We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Hamilton Store

Lower Hamilton Store
Yellowstone National Park, Old Faithful area, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
KC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rustic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The building is very rustic looking, and there is even an old fashioned soda fountain inside. You will find many souvenirs here with a wide selection of shirts. Most other gift shops are run by Xanterra and feature the same merchandise at every shop. This one was different from Xanterra and offered a few more items of interest. Prices were what you would expect at a tourist shop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I wasn't prepared that they had counter service; that it was called a Grill because they offered hamburgers; and that otherwise it was only sandwiches.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Great restaurant inside the store”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We tried the other restaurants in the Old Faithful area, but they had long lines and felt very chaotic. Thsi place was busy but we did not have to wait. The food was diner style burgers fries and that kind of thing. Food was very good and the service was great. The non-Xanterra establishments have better quality and much better service. Save some time and avoid aggravation, eat here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Decent Fast Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a much better place to eat that the Geyser Grill in Snow Lodge. They wait on you at the table, and the hamburger and chicken burger we had were juicy and tasty. We had lunch there and it wasn't that busy, so no trouble getting a table.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The place to eat at Old Faithful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our second visit to Yellowstone and both times we have stayed in the lodge cabins. The store has a nice diner style cafeteria with excellent service. We have found the breakfast excellent and well priced even with the remote location. Supper is also good and a vast improvement over the lodge cafeteria. The chilli is very good. The lodge/cabin staff will not tell you about it as they have different management companies.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Hamilton Store also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Lower Hamilton Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Hamilton Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.