We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western Cabins are best accommodation at Yellowstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
1 Grand Loop Rd, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Western Cabins are best accommodation at Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Western cabins at Canyon are very nice. Avoid the Frontier or Pioneer cabins which are old and small. I think it is worth the extra cost for the Western cabins. The canyon at Yellowstone is wonderful so it is nice to stay close to it. The cafeteria and restaurant are not bad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    165
    105
    48
    12
See reviews for
160
179
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our Australian family stayed at Canyon Lodge back in July 2013. Although a little pricey (everything is, but well worth the stunning scenery and the easy access to everything) we were very happy with our rooms. Our family of 5 had two Frontier Cabin rooms B4-3 and B4-4 which were adjoining rooms. Our immediate impression of the rooms were that they were very basic but also very clean. As we were already aware there would be no fridge, cooking facilities or hair dryers. The showers were awesome and we were comfortable in our beds. We loved the wildlife surrounding the rooms and we could walk out the door and see bison, deer and lots of little creatures. It was a nice walk (but I wouldn't like to walk in the dark) or short drive to the village which had a grocery store, dining room, cafeteria and gift shop. Each night at Yellowstone we ate in restaurants and cafeterias and we were happy with both the food and prices . We had no trouble driving around Yellowstone, there were no big traffic jams, just small ones from time to time when an animal was spotted on the side of the road and we were more than happy to join the queue. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

After our prior national park lodging experiences, our Western cabin seemed like the Ritz. I guess with national park lodges, newer is better. Our unit was at the end of the last loop so it felt like we were out in the woods. And while there were 4 cabins in our unit, there was no noise from our neighbors. Had there not been cars parked next to ours, I wouldn't have known they were even there. Having a Keurig machine in the room was a big plus too. My only complaint is the condition of the roads in front of the cabins. It was a bit of a chore to avoid the huge potholes. Our cabin was too far away to walk to the restaurants but worth the drive for the peacefulness we experienced. I liked the location of Canyon Village the best. If I had it to do over again, I would have spent all 4 nights here instead of spending 2 nights at Old Faithful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

National Parks all seem to be a rip-off for accommodations and food. Yellowstone is no exception. However, our cabin here had been newly remodeled and was clean and modern. Still no WiFi or TV, a noisy wall heater but other than that is was lovely. We had a big window looking out on the forest, which was fun. But at $213.00 a night, something should be fun.

Room Tip: ask for a re-modeled room or it will be funky and old. Possibly smelly, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavington, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

So when we roll into the Canyon Lodge area for lunch, there is major construction in the parking lot. When we went back later to check into our room, it was raining heavily (a blessing for the wildfire fighters) and when we got to our cabin the missing porch skylight meant we had to pass through a curtain of water to get into the room. It was like walking through a waterfall, no exageration. The water was also running under the door, making the entrance carpet wet. The rest of the room was fine, nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. But I couldn't help thinking: How about fixing the roof - which is damaging the rest of the structure - before making the parking lot fancier? I'd rather park in gravel than have a leaky roof. Canyon is a beautiful area, probably the most central of the lodging opportunities in Yellowstone, and worked just fine for us. The waterfall passage made us laugh because, after all, we were on vacation and sweating nothing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Canyon Lodge is a great place for a night's sleep and a hot shower. The staff is pleasant and the location pretty central to the park and its various attractions. The room is absolutely spartan. That is not to say it is uncomfortable - because it is comfortable enough. We were in late, out early. Just what we needed. But don't expect amenities of any degree. We would return - for a single night, in and out again.

Room Tip: Be sure you get precise directions from the check-in area to your room. The property is a maze of lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, MO
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent three nights in a cabin. The location is great for seeing the canyon area. We thoroughly enjoyed being able to go out to some of the overlooks at sunset. The color change on the rocks was lovely. The cabin was small and basic. Unfortunately, the setting is rather sad as is the building itself. There was no coffee maker in the room. The room was not ready by our 4 check-in time. In fact, it was at least 45 minutes beyond that before we could get into the room. There is nowhere to eat outside. We had packed some food the first day with the assumption there would be somewhere to eat outside. Not so.The eateries on site are okay. Nothing at all to brag about. The cafeteria was our least favorite. All in all, no regrets because staying here put us in the park so that we didn't have to drive as much. Having gone to West Yellowstone, I didn't see much there that I think would likely have been much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge and Cabins

Address: 1 Grand Loop Rd, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Specialty lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Canyon Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Lodge Cabins
Canyon Lodge Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Canyon Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list