We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful campground - well situated in Yellowstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madison Campground
Save
You added Madison Campground to your Saves list
West Entrance Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful campground - well situated in Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stopped here for two nights in the middle of a two week trip. We had been staying in more primitive campgrounds, so were worried about staying in a large campground. Our worries were unfounded. We had a beautiful site in one of the tent only loops (can request at reservation) so we had no issues with SUV or generator noise. It was refreshing to be able to use a sink! Also, the setting is so lovely. Not far from the campsites is a beautiful river with a walking path along it. Many people were fly fishing in the river, and others, like us, just enjoying the scenery. We enjoyed its proximity to Old Faithful, Mammoth ,and the other geothermal features of Yellowstone. Firewood is available to purchase from the rangers.

Room Tip: Ask for a site in the tent-only area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
51
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Had a great time camping here. One of my best nights sleep....quiet wooded campsites with conveniently located bathrooms. Wish they had pay showers, but the bathrooms were clean. Offered several ranger talks in the area. Seemed more laid back than some of the other campgrounds we stayed. Nice to be able to reserve in advance. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We tented it here for 3 nights and really enjoyed the near by river and location to other sites in the park. The restrooms were relatively clean for being a campground. Being close to West Yellowstone, MT was very nice, especailly if you feel like going out for dinner. Also being close to Old Faithful Inn was also very nice for showering purposes. We drove around the entire park during our stay and I would have to say that I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. I have no complaints and when I am back in Yellowstone I will be staying at this site again...really enjoyed it!

Ps: We had a buff walk right through the campsite!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Exactly what we expected, great value, lots of trees, recycling/garbage bins very clean, clean bathrooms, large sink for doing dishes, educational presentations in the evenings, right off the Madison river, very convenient to ALL the major sites (Old Faithful, Mammoth, Gran Prismatic, Yellowstone Lake), heard from other campers that had stayed in other YNP campgrounds that Madison was the best. Noise from highway was minimal and only heard the motorcycles.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Camped here with 3 families for two nights. We had 6 kids with us with ages ranging as old as 16 and youngest at 18 mos. It was family friendly. They accommodated our request to have our locations adjacent to one another. I was amazed at how clean the bathrooms were! We had a great time driving around Yellowstone and coming back to the campsite. Don't expect a shower facility as it's non-existent. It's close to a lake though! 8-)

Room Tip: Book months before, if not a year before, as they're always packed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accountant_guy
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This was exactly what I expected from a heavily used national park campground. The tent spots were packed in tight each with a table, fire pit, and cooking grate. Clean bathrooms with flush toilets were close by. There were tent pads at some sites (filled with gravel) where you "had" to place your tent. We stayed for a week and had no problems at all. I like the shade in this campground (unlike say mammoth) and the minimal amount of mosquitoes (compared to say the lake, where they are absolutely horrible). Note they were still around, but down by the lake you could have 20 in your car (and I imagine tent) if you were to leave the door open for a minute.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Aside from the noise of the traffic to and from the west entrance, this is a great campground. Every campground we visited had quite a bit of traffic noise, though. This campground offered plenty of room and moderate privacy. The beautiful Madison river and National Park Mountain are just a short walk from the campground. We awoke one morning to a herd of Bison slowly making it's way along the outskirts of the campground. Most the sites were level and not too many debris. The layout of the loops was nice and made sense also. Ranger programs are held, but we didn't attend. Although the bathrooms are heated, lighted, and have an electrical outlet (for hair dryers, curling irons etc), there is no hot water in the ones we visited. We would recommend this campground because of the availability for reservations and relative seclusion with close views of the river.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Campground

Address: West Entrance Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Madison Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.