We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frontier Cabin at Yellowstone Lake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins to your Saves list
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Batavia, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Frontier Cabin at Yellowstone Lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a stand-alone Frontier cabin for two nights in early June. The cabins are close together and appear to be randomly placed throughout the property. Didn't have any trouble with noise except the people who checked in late, parked outside our cabin and set their car alarm (beep, beep) with each trip into the cabin with luggage etc. No lake view from the cabin but a short walk took us to the General store and road by the lake where we witnessed a beautiful sunset and storm clouds gathering over the mountains. The cabin was small but adequate for my husband and I. Small desk and chair and suitcase table at the foot of the bed. Beds just ok. The best part was that we didn't have to leave the park each night which allowed us to explore more sights after dinner (daylight until 9:30-10:00), often by ourselves as the crowds and tour busses had left for the day :)

Room Tip: Ask for a stand alone cabin instead of duplex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    88
    49
    25
    12
See reviews for
67
122
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Top tip for visiting Yellowstone: stay just outside the park and travel in. Lake Yellowstone, and its sister properties throughout the park, are dirty, dated and run by rude staff.

---

After nearly three weeks of our trip - 12 hotels, 6 states, 5 national parks – we were enjoying the exceptional, friendly service that the USA is famous for. This came to an abrupt end at Lake Yellowstone.

After a curt and unfriendly greeting at check-in we went to our Frontier cabin. Built in the 1920s, they are described as simple and quaint – no TV, no air conditioning – which sounded just fine for a couple of days by the lake.

Unfortunately, they are also in terrible state. Ours was unclean, with ingrained dirt on most surfaces (including mould in the shower), a stained and crunchy carpet and rotten window frames. There were empty bottles of toiletries in the shower. The furniture is tatty, water-damaged and stained. The bed linen looks as if it survived World War 2, and the pillows are like sleeping on squeaky polystyrene blocks.

Not much could be done in our 2 days about the fabric of the cabins, but we complained about the cleanliness. The receptionist’s reaction was “what do you want me to do about it”. We asked if they could at least make sure the cabin was cleaned the next day. It wasn’t. The beds had been made, but the floor was filthy and covered in gravel, dirt, litter and dust. The empty toiletry bottles remained.

The hotel is operated by Xanterra, who appear to run all hotels and dining facilities in Yellowstone National Park, and their staff’s attitude seems to be uniform across their whole operation. But for one or two exceptions (bar tenders were generally good), the staff are rude, unhelpful and disinterested. Cafes are advertised as open, but found to be unstaffed. (In the case of the espresso bar at Old Faithful Lodge, a sign saying “back at 10.30 was still there at 10.45, and the reception staff shrugged their shoulders when I asked if it was actually manned.)

Xanterra-run food stores look post-apocalyptic with their empty shelves and fridges (though they have aisles and aisles of souvenir tat for sale), and the dining facilities look like they have not been renovated, or had a menu change, since the 1960s.

Dinner in the Lake Yellowstone hotel’s main restaurant was average quality, carelessly presented and vastly overpriced. We were eventually seated, once the rude maître d’ allowed us to finish a sentence. Our waiter was friendly, but scatty - three wrong dishes were given to us before our order arrived, then he tried to clean our plates away twice while we were still eating. We were told that we couldn’t charge anything to our room, as we hadn’t left a credit card imprint at reception, even though we had asked twice on check-in if we needed to leave them an imprint and twice were refused.

I daresay that because of its location, Lake Yellowstone makes vast amounts of money and does not need to change. However, if the management to take any pride in this operation, they should take a long, hard look at every single aspect.

A final story which illustrates Xanterra’s attitude to their guests’ safety and comfort: A fellow guest told us that his carbon monoxide alarm had gone off in his room. He reported it in the morning, and returned in the evening to ask reception if someone had checked his room to make sure if it was safe. “Yeah, they probably have…” was the lacklustre reply. “I’d quite like to know if I’m going to wake up tomorrow,” he told us. If you’re waking up in Lake Yellowstone hotel, I’m not sure you’d want to.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were very happy with our stay at theLake Hotel at Yellowstone -the standard of the recently renovated hotel rooms and public areas is very good and comfortable .


We stayed on the last night of the season but that did not affect the service standards as we thought it might .

Only area of improvement would be a better standard / more imaginative range of food on offer at the restaurant - but this comment is applicable to other hotels etc that we experienced in the wonderful park.

Strongly recommend in the hotel room section of The Lake Hotel

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

it was almost middle of September and we were not aware that in this season we should make reservation, so we have been really lucky to grab the cabin. Bit pricey, but so cute and comfy. We would like to stay one more night but the hotel was completely booked

Room Tip: We did enjoy very much the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuftonboro, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our third time staying here and not impressed. The hotel is beautiful as it has been "restored" in their words. Really just a paint job, new furniture and carpets. At least when we stayed before the prices was more reasonable. Now it has almost doubled. Nice view of the lake but just not worth the price.

Another bone to pick is if you don't make dinner reservations way in advance you don't get to eat. We prefer to eat next door in the lodge cafeteria as it is by far more reasonable, but it was closed. The hotel was also closing in a few days. I understand it is a park and there are not a lot of places to stay but I would stay at the lodge or cabins if I were to do it again.

The buses filled with people just kept coming and coming and I believe this is where the restaurant reservations were being hogged by. I do not think it is fair that you pay almost $400 a night and then can't use the restaurant due to busloads of tourists!!! Which, by the way, also made it wonderful in the morning to get in a long line of bus tourists just to get a cup of coffee in the deli!

We also wanted to do laundry but that was also over at the Lake Lodge which they closed so we couldn't do the laundry either.

Room Tip: Stay at lodge or camps, far more reasonable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This may be the most beautiful setting in Yellowstone if you are staying in the Park in accommodations that are managed by Xanterra. The cabins are very basic and nothing special. There were bugs on the walls that had not been removed by the cleaners, the showerhead was pathetic, and the heater very noisy. The windows rattled in the wind and woke us up. The beds were comfortable however.

We ate once in the restaurant, one of the worst breakfasts in my memory at a Park Hotel. The server was stressed, the scrambled eggs tasteless and cold. We asked that the food be brought to us hot, and believe they just put the same scrambled mess back in the pan. No good meal memories here!

The Deli lines were long, but the staff seemed to cope well in what is a very cramped and difficult environment. Our lattes were excellent. We can't speak for the food, but it didn't appear to be worth eating.

Best to bring your own food and make your own sandwiches if staying here.

The gift shop was very good, and the staff friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natchez
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night in one of the frontier cabins and one night in a room at the Sandpiper Lodge (which is called the Annex). The cabin was cute and perfect for just two people. The Annex room was fine too, but the décor needs to be updated! Both are very convenient to the big hotel where you can dine in the restaurant or grab something from the deli.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Address: Lake Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Yellowstone Hotel
Hotel Lake Yellowstone
Yellowstone Lake Hotel
Lake Yellowstone National Park
Lake Yellowstone Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.