We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunraven Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunraven Lodge
Save
You added Dunraven Lodge to your Saves list
North Rim Drive, Yellowstone National Park, WY   |  
Hotel amenities
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

If you go to Yellowstone, this is a great place to stay. The rooms are neat and clean. They are good sized. You can get all around Yellowstone easily. The staff is good and friendly. Food is good. We never stayed in a National Park before. It was a great experience that everyone should enjoy.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This lodge is located behind Canyon Village and is a sister lodge to Cascade. I've stayed in Cascade before, and this time had Dunraven. The room was not a big as we hoped, but it was comfortable and mostly clean. The bathroom floor was absolutely filthy, though, and I ended up cleaning it myself with some clorox wipes. Housekeeping looked overwhelmed, so cleaning is hit or miss. The furniture and beds were comfortable but the bathroom small and cramped. There is a separate vanity/sink outside the bathroom, so two people can get ready at once. This lodge is three levels, and does have an elevator, albeit pretty slow. We were on the bottom level, which is actually downstairs from the main floor, which was kind of weird, but our view was out the back and into the woods. The room has a small fan in case it gets too hot, or you can open the windows to get some fresh air. Overall, I liked the Cascade room better, because it was lots bigger, but Dunraven looked more updated. Overall a pleasant stay, with just a few minor quirks, but you can't beat the location in the park for this type of accommodation. Food in the village was surprisingly good this time around, but they are doing major roof repair, so it is a bit messy.

Room Tip: Try to get a high room, overlooking woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had stayed at other National Park Lodges so knew not to expect too much even with the $200 hefty price tag. For us it's all about location, location... We were pleasantly surprised by the Canyon Area Lodges. Dunraven was newly updated, clean and right on the edge of the woods. There was a big gathering room with comfy chairs, game tables and lots of windows. This is about as close to camping as I like to get. The main lodge with the restaurants was under renovation but still offered a nice variety of food. Because the Canyon Lodges are in the middle of YNP, we were able to do half the park each day without having to drive all the way out of the park at night. The next day, we saw lots of Bison and a few wolves in Lamar Valley!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were having trouble finding lodging in Yellowstone Park in July and reluctantly booked one of our only options, a lodge room in Canyon Village. We were very happy that this room was in Dunraven Lodge which is only a year or so old and very upscale compared to the rest of Canyon Village, or most other accomodations in Yellowstone.(Cascade Lodge is identical to Dunraven.)
These lodges are on the edge of the Village and our window looked out into the forest. No meals are included but the dining room and cafeteria in the main lodge building are ok--it is a long walk or short drive from these Lodges to the main Village. They have a great visitor center (new) in the Village. Lots of new construction is underway at Yellowstone, especially state of the art visitor centers.

Room Tip: Specify these lodge rooms and not the cabins. We did stay in a Western Cabin at Lake Village another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We just stayed at Dunraven Lodge for the 2nd time in four years. The location is wonderful for visiting any place in the park. The rooms are spacious and clean and still feel like new(although the bathroom is a bit cramped). One of the things I appreciate most is that the rooms have windows that swing completely open to allow for great ventilation at night, which is important since there is not air conditioning. No, there isn't phone or tv, but that never bothers us since we're so tired each night that we don't stay up too late anyway. The rooms do have Keurig coffee makers now, which really surprised me. I highly recommend Dunraven to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Yellowstone. We chose it based on the location and good reviews.

We have stayed in quite a few National park lodges run by Xanterra, and this was the nicest so far (not a great challenge...).

Check in at Canyon Lodge was easy.

The room was a reasonable size, clean, fairly modern. It has a table and chairs, coffee machine, but no fridge and as with all Xanterra properties no TV / phone / internet. The bathroom was fine and clean.

Within the Canyon Village the lodge is a few minutes walk from the centre. You will have to use a torch after dark.

Canyon village has a few shops, a restaurant, and a Cafeteria that was closed when we visited (we checked out on the last day the Canyon accomodation was open in 2011.

The Canyon village is very centrally located within the park, making it easier to do either the North or South loops. Hence tis a good choice for a stay of up to 4 days. If you are staying longer, it may be worth staying in 2 different places.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the Dunraven Lodge for 3 nights. The check in staff were great (very nice, friendly & efficient). The room itself was as I expected (pretty basic) from reading the reviews here on tripadvisor. The two things that took away from our visit were the housekeeping staff & the ambiance of the lodge. I understand that a seasonal housekeeping staff will not be as good as a regular hotel staff but I think there is room for improvement on their part. Whenever I passed the housekeeping storage room (which was left open all day long) it was very messy with towels, sheets & rubbish strewn around on the ground. I feel this is a good indicator of how well some (but not all) of the staff must treat your room. The attitudes of the housekeeping staff seemed to range from cold to indifferent. The lodge itself lacks any sort of ambiance and feels very bland. That being said it is in a great location for exploring the park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunraven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Lodge

Address: North Rim Drive, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Dunraven Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Dunraven Motel Yellowstone National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunraven Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.