We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay while at Yellowstone.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Lodge

Cascade Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascade Lodge
Save Saved
You added Cascade Lodge to your Saves list
North Rim Dr. at Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay while at Yellowstone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had requested Dunraven Lodge, but were allocated 'a really nice room' on the ground floor at Cascade. This turned out to be 106, one of the darkest rooms I have seen, looking out onto a wall.
We went straight back to reception and asked if it could be changed as we were return visitors, were there for three nights and had booked in December last year. The lady clerk was very sympathetic and we were changed to 109, a lovely corner room, bright, spacious and well equipped. There were two double beds, plenty of storage space, so important when travelling for a while. So we were well pleased and enjoyed this visit even more than last year. Canyon Village is a nice central place to stay in the park, most places being within easy reach. The restaurant is being reroofed and work being done outside, but it did not spoil our enjoyment at all - after all renovation has to be during the better weather.

Room Tip: Refuse 106 for a start, it should be a cupboard, and 104 only marginally better. Look before you tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    18
    1
    5
See reviews for
27
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Cascade Lodge( August 13-14) and loved it. We asked for and received a top floor room - it faced north-ish toward the little stream running through the back side of the lodge, but also toward the parking lot. Since we were just about the first ones up each morning, that wasn't a problem! It was quiet, spacious, and cool. Beds were comfy. Location is just great for animal watching - right next to Hayden valley and not a terribly long drive from Lamar. The actual bathroom is teeny ( toilet and tub/shower) with a sink just outside, which allows two to get ready at once. Really fun pine furniture.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Canyon is a great location to explore many areas of the park. Cascade Lodge was definitely newer than most others. Very clean, bright, and welcoming after long day of exploration. The biggest bonus was the dining options on the property, the large general store, and the fabulous visitors center all within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a very nice stay for one night. The room and bathroom were updated and clean. There were two double beds and a table, plenty of room to stretch out. Keurig and hair dryer in the room. Check in was easy and the service was pleasant. The location was good and the buildings in this area didn't interrupt their surroundings too much. Some other lodging areas in the park are too busy with human traffic. You can get some peace here. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

No one spends any time in their room in Yellowstone. A room with two double beds was great for a family of four. Cascade lodge in the Canyon is a great place centrally located to everything in Yellowstone. The cafeteria left a lot to be desired, but the General store made up for that.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

On our two-day drive through Yellowstone in July, we spent one night at Canyon Lodge in the Cascade Lodge building. We paid a premium price for this very basic room, but the location is well worth that price. If you really want to see all the highlights of Yellowstone, you should allow a minimum of one full day for the upper loop drive and a second full day for the lower loop. The location of Canyon Lodge enables you to drive these routes see the major sights without a lot of backtracking and extra driving.

Check in was quick and friendly. Note....The registration office and dining areas are being reroofed, and the construction barricades and equipment are not pleasant. This is only a problem outside the buildings...parking, walking around. Once inside, everything is as usual. We enjoyed a great meal at the Canyon Lodge Restaurant as well as a quick breakfast the next morning in the adjacent cafeteria.

As mentioned, the rooms in Cascade Lodge are very basic...no phone, television or elevator. They do, however, provide a hair dryer, coffee maker and the cutest bear shaped soap! We would definitely recommend staying here if you want a clean, convenient place in the park to spend a night or two.

Room Tip: The third floor might be quieter, but keep in mind that there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Rooms were ready when we arrived (early). However we were delayed getting into them (actually the whole lodge) as we had to wait for the bison to move away from the front door before we could go in! It was a great welcome and the kids loved it! The room was others as described and was very clean. Our room was on the first floor looking into the woods with a stream. We were also near the ice machine but we never heard any noise from there or any other rooms around or above us. Was a great night sleep on very comfortable beds and with the stream outside. Wished we had spent more than one night-well worth every penny! Everyone at the Canyon Lodge was also great and very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: North Rim Dr. at Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.