We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad I stayed here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Save
You added Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So glad I stayed here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I was with a tour group and we were originally scheduled to stay at the Old Faithful Inn. However, because of construction/renovations, we were moved here. I'm so glad we stayed here instead.

The hotel was modern, clean, and in good condition. The bathroom was fantastic. I was in a group of three, but there was an overabundance of both soap and towels. The hotel is normally only used in the winter, but it was more than acceptable as a summer lodging. The hotel was also close to Old Faithful and the Old Faithful Inn (just across a parking lot), as well as several other geysers and trails.

  • Liked — It was clean and attractive.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    383
    164
    69
    28
See reviews for
300
369
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed at this property for 2 nights in a Western Cabin. These are not stand alone cabins, but there are 4 units in each building. The room was fairly large, with a lot of windows, although a few of them did not work. Ventilation is necessary, as there is no air conditioning. However, it was plenty cool enough while we were there.

The room was pretty clean, although I agree with the previous review that said it could have been better. They did leave a cute little touch with the soaps, though. :0) The shower worked fine, and there was enough hot water. We had no complaints of noise from adjoining rooms or cabins. Although, the neighbors across can see in (and you into their rooms) if you have all your windows/ door open.

The scenery around the immediate cabin area was pretty bland, although we were treated to a spectacular sunset on our way back from dinner at the lodge. We ate in the Obsidian Room, and it was very good, if a little pricey. I had the salmon, and my husband had the bison short ribs.

Location was pretty convenient- it is a short walk to Old Faithful Geyser and the other lodges/ gift shops. There is also gas available here, as well as a medical clinic if needed. The lodge is located on the lower "loop" road.

In all, while we didn't have a bad experience, I don't know if I would stay here again or try a different location.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Right across the parking lot from Old Faithful. Staff friendly and helpful. No TV or internet service but that wasn't an issue with everything Yellowstone has to offer. Also, if you need A/C, this is not the place for you. Nights were cool and didn't really need the A/C anyway.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — A bit overpriced
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

The Old Faithful Snow Lodge pioneer cabin was not much to look at but the heating system worked great and there was plenty of hot water. This is a duplex style cabin with two double beds, windows that open and a sink/vanity in the bedroom area. The location was fantastic- a short walk to Old Faithful, Old Faithful Inn, the general stores and restaurants. We paid $94 per night.

  • Liked — Location near Old Faithful
  • Disliked — Not many trees in the area
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

We stated at the Old Faithful Snow Lodge Cabins for 1 night. There are 3 different Inns on site. Be sure you don't get confused. We approached Old Faithful during a snowstorm and the directional signs were misleading and never directed us to Snow Lodge which is just up the hill from Old Faithful Inn and Old Faithful Geyser. There is also Old Faithful Lodge across the parking lot. The new visitors center and grocery/ gift store is also scattered in the same area. The Snow Lodge lobby and dining areas were nice and comfortable. It was far less crowded than the Old Faithful Inn. You must visit Old Faithful Inn to appreciate the beauty and history of the place. We enjoyed hot chocolate while sitting in front of the fireplace between snow/ sleet showers and Geyser erruptions. We stayed in the Snow Lodge Western Cabin. It was roomy, clean and comfortable. We could hear our neighbors sneeze but they were mostly quiet. We had breakfast in the Obsidian Room and it was very good. The service was attentive and we received huge portions for the price. I would recommend staying there again.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Parking lot location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

We were able to spend three nights at the Snow Lodge this winter and I can't begin to share how wonderful the experience was.
First though I don't understand how come this is listed in the specialty section....perhaps because of the cabins. But they are old, and from what I heard you get what you pay for there. You get to drag your own luggage through the snow to them. Stay in the main hotel. The Snow Lodge itself is a very new and beautiful hotel.
Because of our itinerary and the fact that we were snowed in and unable to leave as scheduled we ended up with three different rooms. The first two were very nice, the last one had a few minor problems, but since there is no TV in the rooms, we migrated out to the lobby anyway. The rooms are a nice size and nicely decorated and well kept up.
The lobby is a great meeting place, with chairs around the fireplace and desks down the main hall to write or put together puzzles or the sofas to enjoy each others company.
Most of the staff were efficient and helpful, including front desk, touring guides and drivers, wait staff and house cleaning.
We ate at the main restaurant for all three meals as it is the only thing open for breakfast, and packed great sack lunches the two days we needed those. The food was very good and varied. There was always a daily special. We loved the squash soup,mmmm! Breakfast buffet was a little skimpy, so I ordered from the menu after the first day. Make reservations-- since there is no where else you have little options if they are booked.
The lounge was located right next to the restaurant and was always busy.
I lied, there is also the Geyser Grill, open for lunch and dinner. We ate lunch here one day and enjoyed the good food and less formal atmosphere.
We participated in the ranger led programs, one was in the conference room located in the hotel. This is a nice room if you want to have meetings. It is on the second floor with nice views of the front lobby.
When the roads closed due to huge amounts of snow falling the staff was very accomodating and kept us up on the developments and made sure we had what we needed. Being snowed in gave everyone in the hotel a holiday experience we won't soon forget.
The gift shop is small but had a nice selection of items. I ended up renting snowshoes here (they also rent cross country skis), and took a trip around the upper geyser basin, seeing buffalo and a coyote while watching Old Faithful geyser.
I hope to get to the Snow Lodge in the winter again someday. It was fantastic, amazing and truly awesome to experience Yellowstone's winter and the Lodge was a warm, beautiful part of that experience.

  • Liked — The location in the center of the park
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all great
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

Our family spent 9 days in Yellowstone this past summer. We spent one night in the Snow Lodge. The location is really great. We have two young children and the Snow Lodge is right across the street from Old Faithful. The room was clean. The only problems we had were the lack of air conditioning and our second floor room faced east above the area where the hotel garbage cans were located. It also seemed to be the area where trucks dropped off supplies. It was very noisy that night and were woken up before dawn. If you stay here make sure you don't get a room in this area since we had to keep the windows open for air....the noise was a bother.
We ate 3 meals in the main dining room at the lodge which were all very good. They accomodated all of our young childrens request and we did not feel unwelcome.
Be aware that when you arrive you can park in the parking lot near the hotel but after checking in you have to park in a slightly further away lot which didn't make much sense.

  • Liked — location to geysers
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.