We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Faithful Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Faithful Inn to your Saves list
Old Faithful Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lihue, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old Faithful Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the west wing, in a standard room. It was a beautiful room, very updated and modern. I enjoyed being able to make myself a single cup of coffee in the morning with the Keurig coffee maker. The food was surprisingly tasty and not the usual expected fare from restaurants. We had breakfast in the restaurant 3 mornings and were happy with our breakfast selections. Dinner in the "Bear Pit" bar on 2 nights was a tasty delight. The service was slow because they were understaffed (only a few days before closing for the season) but the wait staff was friendly. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. It was a wonderful experience and added to our Yellowstone experience, especially so close to Old Faithful geyser.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    530
    270
    131
    58
See reviews for
561
697
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's an amazing place to stay. Try to stay at least one night there.

It's hard to find parking spot in the front of the hotel, so park on the back side. Don't waste your time looking for a parking spot.

Room Tip: It's hard to find parking spot in the front of the hotel, so park on the back side. Don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just step into the the lobby of Old Faithful Inn and take in the history and soaring ceilings and you won't really care what your room is like. That said, as a snooty traveler, I do care about such things but even I was happy. The room was immaculate, roomy (we had 2 queens) and the bathroom was huge and cute with little animal tiles throughout. We had a view of Old Faithful so we could just look out our window and watch it erupt. My only complaint is that the windows only open a little bit and have a lock so they can't open all the way. It would have been great to open them wide to let in the fresh air but I'm sure they have their reasons for keeping them this way. We did use our fan at night b/c it got a little stuff in the room but was not hot (which was good b/c there is no AC). We ate in the dining room and my husband and 12 year old are picky eaters so I actually wouldn't recommend it unless you enjoy eclectic cuisine. They both ate chicken fingers and honestly, for the price, you can get that at the diner-type cafe in the gift shop (which was very cute and ended up being our go to place).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks Old Faithful. There are a lot of trees and they might not be able to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldorado at Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was cozy and clean. The lobby and main area of the lodge is great and everyone making a trip to the park should stop in. It was a lot of fun to stay in the park and a good experience. Although because it is a popular attraction as well it was quite crowded. The rooms are fairly expensive with minimal amenities in the rooms (no tv, etc...), but well worth it for the experience and a stay in the park.

Room Tip: Get an Old Faithful view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavueni Fiji
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A treasure of late 19th charm and rustic elegance of our National Park hotels. Nothing fancy but warm even cozy feeling even filled with mult- dozens gawking happy tourists. We were there late Sept. still plenty of visitors and the weather perfect. Excellant local crafted gifts in the lobby shops, lodge rooms are clean, modest, as this is "old and historic"...... have wonderful mattresses We were happy we choose to stay here. Absolutely loved the interior resembling tree house. Outstanding............

Room Tip: Old lodge rooms towards Old Faithful. Get for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This soaring ceiling inn encircled with multiple indoor balconies has soul. Our 8 year old grandson was so excited seeing it for the first time, that he ran around with excitement and touched everything in sight (sorry). It is not without shortcomings, particularly that our 1 bed double room was cramped. It needed a little more room for storage. Particularly shelves could have been useful. TV addicts should be warned. There is only one TV in the park. They have gone green, and much energy is saved. For such an outpost, the dining room has a diverse menu and good food. For the most flexibility in reservations, it seems they need to be made a year ahead. There was a full moon our last evening, and a blue moon at that. People strolled out on the second floor open air balcony for that sight as well as Old Faithful geyser eruptions. As usual live piano and violin wafted from an indoor balcony. Some sat at a tables for a game of cards. There is a definite sense of place at this icon.

Room Tip: If a cramped room is difficult for a couple, get a room with two beds. They are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nearly everyone loves this old lodge, especially kids, and it a pleasure to see it through their eyes. The Old Faithful Inn is a national treasure, a beautiful log cabin on steroids. Don't expect much in the way of creature comforts; but consider your stay here an adventure, time travel in an astounding natural world.
Food in the dining hall was decent; we liked the prime rib and apple crisp. But don't expect much at breakfast, at least until next season, when there may be a new management company. Service was friendly and well meaning, but consistently amateurish. Every few minutes we would hear the crash of plates and glasses hitting the floor. Be sure to try the huckleberry ice cream sold just off the lobby.
Our teenage kids stayed in the lodge's older wing, where the rooms were considerably more charming and historic but lacked private bathrooms. Both our rooms, though, should have been better lit. It was generally too dark to read in bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone
Old Faithful Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Faithful Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.