We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past & present come together!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Save Saved
You added Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Past & present come together!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Mammoth Hot Springs was far from the most glamorous Grand Hotel we have stayed at. But it was most satisfying in terms of location, overall comfort and its historic feel. And it was actually a great value at the off-peak rate! Everything was well-kept and great attention was paid to our overall comfort. The lobby was grand & spacious with super-comfy chairs and a nice fireplace. The common areas allowed for internet access. Our room in the main hotel was period-correct and very comfortable and we opted for the shared bath which was right down the hall. The restaurants were right next door, the Yellowstone General Store right above them and the Mammoth Hot Springs features were a short hike up the hill. Several trailheads leave the hotel property directly making for a lot of hiking options without having to drive. The funniest moment came when the steam heat turned on for the first time. We in the Northeast are used to the loud clanging of heat going through the pipes. You cannot imagine how many dozens of people thought the hotel was falling apart! For us it was just part of the historic charm that made for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Large yet charming with a moderately upscale feel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    526
    357
    122
    40
See reviews for
478
526
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms are a refreshing blast from the past. I love the historic preservation of this hotel and the details they've managed to keep within the rooms themselves.

Plenty of activities to enjoy on site and close to nature the way the park was designed and intended for. I recommend exploring the property as much as possible. The jacuzzi rooms are the perfect touch to a winter evening.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Be brave and stay in a cabin? Yes b/c if you're like me you hear the word "cabin" and immediately think of something dark, dirty, drafty and potentially rodent-infested. This hotel snob was immediately relieved by the cute, quaint, comfy and well-appointed little cabin. The sink is in cabin proper and the shower and toilet are behind closed doors so you have to be comfy brushing your teeth in front of your roommates but we were family so it was fine. The two beds were comfy and the adirondack chairs on the front porch were a great place to curl up to write in our trip journals. Some of our neighbors pulled their chairs out on the lawn to chat but besides that it was very quiet when we were there. We were only a short walk to the dining room and gift shops so we were able to buy some drinks and snacks and just hang out and relax which was nice. Yes it's basic accommodations at best but be brave my fellow hotel snobs! You won't regret choosing a cabin!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel was clean and adequate. It was cheaper than the other motels in the park and, as with all the Yellowstone Xanterra Hotels, there was no in-room safe, fridge, TV or air-conditioning.

The building is old so expect to hear noise (footsteps, voices, showers, toilets) from other rooms. The shower temperature repeatedly fluctuated from scalding hot to cold. We reported this to reception who acknowledged it was an ongoing issue, but did not have a solution.

Given the proximity of Mammoth Hotel to Gardener, it is worth considering staying outside of the park, if only to have the peace of mind of a safe shower.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was the "budget" stay for us in the park, for a room for 2 around $100, for for 4 of us, $200. It was just behind the main building. The showers are shared with other guests. The room was clean & nice. There was a sink in our room.

Room Tip: Let them know if you need a handicapped room for assistance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in a cabin. Great little cabin fits in well with the location. Ok it is a little basic but how long are you going to spend actually in there? Get out and about. The choice of restraunts here is good you have the take away/diner style or the more up market one in the hotel we did both and enjoyed both. Sat on our porch in the evening you often see ground squirrels running around and on a larger scale the Elk! Wonderful. You are also only 5 minutes walk from the Hot Sprng terraces which are a must view, superb colours and smells!

Room Tip: I was happy with the Cabin although rooms in the hotel are a lttle more luxurious make sure you go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Traveling lesson from this stay: Always bring your own extension cord. The Mammoth Hotel provides a fan for each room, but what they don’t tell you is that there is absolutely NO practical place to put the fan… unless you bring an extension cord. There were two electrical sockets in our room: one behind the night stand between the beds – the lamp and clock were plugged into it – and one next to the sink. Even with the window wide open 24/7 the room grew stuffy during the day and without the fan there’d have been no air circulation at all.

Cell signal was nonexistent most of the time. Housekeeping staff short-sheeted our bed with maddening consistency. Seriously, every single night we spent in park lodges this year, at every hotel or lodge – 8 nights total - housekeeping made the bed with the bottom sheet stretched across at least six inches ABOVE the foot of the mattress. Xanterra doesn’t use fitted sheets, so the bottom sheet also spilled out when you pulled the top sheet & blanket back. It’s not right when you have to remake your own bed every day while paying $100 to $200 per night for the privilege. Just saying.

After cabins at Roosevelt close for the season, Mammoth lodging is the nearest to Tower/Roosevelt and Lamar Valley areas. We stayed away from our room as much as possible and in fact spent more time AWAY from the hotel while at Mammoth than during our stay in any other lodging inside the Park. The room itself was not unpleasant, exactly, but it wasn’t enjoyable to be there, either. We didn’t find the décor attractive in any particular way, and the room was stuffy. The hotel is old and loud. People walking upstairs or down the hallway sound like elephants. Walls are thin and you can hear snorers in the adjacent rooms at night.

Bathroom layout may not work for claustrophobes. The shared bath down the hall from our room consisted of two toilet stalls. A sink for washing was provided along the hall just outside the restroom. You’re standing there washing your hands after and there are people in the hallway and it’s like announcing, “Hey everybody, I just got off the toilet!” Charming. For showering, we had the use of a windowless box of a room with no fan and a locking door. To be fair, we did not look at any further-away bathroom arrangements to see how they compared to our own.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.