We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting sight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon's Mouth Springs

Dragon's Mouth Springs
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Interesting sight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you have the time, this is worth a stop. The smells, the steam, the sounds! and the scalding water coming out of the "dragon's mouth" are worth the look.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Cooler Than Most Geothermal Features”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Dragon's Mouth Springs is one of the more interesting geothermal features my wife and I encountered on our Yellowstone visit. The bubbling mud, the steam, and the "roar" of the spring are really interesting to see and experience. Took a video on my phone but unfortunately some other tourists were talking loudly at the same time and drowned out the spring itself so all I have is memories. Nonetheless, it's an interesting geothermal feature and well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cool to see if you're in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We just stopped here on our way to eat because it was on the way. The kids thought it was very cool, and they liked it better than most thermal areas in the park. I wouldn't go out of my way to see it, but it is a short stop. We also saw plenty of elk and bison in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mud Volcano-dragons mouth springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had a hard time finding the things I wanted to see in yellowstone because Dragon's mouth springs is not on the yellowstone map, I had to go to the visitors center and ask a ranger, Dragons mouth springs is in the Mud Volcano area, this was great! I love to see the mud boiling and steaming. Such a fun trip! Parking is a little difficult in most of the parking lots but if you just wait around for a few minutes you'll get a spot, people dont tend to stay in once place for too long.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,233 reviews 1,233 reviews
841 attraction reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
992 helpful votes 992 helpful votes
“Hold your nose and take the walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Go clockwise on the boardwalk trail as the smell seems to follow the steam from these geysers. Don't look for beauty here, just very different geysers. Yes, the hype relative to the "dragon" is just that, you have to use your imagination for full effect. The trail is steep in places. If I had missed this one I would not have had any regrets. There was a Bison resting on the side of one of the geysers at the top of the boardwalk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon's Mouth Springs also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Dragon's Mouth Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon's Mouth Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.