We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complimentary WiFi facility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Save Saved
You added Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Complimentary WiFi facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was with a Tauck Tour Group. The Hotel would've been upgraded to my standard of above average if there was complimentary wireless WiFi facility. The surrounding environment & the ambience of the " public area " & the restaurant were very pleasant. Definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: I'm not really sure. In my books, a "good room " has to be clean , with e-suite , air...
See more room tips
Green Features: I think it is basically environmentally friendly in that the occupants are encouraged to reuse towels etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I made last minute travel plans to see Yellowstone on a quick weekend getaway in late June 2014. About 3 weeks out we were able to contact Lake Yellowstone Hotel through their management company (Xanterra) and obtain lodging. They were able to accommodate us in a queen room for the two nights we were staying in Yellowstone.

The Xanterra staff went above and beyond in helping us. They returned several emails and phone calls in a timely manner and even helped us make dinner reservations at the Lake Yellowstone Restaurant and the Old Faithful Inn restaurant. A special Thank-you goes out to “Kitty” for all of her help.

The room was recently remodeled/renovated and it was very nice. It had its own bathroom, fresh paint, new bedding and furniture and it was perfect for what we needed. The bed was comfortable and the linens all fresh. The hallways weren’t too busy and the noise was limited. They do ask people to keep quite after a certain time as some of the guests have tours that start around 5:00 a.m. in the summer. We carry a white-noise machine when we travel and that helps alot. Important to remember, there is NO air conditioning in the guest sleeping rooms. The hotel is very large and has a full service restaurant and bar. It has a gift shop that also has some small toiletry items. The hotel has a full time concierge to help with tours and park activities.

The hotel staff was very professional and took care of us quickly at check-in. While I overheard another guest explaining that he had a problem in his room (with the heater) they appeared to be handling it with a very professional and customer friendly response.

Our dinner at the Lake Yellowstone restaurant was very nice. We had a late dinner reservation as we wanted to spend as much time out in the daylight in this beautiful setting as possible. Our waiter was friendly, had a couple of appropriate jokes and was responsive to our needs and made some nice recommendations (wine and an appetizer). The cost was reasonable. The food was very good. It was cooked to perfection and was the correct temperature when served. NOTE: Dinner reservations are strongly suggested for Yellowstone Lake and Old Faithful Inn restaurants during the summer.

The lounge/bar was also fun. They had a string quartet playing in the lobby/main area and we had a drink while listening to the music. It was very relaxing. Lots of people watching and letting the day wind down. The second night we sat outside and just gazed upon the lake and beautiful backdrop. We were able to take pictures of the buffalo that decided to come up to the front of the hotel and munch on the landscaped lawn. Great photo opportunity and everyone kept their distance.

No surprises at checkout. It went smoothly and the bill was correct. We did “adopt” one of the bears for about $19.50 and it now sits in our house reminding us of a great trip. About 3 days after our return I checked my bank account and found that they had charged me twice for the “adoption.” I had already taken care of this at checkout, but if the bear is taken from the room housekeeping just adds it to the bill. When I called the hotel, they apologized and immediately refunded that amount to my card.

Overall, it was a very nice facility. It’s a beautiful setting for a number of activities (at least one wedding took place while we were staying there). The hotel is great for singles, couples and families. The lodging cost is reasonable, but you will pay more for being IN the park rather than staying outside the park at one of the many surrounding hotels. But the time you save driving in and out of the park is worth the extra cost. I would recommend taking a picnic lunch as you travel around the park. There are lots of great places to pull over and eat. There aren’t a lot of food places in the park, so plan ahead.

Always have your camera ready and enjoy.

Room Tip: If you can get it, the Lakeside view rooms are probalbly magnificent.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel and staff is Eco-friendly all the way around.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently spent 2 nights at the Lake Yellowstone Hotel, in the newly-renovated east wing. (The "grand opening" of the east wing was scheduled for 2 days after we checked out.) There are 3 or 4 entrances to the hotel so it was a bit confusing when we first arrived; there are also sets of stairs (3 or 4 steps) on the main floor when coming from the east wing to the main lobby, so if that may be an issue be sure to inquire when making your reservations. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and elegant. And it's priced accordingly. Food in the main dining room was delicious - we had 2 dinners and 1 breakfast here and both hubby and I had no complaints. The deli was on the small side, wish they could have made it a little larger with a few more selections. The woman at the concierge desk (sorry, I forget her name) was wonderful, so helpful, and seemed much better informed than the woman at the check-in counter.

Since we were the first to stay in the renovated room, everything was pristine, brand-new, and clean. The lamps were missing light bulbs, but housekeeping took care of that quickly. Can't beat the view of the lake!

The hotel is expensive, but if your budget allows, try to fit in a night or two. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not much to look at from the outside, the interior renovation of the Yellowstone Hotel is something to behold. Elegant and modern at the same time. Loved the piano player or string quartet in the sun room after dinner. Food in the dining room was the best on the property. We splurged and stayed in a King Lakeview Suite, and it was huge. Great soaking tub as well as a very modern looking glass shower. The "deli" was a bit small compared to the one at the Old Faithful Inn, really just a coffee shop.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have always wanted to stay at a National Park hotel/lodge and made a last minute decision to try in Yellowstone. Luckily we were able to get the chance at the Lake Hotel on Yellowstone Lake. Although the room lacked any modern amenities, air-conditioning, Internet, it was still very comfortable. We had a great view of the lake, and an outstanding breakfast in the lodge dining room.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the lake view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Outstanding, real focus on being Eco-friendly. Even the drinking glasses are recycled!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in cabin 611, at the front overlooking the park. Don't be put off by the photo as they are well equipped and outside you have the most wonderful scenery to immerse yourself in. I would recommend staying in the park and not outside as the park is huge, speed limits low (quite rightly) so you do spend a lot of time getting to some of the sights but cost of course is always a factor. The hotel restaurant is of a very high standard and worth a visit but book.
We had a bison eating grass about 50 feet from the cabin, is that not the experience you go for?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in cabin which when you approached the flaking paintwork, you were filled with a sense of ................................. but once inside excellent accommodation.

Short 3 minute walk to hotel. Wonderful under the stars.

Great and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Address: Lake Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Yellowstone Hotel
Hotel Lake Yellowstone
Yellowstone Lake Hotel
Lake Yellowstone National Park
Lake Yellowstone Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.