We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool but not as cool as lower basin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Thumb Geyser Basin

West Thumb Geyser Basin
Yellowstone Lake, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Outdoors
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool but not as cool as lower basin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This section of geysers is unique because it's on the lakeside. Personally I think it's not as cool as lower basin though

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    88
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Amazing at sunrise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Even if you aren't a morning person get your butt out the door in time for a sunrise at West Thumb Geyser Basin. I have a photography hobby and had researched and found this spot to be recommended highly for sunrise photos and it did not disappoint. I was surprised to have seen the wildlife we did as well. A giant Elk steps out of the mist and onto the boardwalks and treated us to a bugling session since it was elk rut season. Another advantage to this spot early is NO CROWDS! As we were wrapping up our hour visit and leaving the tour buses were arriving and it was a different place entirely. There is a clean vault toilet in the parking lot and a small picnic area as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henderson, Nv
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Boardwalks Around the Geothermal Sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Well worth the time to walk around all the different types of geothermal sites. We took the short loop rather than the long. Amazing colors and different types. Not really a geyser basin but other forms of geothermal activity;

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful pools with views of Yellowstone Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Nice, short walk among gorgeous pools with expansive views of Yellowstone Lake and mountains in the distance.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A great option if you want to avoid the geyser mob scene and long walk at Old Faithful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

West Thumb is right off the highway and gives you a good taste of the geysers and hot springs you'll find all over Yellowstone. What makes this one nice is the walk is short and it sits right on Yellowstone Lake which is quite beautiful. I preferred this area to the Old Faithful geysers because of the lake view and the short walk. We love to hike, but when we walked all the geyser boardwalks at Old Faithful, it was hot, terribly crowded and terribly redundant. Watch Old Faithful erupt and then move on - unless you like crowds. West Thumb is a better place to get your geyser fix. Go early in the morning (no crowds) and then head out and do a spectacular hike like Elephant Back or the North Rim. This is worth a quick stop.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Thumb Geyser Basin also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to West Thumb Geyser Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Thumb Geyser Basin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.