We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunraven Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunraven Lodge
Save
You added Dunraven Lodge to your Saves list
North Rim Drive, Yellowstone National Park, WY   |  
Hotel amenities
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for the Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

When we arrived, our room was not ready, but the gentleman at the counter put us in a room that was ready to go. What a great room! We stayed on the ground floor on a back-side room that looked out over the trees and could hear elk bugling in the evening. Our room was very large with two queen sized beds, a small table and dresser. The bathroom was a little tight - I could see a large/tall individual having a bit of a hard time getting into the shower/toilet area, but it was very clean. There are no phones, tvs, or internet services in any of the rooms, but there is a courtesy phone on the first floor by the elevator as well as a snack machine and ice machine. I think there was a drink machine, but it had been removed for maintenance. A great stay.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, Quiet
  • Disliked — In a Busy Section of the Park
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

We spent two nights in Dunraven during a tour of Yellowstone and Grand Teton. Dunraven is located in the Canyon area of the park, which though central, is a little busy for my taste.

Dunraven is situated away from the hectic area and it was extremely quiet and comfortable. The carpets have thick padding (making it even quieter) and the room was spotless. There is ample room for luggage (we had 4 of us in a room) as well as a small nook with a coffee pot. It even came with an herb tea I enjoyed when we came in one night.

I liked the bath products, but the shower is a little on the low side (only an issue for a tall person).

We ate breakfast at the diner counter in the general store and purchased provisions for lunch. We ate dinner at Lake Yellowstone Hotel one of the nights because we took the sunset Yellow Bus tour (excellent meal and tour) and we had dinner at the Mammoth dining room on the second night since we had gone horseback riding in that area (also excellent).

The area is hectic, but we had a trail to ourselves when we hiked in the area by Inspiration Point. It was helpful to stop in the Visitor's Center and get advice for hikes.

This was an extremely convenient and comfortable location during our Yellowstone stay and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — It was centrally located, yet very quiet and comfortable.
  • Disliked — The Canyon area is very busy, but nothing I didn't already expect. The showerhead it a little low.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

No TV! No Phones! No Air Conditioning!

ILoved It!

Nice, clean, quick check in!
Was in 80's during the day & 40's at night. Great sleeping with the windows open!

My only complaint was Mosquitos in my room! Probably because we wre in 1st room by entrance which had a big light. They probably came in at night & came in the room when we opened the door.

Over all I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Definitely some of the best lodging in Yellowstone. A bit expensive, but the room was rather new, well furnished, large, and has a great central location in the park. It's well worth the price premium. I managed to get the room only a couple days ahead of time so keep checking for cancelations.

  • Liked — Great central location in Yellowstone
  • Disliked — A wee bit expensive but it's worth it
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunraven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Lodge

Address: North Rim Drive, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Dunraven Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Dunraven Motel Yellowstone National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunraven Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.