We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Save Saved
You added Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Old charm class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This was our second time staying at Lake Yellowstone. Very nice hotel and restaurant. This year we stayed in the Annex which is the separate building from the main hotel. Room was a bit small with sink in the bedroom, no fridge or microwave, but overall adequate. The nightly piano playing in the lobby was great. Dining was very good, service was slow. Location in the park is perfect. We made it our home base for 2 days.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    49
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
45
60
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here 7 years ago and enjoyed it, so decided to stay for 2 nights this time.. It is wonderful after the renovations! Now have a phone in the rooms..a business center, and the rooms, lobby, restaurant are all beautiful! We had a lakeside king room and enjoyed looking out over the lake. Had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was very good..the other night we ate at the cafeteria at the Lake Lodge,just a short drive down the road, and it was also very good. We also ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant one night and it was also very good. We prefer this area to the old faithful area since it is not as crowded, and it is close to Hayden valley... Had a buffalo right outside the back door of the hotel one morning.. Yes, it is expensive, but it is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When I booked this hotel, I picked it primarily for its location. It is somewhat centrally located in Yellowstone Park, plus it sits on Yellowstone Lake. The property is nice, however, the rooms can be a bit stuffy and warm. We visited in August and found we had to leave a window open all the time or the room got quite warm. There are no televisions in the rooms. This wasn't a problem with us. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We plan to return next summer and will stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an even number, preferably on the 4th floor. The noise from the parking lot can ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lake Hotel is like a box of mixed chocolates: You never quite know what you're going to get. But if you're willing to take a chance on the occasional shortcoming, Lake's plusses far outweigh the minuses ... enough so that my wife and I still prefer it to all the other properties and dining options in Yellowstone (some of which are excellent in their own right). All of Lake's shortcomings arise from two unavoidable issues: 1) a seasonal staff that's new every year and 2) having only 4 months in which to generate a full year's revenues. Result: Service can be spotty, and prices can seem high. Our last stay is illustrative: We got terrible uncaring breakfast service from a slacker dude named Drew, but superb dinner service from Annie from Maine. And we paid $362 (fees & taxes included) for one night in a "standard queen" room. But Lake is nonetheless a unique and memorable experience. The rooms have been incredibly refurbished by concessioner Xanterra - they're sleek, polished, well appointed, and modern, yet in a style reminiscent of Lake's turn of the century heritage. The lobby is not to be missed, nearly magical in late afternoon and into the evening; you can easily find yourself mentally transported to an earlier age of elegance and style. Bottom line: "The Yellowstone reservations you make, can't be better than the Hotel Lake."

Room Tip: Take some time to study the many room and cabin types at Lake. There's a wide variety in locatio...
See more room tips
Green Features: It's hard to imagine a more environmentally-conscious hotel -- at Lake or any other of Xanterra's Yellowstone lodgings.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

With a late decision to visit Yellowstone this hotel was the only one available. Don't know what we may have missed at the others, but this one was very good. The room was a little small and had very limited storage space, but it was well appointed, clean, had a nice bathroom, and we had a great view of the lake. The hotel is climate-controlled, but despite the existence of a thermostat in the room, which appeared to have no effect, we did have to use an oscillating fan we found in the room at night.
There's lots of convenient parking, bell service if you need it, and the elevators operated quickly. The lodge offers a number of conveniences, and everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. There's a beautiful lounge/sitting area which offered live music each evening we were there, and a very nice deli for a quick breakfast if you want to get an early jump on the bison-viewing.
The dining room was lovely, the food good, and the service mostly excellent. We did have one shaky experience at breakfast with a young lady from central Europe who was learning the job and English at the same time, but she was so charming and apologetic that it did not spoil our meal. All other meals were great. ONE CAUTION: As soon as you make your lodge or cabin reservations - even a year in advance - MAKE YOUR DINNER RESERVATIONS if you want to eat in the dining room. They book up quickly, and you could be faced - as we were - with eating dinner at 5:15 or 9:30!
The grounds around the hotel are pretty, and there are a number of walking trails. There's also a nice dock on the lake behind the hotel where you can sit and enjoy the view of the water and mountains.
Not cheap, but a good place to stay, and relatively easy drives to the key points in the Park.

Room Tip: Try for a lake view
See more room tips
Green Features: About what you'd expect in a National Park; recycling bins around the property, suggested reuse of bath linens, and centralized thermostat controls.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was my first time at the Lake Yellowstone Hotel and I look forward to my next visit. At the time of my visit, the majority of the hotel had been renovated and the results were outstanding. The lobby is huge but inviting with large sitting areas, lovely view of the lake and a warm atmosphere. We found the staff to be very helpful. Our room was essentially brand new with plenty of space and large bathroom. Everything was tastefully decorated without being pretentious. The entire facility was clean and well maintained. My only complaint is that our room was near the lobby area and the noise did travel into our room. Fortunately, everything is very quiet at night. There is no TV and no internet service but I consider this a bonus. Staying in a National Park is an opportunity to enjoy the beauty of nature, take advantage of it. Our first morning in the hotel went went on a walk and discovered a buffalo grazing near the cabins. He was simply amazing and far more impressive than anything on an LCD screen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this Hotel as it was the only place left to book in the Park - everywhere else was full - so book early. The hotel is being restored and appears to be nearing completion. The place has a very pleasant feel to it and the reception staff are helpful - relatively minor issues - (1) the seats looking out of the Sun Room are some of the most uncomfortable I have sat on - is this to keep people moving (all the others n the room are very comfortable)? Throughout our stay one or other of the lifts was no working, and it appeared someone got stuck in one on one evening.

The room - we had booked a room with a view of the lake (as that was all that was left). The view is wonderful. The rooms are well appointed and the bed was comfortable. There was no fridge and the internet cable didn't appear to work. The main issue is how light the room was at night. There is a light in the bathroom which cannot be turned off (so light from around the frame), The aircon had a bright (at night) green light from it and the smoke alarm (?) on the ceiling did a great impression of a spaceship from outer space (flashing lights).

The Moon guide book say the third floor is best - which is where we were given a room. We had room 360 - this is on the end of the block. The positive aspect to this is that in addition to the lake view, you also get a side window with a forest view, which was nice. The distance from reception also needs to be considered - it is over 200 yards from reception, and well over 100 yards from the lifts - over a quarter of a mile return trip to the Sun Lounge - may be too much for some or good exercise for others.

The hotel has a good central location in the park and easy access to much wildlife (we had bison, elk, grizzlies within 10 miles of us).

The hotel doesn't feel like a National Park Hotel, though. It feels like a down market version of Disney's Grand Floridian (rather than the Old Faithful Inn which is like / the model for Disney's Wilderness Lodge). Having visited the shops in both, they obviously cater for different clientele. If I visited again, I would go for the Old Faithful Inn. The Lake Hotel is expensive for what you get.

Incidentally, when I go to parks run by Xanterra I generally find a more mediocre / expensive / ineffective experience than when I visit those not run by Xanterra.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Address: Lake Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Yellowstone Hotel
Hotel Lake Yellowstone
Yellowstone Lake Hotel
Lake Yellowstone National Park
Lake Yellowstone Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.