experience on nearly every level.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“LOVED this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

How cute the cabins are outfitted with wood burning stoves and tucked next to a little stream. Great place to stay and can't beat the price. Book early! Beds are doubles, but we had three beds so my tall husband had his own bed and it worked out perfectly. Food at the lodge was "eh". Dont get the mystery meatballs.

Great location to go out to Lamar Valley early in the morning. Wish the cafe or store was open earlier for coffee so without being able to heat water, we had to wait for them to open.

Next time will stay at least 2 nights instead of just the one.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here while touring the park.  There was a wait, but they seated us faster than they predicted.  The food was tasty (the cornbread was awesome), and the service was friendly and efficient.  The bill was not cheap, but not expensive either.

We'd not hesitate to stop here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Pleasant Setting, Food to Be Desired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Although the decor of the Lodge is worth a view, the food wasn't anything to write home about, except that it was pricey (as most of Yellowstone is). Staff were relatively attentive. However, I had a bellyache afterwards, so not inclined to recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.