We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern room with nothing around it, good central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascade Lodge
Save
You added Cascade Lodge to your Saves list
North Rim Dr. at Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, Ca.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Modern room with nothing around it, good central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Cascade and Dunraven lodges are next to each other. We stayed in Cascade, Dunraven is a bit nicer as it has an elevator and sitting room. The two lodges are set among the cabins, so there are no services at the lodges. You can call a shuttle for a ride to the village area which includes check in, gift shops, store, cafeteria and dining hall. The buidings and rooms are modern and clean. Standard small motel style bathroom. Nice beds and decor. We could hear the stream out back from our room. I hardly saw or heard anyone while we were there. Everyone is out exploring all day and sleeping at night, so not much activity. We were able to sleep six (3 generations) in one room which saves alot of money over getting two rooms. We had to bring blow up mattresses for the kids. The lodge provided extra pillows and blankets on request. Canyon Village is in a good location for exploration as it sits on the intersection of the upper and lower yellowstone loop roads.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    19
    1
    5
See reviews for
27
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellford, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Cascade lodge is in a great location and very clean.The only problem I had was that the walls are paper thin.You could hear everything your neighbors had to say.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The check in was fine, the actual room was in a building a short drive from the main lodge. There is no elevator and the ice machine on our level was not working. The hallways were well lit and I felt safe in the hotel. The room was small and the beds felt very small. There is no air conditioning but with the windows open it was fine when we were there. Would I stay here again...well if I was touring Yellowstone and wanted to be in the park probably but I would like more luxuries to be happy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in Cascade Lodge for 4 nights. The room was very clean, we were in a corner room on the 2nd floor and had no issues with noise. We could even hear the babbling stream outside. The room had a Keurig coffee maker, and a hair dryer. If you are driving, I would recommend bring some extra pillows. The pillows were pretty hard foam pillows. The bathroom was small, and I imagine it would be difficult for someone tall to shower! I would certainly stay here again. With two boys I felt is was easier for us to stay in one location in the park rather than pack up and move a lot. The Canyon area is really a great central location.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Cascade and Dunraven lodge have been built in the last 4-5 yrs. we stayed in cascade lodge and also in the western cabins. The western cabins are a little more spacious with a bigger bathroom. Cascade rooms are standard hotel rooms but to have all the basic amenities in the middle of the park is pretty good. Xanterra people are courteous and accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Location, location, location. The Canyon Area is the heart of Yellowstone, and at the time, before the new Old Faithful ranger station opened, it had the best ranger station with extremely informative exhibits. We found it to be a great place to introduce ourselves to Yellowstone. The area itself is a great base as it's central to Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone, Lake, and Tower-Roosevelt. However, we chose to stay two nights each in four different areas of the park to minimize drive time each day. When I reserved in the Canyon area, I thought I was going to be in one of the nondescript cabins. However, upon check-in, I learned that I was in Cascade Lodge instead. It was a lovely, relatively large, standard motel room with a nice layout and ample space for our three large rolling bags and three daypacks. It is quiet but is fairly far from the "hub" of Canyon Village where the restaurant, cafeteria, gift shop and ranger station are. Parking was also not sufficient for the guests at Cascade and Dunraven Lodge (next door). Idling tour buses were an early morning problem. Otherwise, I was pleasantly surprised by Cascade Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My family and I had the pleasure of staying two nights at Cascade Lodge in the Canyon Village area of Yellowstone in July 2010. Since many of the hotel choices in the park are very old, this was a breath of fresh air, literally. We had a first floor back corner room with a little babbling brook right outside our windows! It was lovely. The room was quite large, very clean and quiet. We had two queen beds, a small table with chairs and a full size dresser. After passing the other "cabins" on the way to Cascade, we knew we had made an excellent choice. If we ever go back, this is definitely where we would stay. No room service, frills or TV, but that's the norm anywhere you stay in the park. We got exactly what we expected. Great location for exploring the park, lots of choices in Canyon Village for eating and shopping, and the building was just far enough away from the very busy village area. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: North Rim Dr. at Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.