We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Lodge

Cascade Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascade Lodge
North Rim Dr. at Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Better than most”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

OK, so it's a given that it's way overpriced since its in the park, but the look/feel of Cascade was much better than the other place we stayed in park, over at Unit E of Grant Village, and from what I could tell it sure looked alot nicer than the cabins at Canyon or Lake.

Location was nice, altho a little far to walk to dining etc, it's a short drive to the Village and to various Canyons spots. Room decoration felt like an outside the park western-themed lodge (like a nicer Best Western type place). Windows did open and had screens, and nice wood blinds- yay.

Unfortunately despite looking nicer than most in-park lodging, they still came up short on comfort- the mattress was weak- bouncy & cheap (altho new looking) mattress on top of a very noisy bed frame. We were on the first floor and when there were kids running around upstairs it sounded like armageddon. Addtl. minor complaint, also had to park kinda far away, esp. b/c no trailer parking some guests used up 3-4 spots a piece.

I'd stay again, b/c we wanted to visit the Canyon area on 2 different days, but I wouldn't recommend staying too long unless you are a deep sleeper with a tolerant back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

After two nights a Mammoth Lodge, we stayed at Cascade Lodge in the Canyon area of Yellowstone. This was a treat as we booked an upscale room, and this was by far the best room we had in all of Yellowstone. It was clean and comfortable. I would stay here again, as long as I wasn't put next to the door leading into the lodge. The front door tended to slam shut and people were coming and going at all hours. We smoke, so there were two nice benches outside where you could smoke.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Wanted to stay in the park. We reserved two rooms with two double beds in each room. Check-in was painless. Staff was polite. Rooms were clean and comfortable. No extra amentities...just your basic room with a bathroom. Room was clean and cozy. Probably overpriced, but we did stay in the park close to attractions. Canyon Village restaurant had great food and service. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We had reservations for 3 nights. We only stayed 2 nights. The room reminded me of a dorm room. It has two double beds in the room. Our room had no heat and we had to call two times to get someone to come up and fix the problem. During the night, a spider crawled on my face. I thought the room was way "over" priced for it being like a dorm room. Our meal in the cafeteria in the village was just ok. We ate one night at the Lake Hotel restaurant and it was wonderful. Wish we had stayed at the Lake Hotel. We were very disappointed. The room was noisy. Both nights we could hear someone snoring in the room next to us!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Cascade Lodge for two nights in early June. We loved it! It was very clean and comfortable with light pine paneling and furniture. Our room on the second floor was easy to reach even without an elevator (Room 205) but was also quiet. Room 205 has a partial view of the woods, as well as the parking lot. It was across the hallway from the ice machine but we did not experience noise problems. There were 4 windows which could be opened for fresh air. Originally I thought I would be disappointed not to get the sister lodge Dunraven because it is newer and has a lounge and elevator, but I liked Cascade just as well and Cascade residents have the use of Dunraven's lounge. We would definitely stay in Cascade Lodge again!

  • Liked — clean, conveniently located, comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

Cascade Lodge is a very nice facility; however, there needs to be strict quality control in cleaning. There was debris on the carpet when we checked in, and neither the room, nor the bathroom was cleaned during our three day stay.

Even worse, we noticed a few small bugs in the room which we determined to be bedbugs after we came home with a few in our suitcases. Hope we didn't pass this infestation on to the Yellowstone Snow Lodge which was our next stop. Rooms and service there was great.

This is a relatively new facility and although we requested a ground floor room due to health problems, we were given a second floor room. There was no elevator or anyone available to assist with bags.

We will not stay at Cascade Lodge again.

  • Liked — Location within Yellowstone
  • Disliked — Bedbugs & unclean conditions
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

You book this room on the Xantera company website. It's described as a high range room at the Canyon area of Yellowstone. I think it is luck of the draw weather they give you a room in Cascade or Dunraven, but the looked the same to me. Dunraven has an elevator. The room was very nice. Comfortable beds, strong shower, 4 windows to catch the clean mountain air, and a fan for the afternoon. There is no phone or TV, but that is true for all of the rooms in Yellowstone. There are three benches outside to sit on.
My husband said he was glad I had booked 3 nights there.

From the Canyon village, you can get on a yellow "bus" (long car) tour to take you to the canyon, or Lamar valley to see bears, antelope, and bison.

Also, we enjoyed the Canyon dining room (nice when you want a "real" dinner and are sick of cafeteria food), the cafeteria fro breakfast, and the the diner style hamburger and shakes in the gift store.

Stay here when visiting yellowstone, you will not be disapointed.
I stayed one night at Old Faithful, and 3 here.

  • Liked — comfortable, quiet
  • Disliked — no king beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: North Rim Dr. at Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cascade Lodge to your Saves list