We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but primitive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Lodge Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   PO Box 165, Tower-Roosevelt Junction, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southern Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun but primitive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

We spent 4 nites here and had a good time if you accept the fact that it is slightly better than tent camping. It was a shock at first seeing the size of the cabinApproximately 12x12. ours had 2 double beds. After the first nite we enjoyed ourselves much more. If you are a first time yellowstoner I would suggest staying there part of the time and another spot in the park the rest of the time. I have no regrets about booking it. But I would splurge for more next time. It is not nearly as crowded as the other spots if that is what you want. I thought the Lodge restaurant was a bit overpriced however Im sure they need to charge a higher price since it isnt as busy as the others. overall it was fun and I would stay there again if it was the only thing available.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    78
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
75
70
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

The historic Roosevelt Lodge is sited where the original environmentalist president, Teddy Roosevelt, is said to have camped in Yellowstone near the turn of the last century. In the parlance of the Park, a LODGE is a central structure containing accommodation registration, an eatery or two, a lobby or lounge sometimes including bar services, a gift shop, and in some cases (not Roosevelt, though) other services like a laundromat. In the case of Roosevelt Lodge, the restaurant is one of the most rustic and enjoyable in the Park. The bar-b-qued ribs in particular are out of this world and fall-off-the-bone tender. The lounge includes a giant fireplace (fires are lit only when it's cold out) and a bar that's staffed in the evenings. It's a nice place to hang out with a Teton Ale while awaiting a table at the restaurant. However, THE best place to wait is on the large porch with its rustic hickory chairs, porch rail for putting up trail-weary feet, and watching the bustle of folks coming and going. It does overlook the parking lot, there's no getting around that, but beyond the beyond it looks eastwards to some of the most beautiful scenery on the face of this earth.

The gift shop is tiny, but in addition to a modest offering of t-shirts, post-cards, useful guidebooks, and plastic bison and bears, it does have a selection of excellent Native American jewelry, particularly "old pawn" silver and turquoise at fair prices. There is also a small general store next to the lodge for stocking up on junk food, campling supplies, water, and so forth.

There is a corral offering trail rides, hayrides, and evening cookouts (reservations required!)

The cabins, like almost all lodging in Yellowstone, are basic, clean, dry, warm when they need to be (and sometimes when you'd prefer they were a little cooler, like mid-afternoon in the summer, though they are supplied with fans and windows on both sides that open for cross-ventilation.) Only a limited number have baths; the rest require the use of central toilet and shower facilities. If you need one with a bath, MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS at least 8 to 10 months in advance!.

I stayed there in June of 2006, and my "Frontier" cabin had a basin in the main room and a shower stall and toilet in a separate room. All fixtures werel new and nice. Hot water comes up right away. The cabin is not attached so noisy neighbors are not likely to be a problem. However, don't picture cabins isolated from one another; they are all lined up together and you won't get one all by itself.

I love the Roosevelt cabins; the location, to me, is romantic and the most rustic in Yellowstone; the fragrant smoke from the "Pioneer" cabins (the ones without bath have wood stoves for heat) adds to the atmosphere, but most of all, I know that just outside the cabin village is one of the richest wildlife environments in the world: Lamar Valley. The best wildlife-watching is very early in the morning; at Roosevelt, free first rate coffee is put out on the front porch hours before the restaurant opens for breakfast. Roosevelt is located at the entry to Lamar Valley and associated locations (Little America, etc.) that offer miles of A-1 hiking, incredible wildlife-watching, includingall kinds of birds, "charismatic megafauna" like grizzly and black bears and wolves, many, many other animals, fishing, and scenery, scenery, scenery.

I recommend Roosevelt Lodge cabins with all my heart and can hardly wait to get back next June!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

We just returned from 4 nights at the Roosevelt Lodge Cabins. It's a great little place, but one must take it on its own terms. The best part about the Lodge is THERE ARE NO CROWDS. In Yellowstone in the summer, that is a major plus all by itself. We had two cabins and they were simple but clean. The little wood-burning stove is part of the charm- yes, it can get chilly in the a.m. but that's part of the deal. (Hint: one only needs about a third of the firestarter chip, and don't throw all the logs on at once or it will be too warm). The stove was remarkably smoke-less, just be sure the logs are not sitting right up against the front bottom air intake vents. The cabins remind me of what an old-time dude ranch might have been like (but much better food at the ranch house). The cabins are like tent camping without freezing, worrying about grizzlies, cooking over a propane stove or sleeping on rocks. We loved it.

We really enjoyed the Roosevelt Lodge. The food was excellent, but the service was slow. The Yellowstone area has a real shortage of workers this summer, it was front page news in the Billings (MT) Gazette last month, so patience is a must. There's a bar with great bartenders. We loved getting a cocktail, sitting in the rocking chairs with our feet on the rail and watching the evening light fade.

The northeast corner of the park is where the animals are and the people aren't. I saw more wildlife (including bears) on this trip than on any of my several dozen other trips over the years. (Hint: If you see any Yellowstone Institute people around in their white vans, ask them where the wolves have been sighted).

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
515 reviews 515 reviews
336 hotel reviews
Reviews in 336 cities Reviews in 336 cities
664 helpful votes 664 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

I liked this place, and give it high marks for value. $59+ tax gets you a cabin (we had 3 beds, most have 2) that is actually furnished and maintained quite nicely (the Frommer's description of "dinky" and "primative" is absurd). What you don't get is a bathroom or sink (there are scattered rest rooms with showers, kept clean; I understand there are 8 cabins that have their own bathrooms, but reserving these is VERY challenging). You also don't get a great heating system: each room has an old fashioned wood stove. They give you the logs, but it's impossible to maintain a comfortable temperature (swelter early in the night, freeze by morning). Just hope it's warm enough that you don't need heat!

Lodge restaruant is more than edible (bbq sampler plate is huge; share it with somebody) and fairly priced. Grocery store also has fair prices (thank those gov't regulations on the concessions). A nice quite location in the park. Plenty of wildlife nearby, and easy access to a "driving safari" in early evening through the Lamar Valley, noted for the best wildlife in the park. Corral nearby has horses and stagecoach rides (get Xanterra activity book in restaurant for 1/2 kids coupon). Evening cookout is also offered: a nice time, but overpriced, especially for kids.

Bottomline is that if you can live without the in-room bathroom and reliable heat, this place is an excellent value. Otherwise, take a cabin elsewhere in the park for about $30 more and get the modern amenities.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

We just returned from 3 nights at Roosevelt Lodge in Yellowstone. We were in the Rough Rider cabins in mid-June and we loved it. It was close to camping, but in a cabin. The cabins were clean and comfortable. We didn't spend much time in the cabin because we were out in the park, hitting the trails. But it was nice to come back to the cabin with a pot-bellied stove to warm you up. The lodge served excellent food and the staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. During our 2 fulls days in Yellowstone we encountered many bears (from the van) - all in the Roosevelt area. We also saw a coyote along the road, marmots and a goat on a trail. We encountered many buffalo, elk, mule deer, a few bald eagles, an osprey or two and even spotted a gray wolf. It was so much fun...and Roosevelt is the best part of the park - not too crowded.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

The cabins at Roosevelt Lodge are simple but you can't beat the location. Just behind the Lodge is a 4 mile trail leading past Lost Lake. Also within walking distance are the corrals for the Roosevelt Lodge trail rides. This cabin was close to the shared bathrooms. The rooms were much nicer and also furnished with bedding and linens for the price of others we had stayed in that didn't come with these ammenities. There was a wood stove and you are given two logs each day, but we didn't need these as we were gone early in the morning and returned late at night.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2005

My grandson age 4 (lives in Oklahoma) spent 5 weeks with Mema in Wyoming. During his visit we decided to see Cody and Yellowstone. I picked the Roosevelt Lodge because I had stayed there with my young son in 1981 and wanted to take his son there for some of the same experiences. We had a wonderful time. We went on the Wagon Cook-out, saw wildlife like the buffalo and black bear. (Of course my grandson had to get a cowboy hat so he could ride in the wagon as a "real" cowboy). I told him that Roosevelt was a beautiful place but it was Bear Country. And that Bears loved two things: honey and sweet little boys. So he stayed close to me. We loved the walks and exploring nature. The rustic accommodations were just wonderful and the staff were always giving you a smile. The potbellied stove kept us warm and cozy. My grandson was quite impressed that I could build a fire to keep us warm. I am sure we will visit again. Roosevelt gives you the oportunity to get back to the basics, slower pace and peace within. This is an experience everyone should take and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Lodge Cabins

Address: PO Box 165, Tower-Roosevelt Junction, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roosevelt Lodge Cabins 2.5*
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt Lodge Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Roosevelt Lodge Cabins to your Saves list